Wookey Hole Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wookey Hole Hotel

Traveller (591)
Panorama of the Accessible Double Room at the Wookey Hole Hotel
360
Panoramas (10)
Wookey Hole Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

£72
Get rewarded with One Key
£73
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Multiple ways to pay
£65
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Wookey Hole
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ideally placed in the heart of Somerset, the Wookey Hole Hotel can boast luxury accommodation in picturesque surroundings. Wookey Hole is 2 miles from the medieval city of Wells and 20 miles from Bath and Bristol. Whether you’re thinking of a family break, a romantic night away, a group stay or looking for a unique wedding venue, look no further..! Wookey Hotel features: Free broadband WiFi connection. An elegant bar and restaurant, Easy access to the rest of Wookey Hole’s attractions, Free car parking, The chance to spend more time enjoying a beautiful area of South West England, rich in history and entertainment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Desk
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

High Street, Wookey Hole BA5 1BB England
1,586Review18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 560
  • 555
  • 291
  • 93
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alan T wrote a review Apr 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is extremely well priced; the quality of the room and the restaurant/bar was excellent and well above the pricing level. My wife and I were made to feel welcome as soon as we were in reception and this warm and professional approach to guests was displayed by all the staff we met. The meals were all first class, in fact the vegetarian burgers we had on our first night were the best we have ever tasted. There was a full range of breakfasts available, but the continental breakfasts we chose were excellent. The meals too, were very reasonably priced. One evening my wife had a very bad headache and the kitchen staff prepared light meals for us to take to our room. Sarah from the restaurant was very helpful on this occasion. We'd also like to mention Fliss and Rowena from the restaurant and bar staff who also provided first class service. We are very much looking forward to visiting the hotel again next year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy this hotel. It is a gem.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma C wrote a review Aug 2020
Essex, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Wookey Hole Hotel in August After we had to cancel our normal family holiday and were a little worried what it would be like with all the new regulations in place as we were visiting The caves and were advised some attractions were closed, we arrived on a Sunday evening and had a look around as we were not sure what to expect but it was like a mini resort, the hotel itself had plenty of parking just outside the main doors with a large recreational area just to the side of the hotel,The room had plenty of space for a family and was very clean and well maintained, we did not have a booking for dinner but the hotel staff made us one for the time we wanted with no issue, the restaurant was a 1 min walk from the hotel and had a great selection of food at reasonable prices, they also had take away snacks and drinks with plenty to pick from, They had a big mini golf set up outside the restaurant and we had a quick game before dinner (great fun for the kids) they also had gold mining but this was closed due to the current regulations, the following day we had breakfast at the on site restaurant and it was fantastic, visited Weston super mare as the hotel was ideally located for this and it was an amazing day out with rides, the pier, beautiful beaches, donkey rides and much much more, we ate again at the restaurant that night and it was great as the theming in the restaurant is amazing it’s like your in a circus and we loved it, on our final day we were booked into the caves and it was magical, I had been over 30 years ago and to be able to take my daughter was great and really did bring memories back, it was great being in a hotel that was so close literally a 2 min walk.
After the caves we walked around the fairy garden, went in the museum, and had a look around what was open, had an ice cream from the on site ice cream parlour - so many flavours it was hard to pick! unfortunately the cinema and some other attractions were closed due to the current guidelines but we are hoping to go back again for them when things return to normal, the gift shop was great and we got some Wookey Hole cheese and I wish we had got more than 1 lot as its officially the best cheese I have ever had! I would truly recommend a trip to wookey Hole with the family or for a romantic getaway as the caves are breath taking! We will 100% be back again. Thank you wookey hole you gave us some normality in these strange times.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Medley, General Manager at Wookey Hole Hotel
Responded 25 Sept 2020
Dear 3mmaLouise1, Thank you for your super review! It sounds like you packed a lot in, in a few days, this is great to read :) It is lovely you were able to bring your family with you, and remember your visit from when you were a child, and e ven better that we have more attractions now and some tasty ice cream! We would love to welcome you back again when more has re-opened. Best wishes, Wookey Hole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SHancock2301 wrote a review Jul 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom78 contributions105 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was VERY basic, but clean. Basic soap is provided in the bathroom and tea and coffee with paper cups. We stayed for two nights. Our room wasn’t cleaned after the first night because of Covid restrictions. We did ask for clean towels which they provided, along with fresh tea and coffee etc.....

The bistro in hotel was closed (which was lucky for us because we had room 6 which is right next to reception so would have been very noisy!) We ate breakfast in Captain Jack’s restaurant just across the way in the wookey hole park. £8.95 for a adult full English with two of each item but still £7.95 for a child’s with one of each item - not good value. It wasn’t the best breakfast I’ve had, not sure why, it just didn’t taste nice. Dinner in the evening was better but some of the dishes are a little pricey. I was extremely disappointed that everything was served on disposable plates with wooden cutlery, plastic cups at the bar too. This is unnecessary in my view and ruined the restaurant experience - which you’re still paying over the odds for.

The only reason I’ve given this three stars is because the staff are all lovely. Don’t think our stay was discounted, so you’re paying the same price for a much reduced service because of all the stupid Covid restrictions. Probably best to wait until things return to normal to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandra T. wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Happy with the overall stay. I recommend this place for a short family stay. Some of the attractions were closed due to the virus.We paid 129£ for a family room for the 4 of us, plus basic breakfast, plus tickets to the caves. Room was basic, but clean and comfortable, especially sealed and disinfect which made us feel safe.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Medley, General Manager at Wookey Hole Hotel
Responded 2 Oct 2020
Dear Nome I, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you recommend us, this is such lovely, positive feedback. Thank you also for recognising our Covid safety measures. Our team are working hard to ensure a warm, welcome for guests whilst keeping everyone safe. We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Wookey Hole Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mrssats wrote a review Jun 2021
Stamford, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let’s get the one positive out of the way first - the caves are fabulous. That’s as far as the good stuff goes!

The place is marketed as a resort!? Not sure how. We’d done the whole thing within 3 hours. Even if everything was open it still wouldn’t be a resort. The place is very run down and you feel like you’re stepping back into the 80’s! The hotel was pretty appalling. The beds were so uncomfortable. They provided us with a camp bed for my child which I wouldn’t even put a dog on. The springs in the mattress on the single bed stuck out so much I couldn’t expect my daughter to sleep in that so she ended up in bed with us and my poor little boy had to make do with the awful old camp bed. The pillows were also uncomfortable, the duvets were like cardboard and there was no ventilation in the room, other than having the windows wide open which is a safety issue with two young children. The extractor fans in the bathrooms do not work.

We were told on arrival that as we were only there for 3 nights our room would not be cleaned. That meant, no bins emptied and no toilet rolls replenished. We had to go to reception and ask for this. I have never experienced that before!?

The bistro in the hotel was closed I assume because of covid - they use that as an excuse for everything. Instead we were sent over to Captain Jacks across the road which was disgusting. Dingy, run down and dirty. Continental breakfast consisted of a pan au chocolat, a box of cornflakes and a carton of warm milk. We had paid extra to have breakfast but were told they did not have all the items listed as part of the continental breakfast. We were not offered any compensation for this. On the only morning we went for breakfast there was sick all over the floor where you ordered your food from. It remained there for the whole time that we were in there. I was ready to pack my bags and leave at this point!!!

The walls in the hotel are paper thin and you could hear everything coming from all directions. Our stay was so bad we ended up leaving a day early desperate for our own beds as we didn’t sleep for two nights.

I have noticed from reading the reviews on here and the responses from the hotel that they try and find an excuse for everything. The simple fact is, there is no excuse for any of these things and there response seem almost arrogant. Sometimes is better to accept that there are things wrong and try to rectify them. The management of this hotel is shocking.

We will never come back and I would urge anyone thinking of staying at the Wookey Hole Hotel not to!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma D wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Late check in at 5pm, quite frustrating with 2 children to sort and work around. Booked Captain Jacks for dinner through the hotel. Food was very greasy and over priced, although staff there were nice and helpful. Upgraded to summer package for one of the 3 nights of our stay to include entry to caves. Half the attractions not open but tickets not reduced. Beds in room extremely uncomfortable. My daughters bed nearly had the springs coming through. Although clean, towels and bedding had holes in and very tatty. Wifi never worked on the last night and receptionist didn't seem bothered as she said to my husband that it worked ok on her phone! Apart from this incident, the staff were polite and helpful. Rooms obviously weren't cleaned until leaving, so you had to go ask for toilet roll or other amenities
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Medley, General Manager at Wookey Hole Hotel
Responded 25 Sept 2020
Dear emmadhants, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are sorry to hear you may not return to us, and apologies for the late check in. We are working hard and as fast as we can to ensure all rooms are cleaned and maintained to our strict procedure, which I am sure you can appreciate. The ticket admission is in fact discounted currently, to reflect some attraction closures. As with guidelines, housekeeping do not enter rooms during a stay, and you do need to request any extras that you may need. Please be assured all your comments have been taken on board. Best wishes, Wookey Hole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel M wrote a review Jan 2020
Greater London, United Kingdom40 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night between Christmas and new Year with the family.
Booked a family room with breakfast, room was nice and tidy and it was great to find it had two extra beds for the kids rather than a sofa bed. rooms are basic along with the hotel itself but does for a one or two night stay, breakfast in the Bistro was good with a nice selection available but it did appear a little expensive.
Tried to book an evening meal but was told that it was a set Christmas menu and it would be in the main restaurant over the road so didn't bother with that.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris G wrote a review Aug 2021
Ilford, United Kingdom2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me, my partner and our kids stayed for one night after visiting the caves (which are beautiful btw)

We arrived and checked in quickly. The receptionist was only interested in trying to sell us tickets (at ridiculous prices) to a magic show and dinner at 'Captain Jacks' but we had a table booked at the wookey hole inn 2 minutes away (which was a nice meal)

We found our way down to our room which was very basic. That is what we expected and I have no issue with that...but the room Stank. The cause of which was the bathroom that smelt like a urinal at a football match. We were only in the room for a few minutes before going out for dinner and didn't grasp how bad it was until very late, when we got back from dinner. We kept the bathroom door shut and just put up with the stench/ drowning it out, as much as possible with perfume, as it was only one night.

When we woke up we knew straight we just couldn't go into the bathroom, so had to go without a showers etc.

We quickly packed up and checked out. Unfortunately reception was unmanned so all we could do was leave the room key in a box on the front desk.

We were set to leave but we not before we got to take in a Continental breakfast at Captain Jack's!!

The restaurant resembled a community centre hall and we tentatively made our way to a large chiller cabinet containing numerous brown paper bags. Each bag contained a stale and inedible croissant, a yoghurt that doesn't need to be kept in the fridge! A sour cartoon of OJ, one small box of cornflakes and a large cartoon of warm uht milk. My four year old took one bite of the crossaint and said it tasted "not quite good" Good job he didn't like it as one of the many wasps and flies that frequent Captain Jack's landed on it shortly after. In the end me and my partner were laughing out loud at how bad it was.

I would say it was the worst meal of my life but it wasn't even a meal. I don't know what it was but it was not a meal.

The caves were great and would recommend toanyonewith children, we spent a fun few hours there.
As for the hotel and Captain Jack's, they are peas in a pod and the only word that comes to mind is; Filth.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David S wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent a week here at the hotel and we loved it. The accomadstion couldn't of been better. The way they incorporated covid with one way systems and hand sanitisation stations made us feel we were protected to the best of there ability. The restaurant was was also covid style with 2m distancing employed. The food was very good and staff even better. Just a Stone throw from wockey hole cave it's self it was perfect for our child. Many other sites and things to do for all ages in and around I'd recommend this place for all. We will love to cone back again. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Medley, General Manager at Wookey Hole Hotel
Responded 25 Sept 2020
Dear D4456NZdavids, Thank you for your amazing review! It sounds like you had a great stay and visit with us and thank you for recognising all of our Covid safety measures. Our team are working hard to ensure all guests receive a warm welcome and a safe stay. We hope you enjoyed the caves and attractions too. Best wishes, Wookey Hole
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zonk wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife & I stayed for one night 21/10/22 with our well-groomed, well behaved 14 month old dog as this was advertised as a dog friendly hotel and had the added attraction of being able to book the caves. This was all pre-booked and my son and his family who also stayed spoke with staff beforehand about the booking to ensure dogs were allowed and also book the caves for us and his family.
Although the room looked cleanish and we expect a little dog smell the disgusting stench from the carpet was overwhelming which smelt of urine and uncleanliness. I have smelled better dog kennels. It actually made you feel sick but we had very little options now due how late it was and we were told no other rooms were available. Credit due to the lady on the reception desk who tried to mask the smell with air fresher which even with the windows open all night had only a limited amount of success.
As we booked a dog friendly hotel we assumed that we would be able to eat at the hotel as we arrived about 7.30pm. As soon as we sat down in the bar area with our dog we were informed that no dogs were allowed so we couldn't eat together. Unfortunately, we tried the pub down the road who had stopped doing food for the night so we then had to get in the car and find a pub that was open and accepted dogs. By this time it was about 9pm+ and as we had 't eaten anything since breakfast we were not happy.
The following morning obviously meant staggering the prebooked breakfast so one of us could look after the dog whilst the other ate.
Could it get worse? YES!
Our party headed to the Caves but I was informed that dogs were not allowed so I then had to stay back whilst the others went in. Apparently, I was told we should have read the small print on the Caves website but having booked this through the hotel why didn't they think to inform us when booking?
On leaving, I did ask for a refund for the cave and also raised my concerns above, but I was told that I would have to speak to the manager who was not available at that time. Although I left my full contact details with reception who said he would call me I have still not had any response.
The room wants professionally cleaning and like a lot of dog friendly hotel rooms we have stayed in would probably benefit from having the carpets ripped out with a hard wood floor. Having said that the hotels rooms we have stayed in with carpets certainly do not smell as bad as this one.
It is disappointing that the management did not take the opportunity to discuss this with me and therefore leave me no option but to leave a poor review.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't book if you have a dog! Apparently, Caves are good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from AliJohn65
Darlington, United Kingdom183 contributions101 helpful votes
I wouldn't let a dog stay there , it's an outdated dump Unless you're going to the Hole find somewhere else !! I wrote and complained but they couldn't even be bothered to reply
Alan B asked a question Jul 2022
1 contribution
Are there any facilities for charging EVs?
Answer from hughsey059
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom58 contributions61 helpful votes
I didnt notice any facilities.
LeandraBramham asked a question May 2021
Gayton, United Kingdom58 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi, is it far to walk to the caves from the hotel?
Answer from Steve C
Lydney, United Kingdom222 contributions44 helpful votes
Right opposite but it is a good 1/4 mile walk uphill to get to the entrance. Hope this helps.
Wayne J asked a question Aug 2020
Hornchurch, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi all,, are rooms quiet
Wayne J asked a question Aug 2020
Hornchurch, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi all,, are rooms quiet ?
Answer from Wayne J
Hornchurch, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
No need to answer no the rooms are not quiet paper thin walls
Shepvisit wrote a tip Apr 2024
173 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of parking, you don't have to pay, if you're a walker there's a nice viewpoint about 30minutes or you can drive and walk. There are lodges with hot tubs behind hotel"
Read full review
Sean w wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre book restaurant due to limited seating."
Read full review
carol m wrote a tip Apr 2024
11 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food excellent but rooms poor"
Read full review
Alan T wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy this hotel. It is a gem."
Read full review
Ruby P wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great if bringing dogs and very family friendly "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wookey Hole area.
PRICE RANGE
£52 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSomersetWookey Hole
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WOOKEY HOLE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Wookey Hole Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Wookey Hole Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Vicar's Close (1.6 miles), Wells Cathedral (1.7 miles), and The Bishop's Palace and Gardens (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wookey Hole Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Wookey Hole Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wookey Hole Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wookey Hole Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Olive Tree, Strangers with Coffee, and The Courtyard Restaurant.
Is Wookey Hole Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Wookey Hole.
Are there any historical sites close to Wookey Hole Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Wells Cathedral (1.7 miles), The Bishop's Palace and Gardens (1.8 miles), and West Front (1.6 miles).
Is Wookey Hole Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire