La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

La Cusinga Eco Lodge

200 South Of Km Mark 166 5 KM south of Uvita Bridge, between KM Mark 166 & 1677, Uvita 60504 Costa Rica
La Cusinga standard double room
Traveller (665)
Aspecto interior cabina
Room & Suite (176)
The semi-private black sand beach
Pool & Beach (75)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
£150
Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
£150
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#7 of 14 hotels in Uvita
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hidden in the hilltops overlooking the pristine beaches of Costa Rica's still-virgin south pacific, where the ocean crashes into the jungle sits La Cusinga. Tucked away in a private reserve of over 600 acres, this rainforest lodge provides guests with sweeping ocean views, sandy beaches, natural pools, and the chance to experience the burgeoning forests and astonishing wildlife of the country's most famous ecosystem - OSA. The hotel offers ten rooms designed with sustainably-harvested wood and local materials to maximize comfort while minimizing impact on the environment. The open-air restaurant creates an ideal setting for couples and families alike to enjoy delicious tropical dishes made with fresh produce grown on our farm. The lodge's genuine commitment to sustainable practices along with our first-hand experience in local and national conservation efforts enrich our guests' appreciation of these ecosystems and the importance of their continued preservation. This unique insight enhances the exploration of the natural surroundings while the beautiful location offers the tranquility of fresh ocean breezes and breathtaking sunsets that make for the perfect tropical escape.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Yoga room
Free breakfast
Beach
Hiking
Conference facilities
Facial treatments
Secured parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
693Reviews8Q+A96Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 568
  • 91
  • 16
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DownhillSkier67 wrote a review Jan 2020
Annapolis, Maryland199 contributions108 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hidden in 240 acres of a private reserve, about 150 feet up on the hillside overlooking the Pacific Ocean, La Cusigna Lodge offers about 10 spacious stone cottages with very comfortable king size beds and nice sized bathrooms that are a short walk from the open lounge area and the dining cottage. All cottages seem to have some sort of view of the ocean. There is no air conditioning but the ceiling fan and the latitude of the Lodge make for very pleasant sleeping temperatures. The Lodge is building a swimming pool but there are paths to two different, delightful swimming holes in the mountain stream and to a lovely beach (not, however, at high tide), all of which are much more pleasant than any swimming pool could ever be. The meals were quite good. There was a good selection at breakfast, and 3 to 4 choices for both lunch and dinner. For example, for dinner we had a shrimp and rice dish (with lots of shrimp), a very good beef tenderloin, a vegetable quesadilla, and a lovely baked fish. The Lodge was also able to adjust the meals to meet various dietary restrictions. The service could not have been more uniformly helpful and courteous.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from aracarirestaurant, Gerente at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Dear DownhillSkier67, Thank you very much for those lovely words. We are really glad that you enjoyed La Cusinga. We hope to see you soon again visiting us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JuliyJavi wrote a review Apr 2021
Lower Bavaria, Germany46 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We would definitely recommend visiting this place, if you are looking to spend a relax time among nature. Pool is perfect for kids and you have as well many other options for adults, trails, yoga deck, "la poza", walking distance amazing beach, etc. Service was excellent, staff was helpful and very friendly, food was good, in general we enjoyed very much our stay. Only thing would be maybe to have at least a little fridge in the bigger rooms considering people traveling with little ones, besides that you won't regret your visit. I loved the fact of being an eco friendly place and we were lucky as well to see several "Cusingas" while enjoying sunset at " El Mirador"
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Ventas at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 28 May 2021
Hola Juli y Javi, Agradecemos sus sugerencias porque para todo nuestro equipo, sus comentarios son muy valiosos porque nos ayudan a mejorar día con día para siempre cumplir con sus expectativas. Esperamos pronto contar nuevamente con su visita.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Connie A wrote a review Feb 2021
8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 weeks at La Cusinga Eco Lodge and had a wonderful time. The resort is absolutely beautiful with outstanding views, wonderful swimming pool and loads of hikes to the ocean and to a natural swimming hole (Posa). Breakfast was included with the reservation and every morning we enjoyed a choice of breakfast with delicious coffee and fruit. The food at the restaurant was simply delicious. My favorite dishes were the chicken curry, avocado rolls and the tuna tataki. I can't forget to mention the wonderful cocktails at the lookout at happy hour watching the sunset. Compliments to the staff for everything they do and also for their care in keeping everyone Covid safe. No other restaurant or hotel had the standards that the management and staff went to for Covid safety during our month stay in Costa Rica.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Sales at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 27 May 2021
Hola Connie, Para todo nuestro equipo, sus comentarios son muy valiosos porque nos ayudan a mejorar día con día para siempre cumplir con sus expectativas. Esperamos pronto contar nuevamente con su visita.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric Y wrote a review Jun 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 6 nights for our honeymoon and left after 2 nearly sleepless nights. There is no early check out allowed, so we ate the cost (approximately $250 USD/day after taxes). Our main complaint was the lack of privacy as the rooms share a wall (2 rooms per building). There are no windows, just screens with blinds and curtains. As it is an “eco lodge” we were informed at check in that there is no housekeeping during the stay. The family next to us was as considerate as could be with a couple young children. You can hear EVERYTHING. The place is old and the mattresses are horrible, pillows likely as old as mattresses. We both woke up with back pain the first night and gave it a try one more night hoping it would improve considering the lack of options. The room safe looks like my childhood toy chest made of wood with a little padlock. Staff was very friendly and offered to switch to one of the other rooms but we declined, not wanting to risk another horrible night. The views at this place are incredible. Possibly the most beautiful I’ve experienced, however, I would not recommend La Cusinga Lodge to anyone due to lack of privacy, horrible beds, and high cost.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Read the fine print. No early check out.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lelani Tresemer, General Manager at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 11 Jun 2023
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at La Cusinga. Please allow me to clarify: the room you selected when booking your reservation does in fact share a wall with another room. However, most of our cabins do not share walls, and are quite private. In the tropics it is quite common to have windows consist of screens and blinds to enjoy the sea breeze—it allows our guests to be immersed in their surroundings. I apologize it was not clear housekeeping is offered upon request through reception—I will remind them to emphasize this point for future check-ins. Although our mattresses and pillows were not to your liking, we do update both items regularly. The room safe was built on site from sturdy reforested wood from our property, which is in line with our eco-friendly principles. It is a shame you did not accept the upgrade to our Honeymoon Suite and chose to leave early, I am sure you would have enjoyed the rest of your stay immensely.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack E wrote a review Feb 2020
Ann Arbor, Michigan20 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful ecolodge with an inspiring history of land reclamation and forest restoration by it's founder and owner (whose memoir I'm reading).

Direct access to great hiking and secluded beach. Friendly staff, tasty food, clean comfortable cabanas.

Only reason for 4 stars is that the portable fan we had in our room was very noisy and encrusted in mold. We were given a replacement but it wasn't much better. I appreciate that la cusinga doesn't have AC but you need to upgrade the fans including the ceiling fans. It will probably save money in electrical bills eventually.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cristian Cerdas Nuñez, Propietario at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear jacke397, thank you very much for your review and your constructive critics. We will take it into account. Hope to see you soon visiting us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
junglechef51 wrote a review May 2021
Uvita, Costa Rica20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
La Cusinga is one of those special, magical places in Costa Rica that seems to get better and better with age. The views are spectacular, the hiking trails are amazing, and every part of the property feels special and private. They have added a beautifully designed pool right in the middle of the jungle and it fits right in. My wife and I enjoyed several mornings and afternoons there. But we also enjoyed the privacy and the magic of the fresh water poza (pool) a short hike away from the man-made pool. It sits at the bottom of a small catarata (waterfall) and is surrounded and shaded by the jungle. When we were there we felt as if we were the only people on the planet.
Our cabin was cozy, the sheets were excellent, and the sound of the howlers early in the morning was a familiar wake-up call. The WiFi in the cabin was a good strong signal as well.
The breakfasts were unformly excellent with ripe fresh fruit, fresh fruit juice and a choice of omelet, Gallo pinto, or pancakes. I'm not a huge fan of Gallo pinto, but the presentation here is special and the flavors work together better than most. I had ceviche for lunch twice and it was exemplary. Dinner was very good and the menu quite broad.
We had a fantastic romantic getaway and would recommend La Cusinga to anyone who wants to experience the real Costa Rica.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Cusinga Lodge, Sales at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 27 May 2021
Hola, Para todo nuestro equipo, sus comentarios son muy valiosos porque nos ayudan a mejorar día con día para siempre cumplir con sus expectativas. Esperamos pronto contar nuevamente con su visita.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
classicalmusictravel wrote a review Aug 2023
New York City, New York131 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
La Cusinga is perfectly located with beautiful trails in the rain forest leading to a quiet beach. My room, Gemele 1, had a little porch with chairs for relaxing and gazing at the birds and the Atlantic. I visited during the rainy season and enjoyed pretty dry days with lovely crashing storms late at night which cleared by early morning. The easy birding on the large reception porch was sociable and fun. The food was delicious, and the staff could not be more helpful. Laundry service was available and so appreciated by me after tramping in the rain forest. Thank you, La Cusinga.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Cusinga, Ventas at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 2 Sept 2023
Thank you very much for bringing your experience to our attention and for specify each area you visited. We see an opportunity to make things better and we want to thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us, looking forward to having you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JIMVARRO wrote a review Nov 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a beautiful place, with spacious and very nice rooms, clean, comfortable and with a very pleasant view of the sea. From the moment we arrived they took care of us in the best possible way and made us feel at home. The food a high point - note 110% -. The trails are very pleasant and easily accessible. In just 5 minutes you reach a small waterfall with a pool where you can bathe. The pool is very clean as is the jacuzzi. The hotel and its staff are highly recommended !!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cristian Cerdas Nuñez, Propietario at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 8 Jan 2021
DEar JIMVARRO, thank you very much for your lovely words. Hope to count with your visit soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AJC752013 wrote a review Jul 2023
Sycamore, Illinois57 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is just amazing!!! We wanted to go hiking and eat lunch so we headed over. There were some hairpin turns to get to the parking area. We were greeted by a nice lady who let us know that it would be $10/person to park and use the trails or free if we were eating at the restaurant (and that's what we did). We took the ajo or ajillo (I can't remember) trail and walked for just over an hour. Then we went to the restaurant where we sat looking out at the ocean and watched a storm come in. It was breath-taking! If we had more time, we would go back and do the Playa Arcos side of the trails. Next time!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Wear covered toe shoes, bring a rain coat, bug spray, trails are not too difficult but definitely...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations Cusinga, Ventas at La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Responded 6 Aug 2023
Thank you very much for the nice and encouraging comments in regards to your last stay at La Cusinga Lodge! The facilities of our property are made to provide an all needful to have a nice, relaxing and comfortable time. Thank you very much for bringing your experience to our attention and for specify each area you visited. we want to thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us, that keeps us thriving for excellence. Looking forward to having you back in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jed L wrote a review Feb 2024
South Burlington, Vermont5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading some of the dissatisfied reviews about Cusinga Lodge, I feel compelled to comment. I have to admit that I do like AC and ice cold water when it’s 90 degrees as well as easy access to a lounge chair on a beach. I also like to not have my morning juice splash on the table from a deposit from an overhead bird( the waiter good naturedly said that this is considered good luck before bringing me a new glass of fresh squeezed juice. No offense meant or taken.

Cusinga Lodge is an ecolodge where I didn’t get some of the above niceties but I knew beforehand what I would and wouldn’t get at an ecolodge and chose to return to Cusinga Lodge to experience again the beautiful cabanas in a jungle setting with magnificent views of the Pacific, great food, and a friendly, helpful staff. The beach is only accessible when the tide is low but is picturesque and well worth the efforts to get to and from.
People considering coming here should be aware that it’s not the Ritz and that the trails for hiking and to the beach are challenging, the solar heated water is somewhat inconsistent, and the open air dining opportunities may also have “downfalls” so Cusinga may not be the right choice for some. Though I’m feeling tired and my legs are sore from the hot weather activities, neither I nor my partner are regretting planning our return to Costa Rica around the 5 days that Cusinga had available during the Winter months when we most wanted a break from Vermont.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katrnlapeer asked a question Apr 2017
Traverse City, Michigan1 contribution
Dies this Eco Lodge have air conditioning?
Answer from Iris P
2 contributions
I think it only had ceiling fans but it was comfortable and there are lots of plants to give shade outside.
Donna Z asked a question Dec 2016
Mays Landing, New Jersey74 contributions17 helpful votes
What is the best way to get there from the San Jose airport?
Answer from Melissa S
Atlanta, Georgia119 contributions8 helpful votes
I took a shared bus through EasyRide.
ozzielewis asked a question Jul 2015
Atlanta, Georgia131 contributions27 helpful votes
How is How is the weather in July and August?
Answer from Geinier
San Isidro del General, Costa Rica99 contributions9 helpful votes
At the moment it is nice weather. Rains in the afternoons and night. Bring some rain gear. Enjoy the rain, and the weather.
frednmo asked a question Jun 2015
Englewood, Florida54 contributions65 helpful votes
Hi can you walk to the beach and town from this hotel?
Answer from MFKMassachusetts
Boston, Massachusetts67 contributions66 helpful votes
La Cusinga has a fresh water pool reached across a footbridge & down a twisting path. Since we arried in a heavy rain, the next day the pool was cloudy and we didn't swim. The pool is fed by 2 small waterfalls. I did not take the trail to La Cusinga's beach, but my husband did. He said it was lovely, albeit a bit rocky. He reported that the trail down was a bit rough.
Answer from Geinier
San Isidro del General, Costa Rica99 contributions9 helpful votes
Not sure if you have any other questions.. we can help you via email or at the website we have how to get to the hotel. as we can not write our email (stupid rule) you can google us...
johnsuggestions wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom320 contributions191 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be clear on what type of room you book."
Read full review
Phenos wrote a tip Aug 2023
Paris, France111 contributions62 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Consider only if you can sustain the heat at night"
Read full review
TGibson wrote a tip Aug 2023
65 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Register your credit card at check-in just so you can charge food to your room (in case you forget your wallet, e.g., while hiking)."
Read full review
AJC752013 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sycamore, Illinois57 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wear covered toe shoes, bring a rain coat, bug spray, trails are not too difficult but definitely slippery in parts. "
Read full review
Eric Y wrote a tip Jun 2023
4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Read the fine print. No early check out."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Uvita area.
PRICE RANGE
£135 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la cusinga eco hotel uvita
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasUvita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA CUSINGA ECO LODGE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Rancho La Merced National Wildlife Refuge (4.2 miles), Uvita Information Center (2.8 miles), and Uvita Beach (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bagel Time Bakery, Bar Restaurant Los Laureles, and Pizza Time.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a yoga room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Cusinga Eco Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does La Cusinga Eco Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is La Cusinga Eco Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Uvita HotelsUvita Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UvitaHotels near La Cusinga Eco Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire