We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Queen's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Queen\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for one night, newly decorated and very well thought out. Everything you would expect in a room plus a smart TV which is great for entertainment. Breakfast good, lunch the next day great, service friendly overall would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodid111555
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This traditional British country pub has bags of character inside and out. We stayed the night, the room was clean, nicely decorated and spacious. The full English breakfast couldn't be faulted, they'd even gone to the trouble of sourcing double yolked eggs! The staff and manageress were friendly and helpful. There was a good evening menu at reasonable prices: my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffw661
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Quite frankly, the whole experience was extremely disappointing. Ordered some drinks and crisps as we were told the food would be 'at least half an hour'. They then had run out of crisps. Waited an hour for our food (nothing too fancy, Sunday roasts and a couple of jacket potatoes). The plates were very hot (shame the food wasn't) and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We arrived on a weekday evening and were served a decent hot meal in the bar. The atmosphere in the bar was friendly and calm: local people dropping by, chatting, no intrusive music or TV - it made us think Broadchalke would be a nice place to live, where people know and talk to each other and to passing strangers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JemnAnne
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I have read previous reviews and can only conclude they are reviewing a different establishment than rye one I visited. The entrance to the pub smelled of stale beer and was quite disgusting. The bar area was neither clean nor presentable. The table was sticky with beer/drink. Ordered dinner and it too was disappointing. Very basic with small portions and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mary M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016

My wife & I visited this pub recently for food, We were greeted by friendly staff & made to feel very welcome. I ate the Cajun chicken, which was absolutely delicious & my wife has not stopped raving about the vegetable lasagne that she had. The portion were a good size & the food was fresh & hot. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 411tom71
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The customer service was poor. The rooms were dirty. stained duvet, uncomfortable bed with metal spring sticking out, paint peeling everywhere, bathroom fittings shabby. The bar was so sticky and the beer mats dripping it was a job to peel a glass off the bar. The selection of wine was pitiful. The outside seating areas was littered with cigarette butts....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Suzi705
Elizabeth413, Manager at The Queen's Head, responded to this review

Hello Suzi, We are deeply sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, we have recently taken over and have plans for improvement. We understand the garden is a problem, we have hired a local gardener who is currently developing it. We also understand the bar is a problem, it is not because it is unclean, just that the varnish...

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

A really nice premise set in very pleasant surroundings. The accommodation comprises a number of individual apartments overlooking the courtyard garden at the rear of the pub. Adequately furnished, our room (number 3) was very clean and tidy, my only 'complaint' being the shower was lukewarm on the two occasions I used it. We enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
Mountsorrel, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Have visited this lovely place several times for lunch recently and have had a great time on each occasion. The staff are friendly and the menu is amazingly extensive but since trying the Bubble & Squeak (topped with meat and accompanied by a tasty relish) for £7.95 I have not tried anything else - it's sublime - and become my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham D
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Came here for a lovely afternoon drink and some lunch after hearing great things about the place, but in all honestly it is the worst pub experience I have ever had. Staff were rude to my friend saying she had no manners when she says please and thank you at all time and then had the audacity to mumble an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _rach_2794

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broad Chalke
5.1 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
16.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
111 reviews
6.8 mi away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#5 of 15 in Salisbury
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lodge Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Greenbank B&B
Greenbank B&B
#1 of 1 in Bowerchalke
18 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Compasses Inn
The Compasses Inn
#2 of 5 in Tisbury
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Queen's Head

Address: The Queens Head 1 North Street, Broad Chalke SP5 5EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Broad Chalke
Price Range: £68 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queen's Head 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Queen's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queen's Head Broad Chalke, Wiltshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Queen's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I am reviewing the restaurant, not the room(s).”
 of 5 bubbles NormandyCot, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Bring your dog!”
 of 5 bubbles lesleyj453, 24 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in downstairs room which was very convenient !”
 of 5 bubbles lin94_11, 23 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms are probably a bit lighter - the ones downstairs are a wee bit dark.”
 of 5 bubbles Gingerb0ris, 27 Apr 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are within the courtyard and not in the pub/hotel itself. This makes them all fairly quiet. Be aware that the smoking area where people naturally talk is adjacent to the rooms. When the pub closes all you will hear is the owls.”
 of 5 bubbles Grimrecruiter, 20 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay