We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Haus Am See

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Haus Am See
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Haus Am See
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The USP of this hotel is its location right next to the lake. If you have a lake facing room, there is nothing like it. Waking up to the breathtaking view of the lake is a wonderful experience. It took us a while to get find the hotel, as its a bit off the main road. Even though the facade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11Manish86
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. Hotel is average nothing fancy, wooden furniture but it was cosy. They have a shower/bath and I was quite dissapointed when they told me there are bo bath plugs it's just for showering. What's the point of a bath then. Staff were okay, not too friendly but helpful if needed. At least it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia W
mfjg1967, Manager at Hotel Haus Am See, responded to this review

yours guest - according to your booking confirmation tourist tax and service charge has been confirmed to you on your booking confirmation by booking.com - the total amount has been 41,60 € (not nearly 50,- €) according to your notice it should not be surprising ! you obviously did not take notice about your booking confirmation ! all of our...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

We have already visited Einruhr 2 times, both of them in this hotel in Januari. I never write any reviews at all, but this time I thought I'd do it anyways. So we arrived at the hotel, (on the outside it looks like an older kind of villa, which looks quite cozy during wintertime!) And we were greeted by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruben M
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 January 2017

It took us a while to find the hotel as it is located a little off the main street. It started snowing once we arrive, as you can imagine it is really beautiful. We had time before check in at 3.00pm so we took a stroll around the vicinity. A quaint neighborhood. There are a couple of stables and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharnon
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The location of the hotel is just perfect. We were there in December when the surrounding mountains were already covered with snow. The hotel is located right on the bank of the lake and we had a room with a view to the lake. It was just amazing. The view from the room and the whole environment is perfectly calm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danielkapos
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 22 September 2016

There was really only one place to eat on this side of the lake - it was pleasant, OK food, and gorgeous outdoor dining view. The ferry stopped running at 4:30, so you have to drive 10 min. to "The Lahn," park and walk about 7-8 min. to a restaurant in Hallstatt. We didn't mind it too much, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustinRose
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I spent here one night at September as part of my trip to vienna. The location is perfect , you have a direct bus and ferry to Hallstatt. I liked the side of Obertraun more than the side of Hallstatt. The main attraction like Dachstein caves are very easy to reach from here. I liked travel at Hallstatt , and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Elizabet L
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewed 9 September 2016

First of all, Obertraun and Hallsatatt is a middle up touristic place. These 2 places even not listed in hostelworld! For friendlier budget, please go to Salzburg, and make day trip to hallstatt. But, still, Obertraun is better price than Hallstatt, and it is really close to Hallstatt. There are lots of choices to go to hallstatt village, while there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank soe_the_arts
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

The maneger's of the hotel is a couple... We come there from Israel to be a couple of nights near the lake... We order the most expensive room in the hotel. We arived one hour late and they left the key for us... In breakfast time he come to our table and start screem on us in the front from...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Milana G
mfjg1967, Inhaber at Hotel Haus Am See, responded to this review

First of all you did not make a reservation at our hotel. You were staying illegal in the hotel. Even booking.com did not give you the possibiliy ot make a review. The booking was made of a friend of you for 2 nights stayment - your friend did not sign your name that you will arrive - the key was...

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Temperamental and rude unfriend Owner l!! The lake view was fabulous. Other than that, I won't recommend this hotel to anyone. Book this hotel only at your own risk. The owner will do everything to turn your stay into a nightmare.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank רון קלנר R
mfjg1967, Inhaber at Hotel Haus Am See, responded to this review

You were staying illegal in our Hotel - At the next day we were calling the Police as you did not sign your passport to the Hotel until 12 a.m. - you still try to give bad Reputation to the Hotel - you should be ashamed about yourself - you are a liar ! You can find our detailed answer...

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obertraun
1.4 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#2 of 16 in Hallstatt
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Hotel Haus Am See

Address: Obertraun 169 | 4831 Obertraun, Obertraun 4831, Austria
Region: Austria > Upper Austria > Obertraun
Price Range: £77 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haus Am See 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Haus Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Haus Am See staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Haus Am See staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake View Room”
 of 5 bubbles Sharnon, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with lake-view, all of them will impress you”
  • This is only a fraction of the 150-160° panorama from the balcony, you can even see it from the
 of 5 bubbles danielkapos, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view room; Wi-Fi was not good in our room.”
 of 5 bubbles AustinRose, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“lake view is awesome!! Even without toilet inside, at least they have shower. I don't need toilet a lot, though”
 of 5 bubbles soe_the_arts, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lake view essential”
 of 5 bubbles Dyrck, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5