We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A very special New Zealand experience, offering fine boutique accommodation in a relaxed atmosphere. Our suites are private and semi contained set in a private courtyard. Tariff includes pre dinner wine and canapes,fabulous gourmet breakfast of the finest locally grown ans seasonal produce and full evening turn down with Port and chocolates.Use of all facillities.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Room Service
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Tennis Court
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS
212Reviews
28Photos
0Q+A
29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 11
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
After reading the very good reviews we had big expectations, especially about the breakfast. Unfortunately, is was a real disappointment, as all the food served to us was loaded with sugar (caramel slice cakes, jam, yogurt, cereal, even the fruit was in some kind of sweet
Read more
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat
Responded 16 Apr 2018
Thankyou for your review however it was so strange that we really wondered if you had stayed at Rippinvale at all ! We certainly.don"t understand your comment.about a.lack of privacy due to no curtain in the bedroom...of course there are curtains in the bedroom..blackout curtains in fact and our suites are surrounded by Bush and garden as well so it is very unlikely anyone could stroll past. Our breakfast, loved by hundreds over the years..most of our produce is grown in the garden or locally it is all organic and seasonal. You most likely chose a continental breakfast of freshly baked bread, fruit from the garden, porridge,yogurt,home made preserves,j fresh orange juice.I am sorry if you found this too sweet your taste.We are always happy to cater to special requirements but without prior notice this just isn't possible. Our suites are serviced daily and we always check first to see what you require. If your carpets were clean after checkin the night previously then no, we wouldn't have re-vaccummed them again in the morning. The caramel slice is left in your suite prior to arrrival..it is home baked and complimentary ..a snack to enjoy with a cup of tea or coffee and not intended as part of breakdast.
Read more
+4
Thank you Helen and John for your fantastic hospitality. We very much enjoyed meeting you both and your warmth and kindness absolutely made our stay. We felt so warmly welcomed and spoilt from start to finish. The bed is so very comfortable, a selection of pillows of varying
Read more
We came to Hanmer Springs for a short getaway to relax, refresh and unwind. Rippinvale Retreat deliver all that and much more. The studio was comfortable and cozy, the bed was amazing, the breakfast fresh and superb and the garden and spa simply melted the stress away. John and
Read more
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat
Responded 24 Feb 2018
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. One of the fantastic things about this sort of business is that you meet such great people, You were an absolute pleasure to host ! Warm regards Helen and John
Read more
A couple of weeks ago my boyfriend and I had the honour of staying at this accommodation! Helen and her husband are friendly and provided all the luxuries we could have possibly wanted for our first night in NZ! Would definitely stay here again! The breakfast was absolutely
Read more
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat
Responded 24 Feb 2018
We are so happy that you chose this special little corner of NZ to start your holiday. That we were able to meet your expectations means a lot to us. Enjoy the rest of your journey ! Warm regards Helen and John
Read more
Stayed one night here. Helen was lovely and accommodating. The bed was super comfortable and the place left us feeling refreshed. Nice touch with canapes and wine before dinner. Breakfast was delicious and filling
Read more
Response from Helen B, Owner at Rippinvale Retreat
Responded 24 Feb 2018
Thankyou for tacking the time to review Rippinvale..we love hearing that you have left happy and recharged. We hope we are able to host you again ! Warm regards Helen and John
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Lovely setting in any weather
View from inside the dining area
A corner of the garden
View from bedroom window
"Let the owners know, if you do not like sweet food for breakfast"
"Ground floor B&B suite in a beautiful garden setting. Conveniently located to DT Hammer Springs."
"If you are visiting Hanmer Springs you must stay"
"There are only two suites and both are private."
"Any! They are both great"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$240 - US$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionHanmer Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing