We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Domaine La Butte aux Bois

Save
Share
Paalsteenlaan 90, Lanaken 3620 Belgium
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$205
View Deal
eDreamsUS$205
Expedia.comUS$263
Hotels.comUS$263
TravelocityUS$263
Orbitz.comUS$263
CheapTicketsUS$263
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (630)
Room & Suite (134)
Dining (67)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Lanaken
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Looking for a place to stay in Lanaken? Then look no further than Domaine La Butte aux Bois, a luxury hotel that brings the best of Lanaken to your doorstep.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Domaine La Butte aux Bois offer a flat screen TV, a minibar, and air conditioning.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a concierge and room service. Guests of Domaine La Butte aux Bois are also welcome to enjoy a pool and a lounge, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available.

While you’re here, be sure to check out Filling Station, one of the Mexican restaurants that can be found in Lanaken, which is a short distance from Domaine La Butte aux Bois.

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Waterburcht Pietersheim (1.1 mi), which is a popular Lanaken attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Domaine La Butte aux Bois as you experience everything Lanaken has to offer.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Bicycle tours
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Doorperson
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
650Reviews1Q+A31Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 472
  • 128
  • 29
  • 10
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
sydney t wrote a review Oct 2020
9 contributions3 helpful votes
Honestly shocked and disappointed at our stay here. The hotel was incredibly disorganized. I understand COVID-19 has disrupted a lot of operations in hotels and restaurants as I work in a large chained luxury hotel. I would first like to say I understand covid19 has created a lot of obstacles for this industry but it is not about the problem - it is how you manage the problem! We were really looking forward to a relaxing spa weekend with room service and all kinds of pampering and great food except we got none of the above! On VERY short notice to our stay the hotel sent out a lengthy email explaining all the procedures due to covid. In the email it explained that you had to make reservations for the pool, spa and restaurant. I had called the hotel immediately to ask if I could make a reservation for the spa to have some treatments and it was already fully booked or not available! That was extremely disappointing considering we booked THIS hotel just for the spa, and we couldn’t even enjoy it! I also asked about dinner and breakfast and the receptionist said that it would be fine to book when we arrived. We arrived for an early check in and luckily they had our room ready for us. We asked to book dinner and it was already fully booked, again extremely disappointed. We booked a time slot for the pool and hot tub and that was as far as our “spa weekend” went. Our room was also incredibly disappointing- having a tiny space squished into the basement of the villa with wall paper ripping off the bathroom walls and with an extremely cheap bathtub. The bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable with the room having very minimal natural light. My biggest disappointment by far had to be the room service menu. Even on the email it said that room service was no problem! I also stated that we would love a big breakfast in our room in the morning. When we arrived there was no sign of any menu. I went to reception and asked if he had a menu because there was none in the room and he looked startled and went to the back room. He had printed out on regular paper the menu and circled 1 start, 1 main and 1 dessert that we could order !!! I was shocked by this completely.. The hotel staff were very nice but lord help them
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Darthkatzs wrote a review Sep 2020
Blankenberge, Belgium12 contributions7 helpful votes
They really do what they advertise: make sure you have a relaxed stat. We stayed here for a short stay, but will be back for sure. We usually spa elsewhere, but tried this (based on recommendation) as our regular spa was fully booked. It's much bigger than our usual spa, but does not fail to provide a personal service. The food was amazing and the staff was very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. Will be back for sure!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Martinelli, Gastenservice/Front Office at Domaine La Butte aux Bois
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Dear Darthkatzs, What a nice feedback ! Thank you very much for your lovely words. We look forward in welcoming you again in de near future. With gastronomic regards, Laura Martinelli - Team La Butte aux Bois Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Sjaak V wrote a review Sep 2020
Breda, The Netherlands31 contributions7 helpful votes
We had a two night stay at the villa of La Butte aux Bois. And we enjoyed every minute of it! Great rooms with even better beds. We used the possibility to use the spa, which had to reserved due to corona. The treatments were all full unfortunately, for a next time we have to request this a bit earlier. We had a dinner at the Bistro since La Source was already fully booked but this seemed not to be a disappointment. Staff was very friendly and helped wherever they could. Only thing was that during the last night the airco seized working so it became uncomfortably warm in our room, which lead to a interrupted night’s sleep. This was mentioned during the check out but understandably there is not much to do at that point. I still have the intention to dine at La Source at some point and for sure you will see me again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Martinelli, Gastenservice/Front Office at Domaine La Butte aux Bois
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Dear Mr TravelwithSjaak, First of all we would like to thank you for your stay at our Domaine ! It is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay that much, thank you for your nice feedback! We look forward in welcoming you again in the future. Very kind regards, Laura Martinelli - Team La Butte aux Bois Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Mr Jacques wrote a review Aug 2020
Bruges, Belgium6 contributions2 helpful votes
We went for our 5 years anniversary. I saw a lot of good reviews and the Relais & Chateaux standard, so top and that's why we went there. And I know quality is a snapshot but at that level you expect something else. The basic service for a guest must be tip top with that "something extra" that we have not experienced; and that is what you expect in such a hotel ... and in times that the hospitality sector is suffering. Bon, nevertheless it will always be full... The stay; we notified of late arrival and that we wanted to eat something small. Arrival was at 9pm, very good reception but a bit later it turned out that we couldn't eat anymore, not inside and not on the terrace, just some snacks being "bitter balls" and desserts from the bistro menu. For a moment we considered driving on to the nearby village the buy some french fries (frietkot) as we where hungry. Next morning we had breakfast on the beautiful terrace with water sprinklers' noice constantly beating in the background, which spoiled a beautiful view, peace, calm and quietness, those sprinklers were there the whole day long, day and evening. The cup of tea of my wife was with caked muck, at first we thought it was a drawing in the cup; but as the cup became empty we saw that the "drawing" disappeared as well. We had dinner in the Bistro; having to wait 30 minutes at table before someone was asking for a drink. When the Maitre came we actually just wanted to leave to go somewhere else for dinner, outside the Hotel. We stayed for dinner but had snacks without drinks, had to ask for wine or else we got our appetizer without drinks. Fork and knife of my wife again with caked chunks, no spoon for the soup when serving soup. My wife asked for soup without eel but got it anyway in the end etc. At our neighbors table, main dish was served while appetizer was still on the table etc., they also got their wine with dessert instead of the mean course. In the end we got some real nice wines as compensation, but the atmosphere was set; At such a place you shouldn't feel that there is service, here you get irritated and I wasn't the only one ! and this for our 5 year celebration... But, very nice location, very good infrastructure, good food and very friendly, obliging staff; only one expects from a hotel that wants to participate at top level other achievements. The expected services do not meet the expectations of that service level. You come here to enjoy the peace and quiet as a guest and not to annoy you that you don't get drinks, empty glasses, dirty service, noise of sprinklers at your apero and breakfast, hardly anything to eat at arrival etc. -> No work organization, very slow service, very poor operational follow-up. Putting my complaints also on mail to the Hotel, I never had a reaction... Quality is a snapshot with a bad timing ? On this level no excuses.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Martinelli, Gastenservice/Front Office at Domaine La Butte aux Bois
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Dear Mr Jacques, First of all we would like to thank you for your stay at our Domaine. We also would like to thank you for your elaborate feedback on TripAdvisor. We really would like to apologize for your negative experience at La Butte aux Bois. It's a pitty we never received your email sent to us, as mentioned in your feedback, right after your stay at the end of July. We would have been able to speak on a personal base about your points. We looked in our spam and other inboxes, unfortunately nothing was found under your email or name. I did retrieve your reservation with its details so I sent you an email last Saturday (15/08), maybe you did not have the chance to read it yet. We sincerely would like to apologize again as this is not the way we normally serve our guests. We are very surprised about the points you mention, this is not the way it should be ! We can assure you. Hopefully we can speak on a personal level very soon so we can try to learn from your points and make up for your stay. My details are mentioned in the email I sent last Saturday. With kind regards, Laura Martinelli - Team La Butte aux Bois Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Paul S wrote a review Feb 2020
Utrecht, The Netherlands92 contributions33 helpful votes
For our 10th wedding anniversary we booked 2 nights in a new part of the hotel (La Villa). From the moment we arrived until we left two days later we were treated like VIP guests; a glass of Cava when we checked in, a bottle in our room with congratulations and all the time very friendly and hospitable staff. The staff made the difference; very polite but not too formal. Great shower in our bedroom, space, good bed. All excellent. Breakfast was amazing with large and very complete buffet. But also a la carte for eggs, pancakes and French toast. Beautiful domain in a national park, close to centre of Maastricht and a great Spa. We had a fantastic time
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Laura Martinelli, Gastenservice/Front Office at Domaine La Butte aux Bois
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Paul S, Thank you for choosing La Butte aux Bois for your special anniversary. The feedback you give in your review is really heartwarming, our staff is always trying to give our guests the best feeling possible during their stay. So thank you for your kind words! We sincerely hope to welcome you soon again at our nice domaine. With kind regards Laura Martinelli Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$188 - US$551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BelgiumFlandersLimburg ProvinceLanaken
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Domaine La Butte aux Bois
What are some of the property amenities at Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant La Source, Los Argentinos, and Le Bistrot at La Butte aux Bois.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Domaine La Butte aux Bois offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Domaine La Butte aux Bois?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boekhandel Dominicanen (4.6 miles), Helpoort (4.9 miles), and Sint Janskerk (4.7 miles).
Does Domaine La Butte aux Bois have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.