We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain View Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain View Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 52: English reviews
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We were passing through and needed a place to stay. Hotel is kept clean and manicured. Room was clean. It is a motel built maybe in the 70's with block and that makes up part of the walls in the room with the 70's panelling. Furniture is old but clean. The owners are pleasant and hands on. Breakfast and conversation...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank middleagedyuppie
Milton, Canada
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We visited Kaszuby for the first time and we were glad that we were able to find board at this motel. Friendly family business, we wish we had the time to eat breakfast at their restaurant as the food looked pretty good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monikan21
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I opened this site to show my co-worker what a nice motel this was to stay at, as my husband and I stayed there a few years ago. I was shocked at dresda's wrote and could not believe anyone would complain about such trivial things. Complain about poor service, dirty rooms, or excessive noise, not items like those that were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Debbi R
Douglas_and_Maureen, Owner at Mountain View Motel, responded to this review

Debbi, thank you so much for your comments. They are much appreciated and go someway to restoring our faith in the accuracy of this forum. Having always tried to treat everyone with fairness and respect it does tend to take the feet from beneath you. However in the intervening period we have had so many lovely new people and all...

ontario
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Having passed this motel on many day trips I really wanted to try it out for a weekend because it looks clean and well kept as you drive by. I read the reviews here and thought it would be just my kind of place. Unfortunately the room we had was small, had little space to put things down and turned...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dresda
Douglas_and_Maureen, Owner at Mountain View Motel, responded to this review

It is an acceptable fact that you can never please all the people all of the time. However, when you have courteously accommodated a couple who twice postponed their reservation and then sympathized as you refunded their account due to “ Stephanie taking unwell during the night” only to then discover that you have been lied to, as she enjoyed...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 7 May 2013

After scrambling to find a place this past Saturday (4 May) we were lucky enough to come across the Mountain View. Comfort, cleanliness and two wonderful owners. Douglas and Maureen make you feel like part of the family and as busy as they are, they always have enough time for a kind word, or to listen to one more story....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter D
brampton
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just came back from an over night at the Mountain View Motel. May 5, 2013. Douglas and Maureen make you feel right at home. Lovely, lovely couple. Rooms are cozy and comfortable and come equipped with a coffee maker and all the fixins, wine glasses and a small fridge. Bed was comfortable and it had a TV. Two chairs right...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pamela L
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I stayed here for four nights in October, having come up to do some fall hiking in the east side of Algonquin Park. It was first time at this motel. It's run by a very lovely Scottish couple, Doug and Maureen, who are wonderful hosts and knowledgeable guides for places of interest in the area. They also cook your breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James K
kanata
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After long thought I realize I should count my blessings. At the Mountain View Motel, I had a good night sleep in a comfortable bed. My daugther also enjoy the small play structure they had. The owners of this motel provided information about their surrounding community. Thank you for your gift of hospitality.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JosephinePC
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 25 June 2012

A decent room, with a small bathroom, that I would recommend. They don't seem to use air fresheners even though there is no fan in the bathroom, which is good because air fresheners give me a headache. It may be that they paint their rooms regularly. Pinewood Inn had used air fresheners when I had stayed there, likely because their...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank just m
Blantyre, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We have recently stayed here in April 2012. The owners, Maureen and Douglas, could not have been more welcoming. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and they serve a delicious breakfast at such value for money. Whilst staying there, I would also recommend a trip to the Wilno Tavern to sample the delights of the polish cuisine that they serve...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen M

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
3.9 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
3.2 mi away
Pinewood Inn
Pinewood Inn
#1 of 3 in Barry's Bay
70 reviews
14.1 mi away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
6 reviews
3.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
2 reviews
2.3 mi away
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
Barry's Bay Golf Resort
#5 of 7 in Barry's Bay
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mountain View Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cottage is definitely not worth the money!”
 of 5 bubbles anthonyz544, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“quiet rooms amazing view and”
 of 5 bubbles 546shellys, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The cottage was a little more money but totally worth it for the extra space and facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles JKB84, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Beds are double size so pay extra and choose the room with two doubles if you like extra room while sleeping.”
 of 5 bubbles middleagedyuppie, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Wait until they get new mattresses and pillows.”
 of 5 bubbles dresda, 26 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5