We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Ballena Roja Guest House and Cafe

Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (6)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good18%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pura vida”(4 reviews)
“no hot water”(2 reviews)
“costa rica”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Multilingual Staff
Laundry Service
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
36
6
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
6
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspura vidano hot watercosta ricauvita beachnational parktracyfanswifirenthostelbeachessurfenvironmenthostsaccommodationstours
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are clean, kitchen is fully equipped, it's located 100m from the entrance of the park & the beach... but above all the staff is super friendly! Big up especially to the German guy who's very helpful :) Pura vida!

Thank Timothée F
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Uvita is an amazing little village and La Ballena Roja is a perfect place to see it from. It's rustic, quaint and peaceful.(make sure you understand what "rustic" means, this is not the Ritz Carlton....and that's ok) Our hosts could not have been friendlier or...More

Thank David P
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The location is good that is without a doubt, but the accommodations are simply awful. Starting with a challenge of bringing the luggage up the tiny little espiral stairs, continuing to the very old uncomfortable mattrasses, no hot water and mold in the entire accommodation....More

Thank NataliaVakencia
Response from Tracey L, Owner at La Ballena Roja Guest House and CafeResponded 31 August 2017

As t is rainy season here, things tend to get moldy. At the time you were here, we had many rainy days in a row and the mold certainly did grow quickly. We immediately resolved the issue and are continuing our usual rainy season maintenance...More

Reviewed 22 March 2017

The location is great for the beach, a small market, and other nearby hostels. It's a big of a walk to the downtown area but with a car very doable. The breakfast was wonderful! I also really enjoyed the outdoor couch area for hanging out....More

Thank Mary Elizabeth G
Response from Tracey L, Owner at La Ballena Roja Guest House and CafeResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you!

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Such a colorful , warm and inviting place!! Tracey the owner is more than accommodating and very knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast and pizza are amazing !! I recommend the yucca fritter along with a mango smoothie yum!! The rooms are large and cozy and...More

Thank Hannah K
Response from Tracey L, Owner at La Ballena Roja Guest House and CafeResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you!

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Uvita
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$31 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$31 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (6)
Pool & Beach (4)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
John M
12 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Waterbabe_101 | Reviewed this property |
about 2 hours
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Front rooms for sure!!"
Read review
"any room i think will suit."
Read review
"Don't go! Total waste of money."
Read review
"want your own bathroom? book one of the two "front" rooms. In the back 3 rooms, you'll have to..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing