We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Dom Joao II

Show Prices
#5 of 26 Hotels in Alvor
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pestana Dom Joao II
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,206: English reviews
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at hotel for five nights on a golfing holiday .The hotel was perfectly positioned for the courses we played on . The hotel is a little dated but nice enough , rooms were small and again a little dated but clean . The best part of the room was the shower . We stayed bed and breakfast, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voodootattoo
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Mr."voodootattoo", Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with certain aspect of the staff service and more importantly, that a warm and friendly environment was not transpired throughout your stay on one occasion. We obviously failed on this occasion and for this we must apologize. Please rest...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

One of the best hotels I've stayed in for a long time stayed in the Dom Joa 11 with 15 friends on a Golfing holiday and the staff couldn't be nicer & more helpful if they tried excellent food great rooms 5 minutes from town centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davyhill1966 H
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Mr."Davyhill1966 H", With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. Thank you for staying at the Pestana D.João II and we are looking forward for your next visit . Our kind regards João Martins/Algarve Area Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Love the hotel . We always go to a resort for golfers and the non golfers in our group. The hotel caters for us and arrange transport to the golf courses and payment for the golf days . We who don't play golf can walk ( via a few bars ) to shops etc. It is truly ideal for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifer l
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. "jennifer l", We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Algarve and to the Pestana D.João II Hotel, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again. Kind regards, João Martins/Algarve...

Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a Dom Joao 2 deluxe style villas through our travel agent. We had an upper villa (more like a cottage flat/4 in a block). There were two bedrooms, bathroom kitchen diner, sitting room and very small balcony. The furnishing was a little sparse as with some rentals and for newly renovate, it was already tired. The balcony of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GlasgowWinelover
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Mr "GlasgowWinelover" Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t meet at all your expectations in certain areas . Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Looking forward to have you back in order to be able to correspond to your expectations Kindest regards João Martins |...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very average hotel that actually feels like a multi story motel and is basically a low end, run of the mill hotel in Alvor. The location is fine, but not great if you go in the low season, which is understandable. It is a ghost town around there and almost depressing. It gave this reviewer the feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Millard112
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your feedback on your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenient caused and would very much like to be able to have you back in our hotel in order to change the negative impression you have. Should you consider a trip to the hotel please let us know...

rhyl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

3rd time I've stayed here and as per normal the service and hotel are excellent,fantastic breakfast selection and the beach is stunning.the local amenities are 10 minutes walk away and there is a lovely little harbour front.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simonRhyl
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our services and staff in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is highly important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We thank you again for the great remarks and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

some pretty gushing reviews of this hotel earlier...not sure why really. Now there really is nothing wrong with the hotel........ I would call it "suitably adequate for our needs", but not much more. Room was basic, but clean, a smallish functional bathroom, with a curious window looking into the bedroom (there was a blind) Breakfast was OK... lots of choice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Back9Bailey
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your feedback on your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenient caused and would very much like to be able to have you back in our hotel in order to change the negative impression you have. Should you consider a trip to the hotel, please let us know...

Bude, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely room, excellent customer service and good breakfast but unfortunately our lasting memory will be having the worst coffee we have had since being in Portugal. I know its only coffee but to start the day with this bad experience really spoilt our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sharoncaro
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met your expectations concerning the coffee. We look forward to welcome you again. With kind regards, João Martins | Director Área Algarve / Algarve Area Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is really nice, the staff are great and it is right on the beach. Food is quite good but would recommend going bed and breakfast and eating in the town as it is really cheap to eat out. It's a bit of a walk to the town about 5 - 10 mins but that's the trade off for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnpatrick2012
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Dom João II Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to the Algarve. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Portugal João Martins | Director Área Algarve /...

Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is not near 4 star ... very disappointed ...so many things lacking Rooms should have Hairdryer.Tea/coffee facilities. Better quality towels Restaurant is of a very poor standard ,food like warm, decor needs complete updates before e son really gets started This hotel group instead of polite answers from mmanagement .. It would be better to see these changes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lissadell
Manager_DJoaoII, Gestor at Pestana Dom Joao II, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to gives us your feedback on your stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenient caused and would very much like to be able to have you back in our hotel in order to change the negative impression you have. Should you consider a trip to the hotel, please let us know...

1,093 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (627)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (60)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
2:43
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (202)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (447)
Viewed
Amenities (62)
Viewed
Beach (17)
Viewed
Kids Pool (7)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (34)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Dining (85)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Sea View Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Apartment (80)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Apartment (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alvor hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
0.3 mi away
Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Luna Alvor Village
Luna Alvor Village
#3 of 26 in Alvor
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Alvor Atlantico
0.6 mi away
Alvor Baia Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Pestana Dom Joao II

Address: Marginal de Alvor s/n, Alvor, Portimao 8500-021, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Alvor
Price Range: £39 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Dom Joao II 4*
Number of rooms: 384
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Dom Joao II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Hotel Alvor
Pestana Dom Joao Ii Alvor
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Alvor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alvor
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Alvor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alvor
#5 Family Hotel in Alvor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Dom Joao II staff and other travellers.
96 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (96)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Dom Joao II staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very central. Sea views available.”
 of 5 bubbles N7930GWjenniferl, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If choosing a villa, go for an upper one as you get more sun and a bit of view”
 of 5 bubbles GlasgowWinelover, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a sea room - stunning”
 of 5 bubbles sharoncaro, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you get a refurbished room or Villa. The rooms above the restaurant and bar are more noisy. The higher you go the better.”
 of 5 bubbles Wokie231, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 423 (ours) 0r the fifth floor rooms are classed as superior rooms with sea view and require a suplement but the are worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles 431geoffreyw, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5