Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort

Klagenfurter Strasse 26, Velden am Woerthersee 9220 Austria
Traveller (309)
Pool & Beach (69)
view of Velden
Room & Suite (68)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 29 hotels in Velden am Woerthersee
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
7,000 m² lakeside park Breakfast buffet with 1st class lake view Wellness right at the lake Indoor swimming pool sauna-solarium-infrared Open throughout the year! BREAKING NEWS New designed rooms and apartments Elevator, parking, winter garden at the lake Entrance area, reception, lobby
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Spa
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
German

Location

Klagenfurter Strasse 26, Velden am Woerthersee 9220 Austria
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
Klagenfurt Airport
13.9 mi
See all flights
Brnik Airport
33.4 mi
See all flights
703Reviews0Q+A18Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 540
  • 114
  • 23
  • 11
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
LDP-Vienna wrote a review Nov 2020
Vienna, Austria1,427 contribution121 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
BARRY MEMLE Lakeside Resort situated just a walking distance to the lovely centre of Velden am Wörthersee is absolutely recommendable. This resort apart from being directly located on the shores of Lake Wört (Wörthersee) with its own private beach, offers just about everything from 24hrs Spa centre, to well furnished and equipped apartments, a restaurant, ample parking, free Wi-Fi, a well manicured garden and a generally very friendly and courteous staff. On the day of our departure, they even gave us a small gift, a coffee mug and some flower seeds to plant as remembrance, such a sweet gesture! My only suggestion for an added comfort of your guests especially when it comes to bigger units such as the one we occupied (No. 12 with 2 bedrooms that sleeps 4-6 pax), is that you add a second sofa in the living room area since there is enough space anyway. It was quite uncomfortable to be sitting on hard dining chairs while relaxing after a long day of excursion. Other than that, it has been another great holiday in Kärnten. Thank you very much and keep up the good work!!! 👍👍👍
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 26 Feb 2021
Thank you so much for your good idea! So many greetings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tinacamen wrote a review Oct 2020
Saint Julian's, Malta16 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We would definitely recommend this Hotel, the rooms are fabulous and directly on the lake. It's only a few minutes walk into the center. Amazing breakfast and the receptionist's were super friendly and helpful. They recommended us to go to the Casino and also made a reservation for us, which was a great restaurant. They also gave us a bottle of wine because it was my husband's birthday the previous day. Also forget me not seeds for us to plant in Malta. Wish we could have stayed longer but we will definitely be back. We were also gifted with a bottle of sanitizer when we left. Super Staff, Super Hotel and Super Location. :-)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Thank you sooooooooooooo much! Greetings Peter Barry
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hočevar ANI wrote a review Jan 2023
Prevalje, Slovenia367 contributions38 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Directly at the Woerthersee lake. It offers clean rooms with modern furniture, breakfast, private beach, parking, fitness studio, free WiFI, pleasant staff ready to help, ...
It has an excellent location for visiting the town of Velden and the lake area. A good starting point for cycling, swimming and walking.
There are many shops, restaurants and a casino near the hotel.

We recommend booking directly through the hotel's website!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2023
Thank you so much Many greetings right from the lake
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Orit K wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were 4 people and paid for 6-8 people apartment.
After two short showers, the hot water ran out, at the reception they told us that there's a boiler that works for only two showers and then we have to wait 2-3 hours for hot water again.
The guy at the reception wasn't kind and helpful at all, not when we arrived and not when we asked about why the water is cold and when we asked for extra blankets at the evening he told us that they are not working 24 hours a day but it wasn't mentioned in their website...
We will not come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 2 Oct 2021
We are realy so sorry. You booked an apartment for 4-8 persons at a very special rate. You was calling me on sunday after midnight (! ) and I explained you that your hot water boilier has enough water for up to 10 persons use I cheked your hot water system extra for your during night time and it was operting normal. After one hour heating you had hot water again! In your apartment there are 8 beds with extra blankets, So if you realy have been only four persons everybody form you had 2 blankets for free use... Anyway you got extra blankets for free very soon in the morning... Unfortunately, your did not recognize our efforts to help you evertime also during night (!) because of your poor English language skills. We are so sorry about your linguistic misunderstanding!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reiko Chaume wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great family stay. It was my birthday and we found a bottle of Sekt and a small gift on table in our room. Hotel staffs are very friendly and we had chocolate snacks for children and drinks for me and my husband.Our room was clean and had great comfort. There was an equipped kitchen. We liked the pool, sauna, family boat, and bike touring around the lake. The lake view from the hotel is amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 19 Oct 2021
Thank you so much! Many greetings right from the lake
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oksana wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location, right on the lake, big comfortable appartment, barrier free access. Close to the city center. Nice personnel. Good for stay with kids. Breakfasts were ok but nothing special, personnel quality services was very good. we enjoyed our stay hope we will coma again somehow.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Thank you so much! Greetings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter wrote a review Oct 2020
12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a nice stay and friendly people! With a warm
Welcome we got a really nice and clean appartment. Bikes included for free. A good breakfast and nice surroundings. We enjoyed our stay! We can recommend this place at the Worthersee
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Thank you so much! Greetings Peter Barry
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bunny m wrote a review Nov 2022
18 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
No one about , great position on the lake and lots to do. Lovely little town with great restaurants and a few casinos. Also a few luxury car garages. We go back every time we drive to and fro Istanbul.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Car parking tight if you’re in a wide one.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter Barry, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Thank you so much! Many greetings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Louise 🌍TRAVEL BLOGGER🛫 wrote a review May 2018
Manchester, United Kingdom582 contributions927 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first stay here was beyond amazing and initially I had written a 5 star review. However...

From Austria we drove to Slovenia where our car broke down. We couldn't get the part we needed delivered to Slovenia, so we had it delivered to this hotel so that we could collect it there. My partner called the manager before we left Slovenia and explained the situation, in addition to asking if there were any rooms available. The manager said there was and that we could have the same room at the same price as last time- he reassured us that we did not need a reservation. When we arrived, the manager had not passed this information on to his staff and the receptionist said they only had a room for 2 nights (Our parcel was being delivered in 3-5 days). She also tried to charge us almost double the price that the manager had agreed. She called the manager and he said to her we have to pay the advertised price. I said to her, "I can't understand why he has said one thing to us and something different to you." She then became EXTREMELY rude and replied, " Look, the manager gets about 200 phonecalls a day and I was here until 1130pm last night so I'm really not prepared to discuss this with you." I was gobsmacked, but bit my tongue as we needed a place to stay. Then the receptionist took us to our room/apartment. At present, this hotel should NOT be taking bookings, as it is a complete building site. She told us we had a garden, yet there was a digger and tools scattered all over it. It was that bad we couldn't even open the curtains or the window. We asked if there were any other rooms available and she said there wasn't. (This was a lie as there were lots of keys still hung up behind the reception desk). My partner tried to call the manager countless times to discuss all of the above with him and when he finally answered he said, "I'm sorry I don't understand English, goodbye." And hung up! He understood English perfectly when we were throwing our money at his business last time. My partner went to reception to cancel our booking and the receptionist said in a very arrogant manner, " maybe if you're girlfriend wanted to pay more money you wouldn't have this problem." Absolutely appalling customer service. The only positive I now have for this hotel is that they called us when our parcel had arrived and for that we are thankful. What a shame as my last review couldn't praise this place enough.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter-Barry-Lakeside, Inhaber at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Responded 13 May 2018
Dear Louise, We very much regret your comments We are sorry that your second stay with us did not work as well as on your first stay! Now all work is finished and everything is completely new. We hope to welcome you back soon, so that we can show you that we are fine again. Greetings directly from the Wörthersee sends you wholeheartedly your entire team from the BARRY-MEMLE Seeresort and your Peter Barry PS .: We did not want to be rude to you but wes was a very stressful time for us all ... 1.ooo THANKS for your understanding and please do not be angry anymore!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roy Little wrote a review Aug 2005
Livingston, United Kingdom196 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited the hotel Barry-Memle in late July for one week vacation, and were very impressed with the hotel and its location. The resort is only a 20 drive from Klagenfurt international airport and was very easy to find. Anyone staying in the new annex will find accomodation to a very good standard, with excellent views of the lake. The rooms also boast cooking facilities, but we took out the option of breakfast by the lake every day. The reception is rather unusual, in that it is not manned, but you have to use a phone to get someone to come and help you. This could be rather awkward, as numerous members of staff spoke no, or little english. If you like water sports, the hotel offers a range of canoes, dingy's or kayaks free of charge. The water was clear, shallow, warm and perfect for swimming in.
The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the town centre, which has a very upmarket feel to it (you don't get any lager louts or every 2nd person wearing a football top). The area is ideal for touring, as you aren't far from Italy or Slovenia. It has superb rail links and roads.
Downsides. The only couple of very minor points I could make were that the hotel caters mainly for Germans (which is fine), but all the hotel information was in German only (along with the resort as a whole). This can sometimes lead to misunderstandings (as in, we didn't realise breakfast cost extra, and we were presented with a rather large bill at the end of the week). The resort is excellent for families, but again, if your child doesn't speak German, they may find it hard making friends. The hotel could also do with air conditioning, as the daytime temperatures were reaching 32 degs. when we left. As it was a new annex we were staying in, you would have thought that they'd have fitted it.
Overall, Velden is a beautiful place to visit, with the Hotel Barry-Memle being a great place to stay
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Jasper L wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe airco’s in the rooms"
Read full review
Danjel T wrote a tip May 2023
8 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For relax and more calmly atmosphere you better chose May or June. If you want to experiense more attractions and sports, go for July-Aug."
Read full review
Bunny m wrote a tip Nov 2022
18 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Car parking tight if you’re in a wide one."
Read full review
e. buytenhuis wrote a tip Oct 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"It was our first time in Austria and we are very happy with our stay. Our apartment was very nice with everything we needed."
Read full review
daniela s wrote a tip Jul 2018
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"lake apartment"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Velden am Woerthersee area.
PRICE RANGE
£87 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaAustrian AlpsCarinthiaVelden am Woerthersee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL BARRY MEMLE LAKESIDE RESORT - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Nearby attractions include Strandbad Velden (0.3 miles), Casino Velden (0.4 miles), and Kurpark Velden (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Goritschniggs Lunch Am Tag & Steakhaus Am Abend, Landhaus Kutsche, and Seespitz Restaurant & Living.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Velden am Woerthersee.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Velden am Woerthersee HotelsVelden am Woerthersee Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Velden am WoertherseeHotels near Hotel Barry Memle Lakeside Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire