We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Swan Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,418 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Black Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,416: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Good food, good room, very good value, lovely setting. Stayed one night will definitely go back again. Evening menu a bit expensive but very good quality with some real interesting flavours (ala carte) a little bit too formal for my liking, but staff very pleasant and attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We visited the restaurant at the recommendation of some friends. On arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We decided not to have the taster menu and had a starter of Cheese soufflé which was delicious and my partner had the asparagus also delicious. We then had the rack of lamb which to say...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborahhadley
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Room fine,service poor, attention to guests at the evening meal NIL. Allow 1 hour for breakfast, if you are lucky. Top Dollar Price Bottom Dollar Service & main menu choice very very limited. Car park very restricted.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank whockborn
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Five Stars well deserved! We recently stayed one night at the Black Swan for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is really well situated overlooking the picturesque town square of Helmsley. To the rear is a terraced walled garden which has been carefully landscaped and planted to provide a pleasant outdoor space for guests to enjoy when the weather is favourable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive T
York, England
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This is a lovely country-hotel, beautifully appointed and with charming gardens. The rooms are well-sized and elegantly furnished and the beds are excellent. Breakfast is superb and the staff are very helpful and attentive. One to definitely put on your 'bucket-list'.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 290,290
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us and we shall look forward to seeing you again in August.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We have just arrived back from the Black Swan, having had a short break to celebrate a birthday. The welcome from the staff was first class.The bedroom was spotless and very comfortable. The food menu was varied and very tasty. We will definitely return, after such pleasant stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara M
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 17 June 2016

This charming hotel has a large modern extension at the back with modern decorated rooms. Our view, however, overlooked a garbage container in an alley instead of the beautiful garden on the other side. Meanwhile in the restaurant, we took advantage of the tasting menu and wine pairing. The food was excellent and artfully presented. The wine pairings were perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

Could be such a fabulous country hotel, but desperately needs more TLC & a serious upgrade........tired & shabby (& seriously overpriced). If they want to cater for a discerning customer, they need to be more accommodating. I asked to eat at 7.30, but was told only 7.15 was possible, as " all other slots were booked".......there were only three other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DLR63
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you felt the need to post a review yesterday evening whilst still at the hotel, yet you didn’t come to discuss your concerns with the Duty Manager whilst you were here. Upon check out this morning you were asked if everything had been ok with your stay, to which you replied yes, with no mention...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We had a very pleasant although short stay at the Black Swan which we mistakenly thought was a small boutique style hotel. It is however much bigger than it appears with a huge extension block to the rear much more modern than the facade would suggest. We would have preferred to stay in one of the older rooms but our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helenbakagain
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were slightly disappointed the room you booked wasn't located at the front of the hotel, but as our website states, we have 45 bedrooms and the Classic rooms are located in the garden wing which is towards the back and it is the Feature rooms which are located in the oldest part of the hotel....

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2016

My husband and I wanted somewhere special to end our recent holiday in Scotland and Yorkshire and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. We had a beautiful room overlooking the square which had an extremely comfortable bed and everything we needed - including an iron! We ate both nights we were there in the restaurant and the food was to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauline w
Black_Swan_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we're delighted that you had a wonderful time during your recent visit and we look forward to welcoming you both back again when you're next in the area.

256 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (235)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,906 reviews
11.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
637 reviews
21.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in one of Yorkshire's prettiest market towns, The Black Swan in Helmsley is a superb historic inn, turned boutique hotel. Dating back to the C15th the hotel, rich in history and charm, blends antiques with classic contemporary design creating the perfect place for a relaxing break. With its own 3 AA rosette restaurant and award winning tearoom, The Black Swan Hotel provides the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway and a chance to escape the everyday stresses and strains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Helmsley YO62 5BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: £98 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Helmsley
Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel Helmsley, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Saltaire, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you have mobility problems ensure that you get a room on the ground floor .This hotel has steep stairs and long corridors.”
 of 5 bubbles 100MarionS, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The older part of the hotel is wonderful”
  • The Market square view from Hotel front rooms
 of 5 bubbles Chrisbic, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms at the front on Thursday night as setting up for the Friday market starts early!”
 of 5 bubbles terriers2010, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to check the availabilty of a decent bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles cheshireliz2014, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms above 30 are a hike.”
 of 5 bubbles LordMilton, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5