We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Ocean Drive, Past the Yacht Club Raskazone, Tanga Tanzania
Booking.com
Destinia.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (30)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 26/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Panori Hotel
Updated 26/02/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 17 in Tanga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
THE PANORI HOTEL RESTAURANT The Newly renovated Makuti Banda is a great place to enjoy a meal outdoors. The Swimming pool on one side and Children's playground on the other side. Indoor entertainment also available such as pool table and wide-screen TV for all your Sports channels. From starter to dessert the Panori Hotel has a restaurant with great cuisine from every corner of the world. Cracker Jack Prawns, Creole Chicken Curry, Kibo Roast Pork (the all time favorite). Seafood Curry, Lobster Thermidor, Chicken Tikka Masala, Swahili Beef Stew and Ugali, Vegetarian Lasagne, Paneer Curry, Fragrant Green Vegetable Curry and much more. One of the best eating places in Tanga. Fully stocked bar, Alcoholic and non-alcoholic Cocktail. Shakes and Smoothies. Our Gift Shop has a lot to offer in local arts, crafts and colorful African wraps and gowns. Free WiFi internet. Book your Dinner Parties, Children's parties and Poolside B-B-Q with us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
35Reviews1Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 13
  • 7
  • 0
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mzee wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
The hotel is located in a peaceful and calm environment close to the shore. We came with two kids and spent five nights in a family room, that was ideal for our needs. Everybody was very friendly, and the children quickly felt like home. They also liked the pool and small playground very much. We‘d come back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 10 Dec 2019
Thank you SabMzee for taking the time to write a few words. We enjoyed having you and your family, and look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Dimple s wrote a review Apr 2019
London, United Kingdom26 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed at Panori Hotel for 3 nights on our family holiday to Tanga. We were well impressed with the hotel and the facilities (basic but all you need for a chillaxed holiday) The staff were were friendly and always smiling. Chef Simon was very good too. Made us really nice masala chai every morning. The food from the restuarant was good too. The swimmimg pool is decent size and clean. The only annoying thing were the flies, but i am sure the management can sort something out. I would come back to Panori again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Ann F wrote a review Jan 2019
Vienna, Austria21 contributions9 helpful votes
As a seasoned traveller, this was one of the worst experiences ever. Don't know where to begin. Firstly, this hotel is way off the main road and not anywhere close to the beach. I walked into an empty reception and waited patiently. Eventualy someone turned up but they said they didn't have my booking although I showed them my digital confirmation.I was then shown to my room and I was asked to wait outside as they sprayed insecticide. I walked in 15 minutes later and there all these bugs on the floor. I mentioned it to the room steward, who said there was nothing they could do about. The hotel is in a residential area, and the neighbours were having a party of some sort. I did not get much sleep. Meals were even worse. It appeared they were not used to running a restaurant and I had to wait ages for both dinner and breakfast. I complained at the reception but I was not taken seriously. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2019
Dear Ann, I'm so sorry you had a bad experience. We are usually a very quiet hotel, away from the noise of the city and traffic. We are definitely not a beach front hotel, but we are within walking distance of the nearest beach. At the time of your visit we had a new receptionist. I'm sorry for the poor service. He has improved since then and promises to be a good employee. As for the party, one of our neighbors had a death in the family and they played very loud gospel music for the wake, all night long. In the years that I have lived here, that is the only time it has happened. Again, I apologize for the noise that kept everybody awake that night. Can't say what happened at the restaurant for dinner, but breakfast is always a buffet and it is ready by 7am. I'm sorry, I'm not aware of what went wrong although we do our best to please our clients. However, from time to time things do go wrong. I hope you will give us another chance. We will pay closer attention in the future.
Read more
Nishit Maru wrote a review Dec 2018
4 contributions
Very clean rooms, friendly staff, nice location and reasonably priced. Their Prawns Thermidor and jumbo grilled prawns are recommended. The hotel menu also caters for vegetarians. Also recommended is a walk along the Ocean Drive. Photos posted below.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2019
Hi, thank you for your review of our establishment. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Tanga.
Read more
Tushar s wrote a review May 2018
watamu8 contributions3 helpful votes
great place. good location clean rooms and bathroom. great staff. definetly recommend it to everyone. ask for room upstairs and you get a view of the sea as well as the breeze. breakfast was nice and quick. easy place to find and in a nice quiet area of town.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2019
Dear Tushar, Thank you for your comments and thank you for recommending us to your friends.
Read more
KJLRSA wrote a review Mar 2018
Randburg, South Africa102 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel is clean and neat. The staff are very friendly. Not too close to the beach but good for business people as it is quite. They have generator power and the rooms are large and spacious. The bathrooms are well appointed. Restaurant food takes some time but is good. The breakfast is also good.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a few comments on our hotel. We appreciate it.
Read more
squiremully wrote a review Aug 2017
Maidstone, United Kingdom16 contributions5 helpful votes
Very pleasant stay and lovely people. Room was good with lots of satellite sport etc. No access to the ocean though. Ocean drive is lined with luxury housing which blocks the view of the ocean. Food was fine and it felt very secure.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 24 Aug 2017
Thank you. We are not a beach front hotel. But we not far from the ocean, approx. 20 minutes walk from the Yatch club. You can get a glimpse of the ocean from the balconi of a few rooms.
Read more
Nadia M wrote a review Aug 2017
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in Panori a few weeks ago, while i was in Tanga for work. The place was recommended by the other Hotel where we usually stay, and they booked for us in advance. When we arrive there we had the spare keys hanging in the door lock. As we had the other ones with us we requested the porter to return them to the reception. We went out for dinner, around 7:30 PM, and returned at 8:45. When i tried to open the door i couldn't because it was opened already. I immediately understood that something was wrong and went to check my things and realized that all my money was stolen. The same modus operandis with my colleague. it looks like they prepare it, as they refused to share the name of the porter, the full list of staff, and even to check where the spare keys were. The manager was not responsive at all, which was also very suspicious. Very bad client support!!! Later, after coming from the police station, i realized that the back door was also opened. Most probably the theft left through that door after being informed that we had arrive. This is surely a no go place to stay, i strongly advise everyone to be extremely cautious about this place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2017
There is no scam on our part. It's unfortunate that this has happened. It has never happened before. Safes are provided in every room and they are installed in the closets, which also has a key. In other words, double protection. There is a notice in every room stating you can leave your valuables in the safe in the office. I'm surprised the safe was not used. The receptionist was in charge of the guests' keys. He is the one who called the police. He would not have done that if he was guilty. According to the investigation, two clients had checked in the night before and one of them stayed in that room. The following morning she asked to be moved to a different room. After the incident, they left with you and didn't come back. The police officer said you live in Dar es salaam. Why don't you come to Tanga for the day, so we can clear up this matter?
Read more
Catherine Amri wrote a review Aug 2017
3 contributions
My colleague and I checked in at 3.15pm, upon arrival we were given keys at the reception, however at our rooms doors there were extra keys the potter left with them. We left to eat from 7.30 -9 pm and notice money missing however laptops and phones that were in the open were still there. We called police and the matter is under investigation. Kindly do not stay at Panori Hotel the hotel administration did not give us enough support.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 6 Aug 2017
The investigation is ongoing. However, it looks more and more like two other guests who had checked in just before, left without using the rooms they had checked into, soon after the robery, and never came back for the night. They have not been located. They had sat outside the rooms talking on their phones for some time.
Read more
Africahand wrote a review May 2017
Somerset, United Kingdom208 contributions134 helpful votes
Had a good email exchange with the owner, who we met on arrival. Easy booking and good directions. The room was simple but sufficient - nice modern bathroom, good mozzie night on a proper frame, functioning AC unit, good wifi strength, several power sockets. Dinner and breakfast were OK, rather than haute cuisine. No fresh fruit juice even thought it was mid-orange season and they were readily available. Friendly and helpful reception staff. The local immigration office came calling in the morning, apparently to "check on guest security and safety". No fault of the hotel of course, but intimidating to be threatened with a $250 fine for being on the 'wrong visa'.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Julita M, Owner at Panori Hotel
Responded 27 May 2017
Hi, thank you so much for the review. I'm sorry about the fruit juice. Normally when someone orders fresh juice, we make it. I will have a word with my staff about this. I also apologize for being harassed by immigration officers. They are supposed to check visas, but any payment is supposed to be done at the immigration office where you are issued a receipt for your payment. Anything else is bribery and I will report it to their superior officer. Did you have to pay them $250? Please let me know. Julita
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaTanga RegionTanga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Panori Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Panori Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Amboni Caves (3.2 miles) and Mkomazi National Park (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Panori Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Panori Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Panori Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Panori Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Panori Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include D'Amour Bar and Grill, Blue Room Cafe, and Sea View Hotel and Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Panori Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Panori Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Panori Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.