The Bridge Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Bridge Hotel

Terrace overlooking the river
Traveller (376)
Spacious & comfortable bedrooms
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (55)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#1 of 4 hotels in Chertsey
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Chertsey? Then look no further than Bridge Hotel, Chertsey, a family-friendly small hotel that brings the best of Chertsey to your doorstep.

Rooms at Bridge Hotel, Chertsey provide a flat screen TV, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Bridge Hotel, Chertsey guests have access to room service. You can also enjoy a lounge. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Bridge Hotel, Chertsey.

While staying at Bridge Hotel, Chertsey, visitors can check out Great Cockcrow Railway (1.6 mi), which is a popular Chertsey attraction.

While in Chertsey be sure to experience local ribs favourites at Fin's Bar and Grill, The Boat House Restaurant, or The Golden Grove & Gladiatori Restaurant.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Bridge Hotel, Chertsey as you experience everything Chertsey has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Room features
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Bridge Road, Chertsey KT16 8JZ England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 37 out of 100
37
Heathrow Airport
Gatwick Airport
20.9 mi
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 0.75 miles
1,200Review3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 396
  • 348
  • 237
  • 114
  • 107
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris D wrote a review Oct 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went for dinner on Saturday 2nd October. The greeting staff were so friendly when showing us to our table, which I had requested was away from any direct heat like open fires or radiators. Our table was perfectly placed. We have been there on two previous occasions, but not for the last 2 years. We went straight for the mains. We ordered the Bridge burger (not sure if that's the correct name) with fries, and from the specials menu the beef rib. The burger was very nice, but instead of the salad being inside the burger which it was, it would have been nice to have just a little salad on the plate, even just for colour, as the plate looked very bare and without colour, an unappetising appearance. The chips were probably the best we have tasted - ever. The beef rib was delicious, and it fell off the bone, and it was so tender. Downside was it was soaked in a thick sauce, whilst delicious, was quite sickly. It would have been better if it had been in a dish on the side. It came with red cabbage which was lovely, and compressed potato, also very nice. Re the sauce, probably not a lot they could do if the beef was cooked in the sauce.

We then ordered apple and berry fruit crumble with ice cream. I would have preferred the ice cream to be separate and not put on top of the pudding, which was extremely hot, and obviously it melted into nothing! It was a very tasty desert despite this.
The atmosphere was perfect, not too bright, seating aplenty and music not too loud, even though we had a speaker in the corner right by us, it was a comfortable volume. The decor and furnishings are very comfortable and stylish. We loved it. Cost was just over £60 for 2 main dishes, 2 deserts, 2.5 pints of beer and 1 coke. Very reasonable. All in all, a great night out and we will definitely be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Didn't stay here - for dinner only
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
thebotleys wrote a review Jul 2020
Staines, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked an outdoor table but as it was rainy we were relocated inside. The conservatory was spacious and we opened the windows over the river. We downloaded the Youngs App but the staff said they would take our order at the table in the usual way. The paper menus looked freshly printed. The vegetarian options were limited. The plant based burger was very tasty. The drinks and food were bought to the edge of the table and the payment was contactless by card. It looked like some tables had been removed to create more space and the entrance and exit routes were clearly marked. The staff were friendly and helpful. It felt safe but would have been even better if the waiting staff had worn masks and gloves when serving tables.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AT190 wrote a review May 2021
Marlow, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for places to stay travelling on a boat up the Thames.
The Bridge is located right on a small spur from the River with easy mooring.
The hotel rooms with a nice view on the Thames are good value and provide all that is required and are clean comfortable albeit simply furnished.
The restaurant where breakfast , lunch and dinner as well as coffee and drinks is lovely with a beautiful terrace on the river.
The menu has a good selection and the quality of food and service is excellent
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leobolly wrote a review Mar 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Since my last visit here a couple of years ago, when i left a 'mixed bag' review, I have to say there has been a big upgrade with both the accommodation & food. The whole interior bar & eating area has been renovated since my last visit, now giving it a much more spacious & contemporary look - this is a big improvement.
I must also compliment the chef/kitchen on the Ploughmans Sharing Platter i ordered - this was truly delicious!!
The rooms are still very well kept (...........maybe the bathroom/shower is in need of an upgrade), and they now have Sky TV as standard in all rooms - whoop whoop!!.
I will now 100% return here again soon, when next working in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BND wrote a review Aug 2020
Dronfield, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at this hotel after a busy day at Thorpe Park with the hope of a relaxing stay and finding a local hotel to the park for us to stop in on our regular visits to the park.

We booked through Booking.com and had received booking confirmation and also other communication regarding us arriving to check in at 6pm. Upon arrival, the lady said she couldn't find our booking on the system and even after me showing my confirmations etc, she said we weren't booked in. Luckily, she managed to find us a room and had us checked in as quickly as possible.

We got to our room (204) and I was gobsmacked. The sign outside advertised 'luxury rooms', I don't know how long that sign has been there because these rooms were far from luxury. The carpet was frayed, dusty and dirty. The 'wardrobe' had dead spiders in and were equally dirty. I looked out of the doors to see the "Thames view" and was greeted by layers of cobwebs, spiders and a view of a campsite and trees with the Thames hidden behind. The bathroom was dirty, dated and the bath was covered in limescale, rust and dirt.

After going out for tea, I looked out of the doors yet again to see the glass riddled with bugs and spiders, which somehow found their way into the room.

Despite all this, massive thanks to the young guy on reception in the evening, he went above and beyond to search every empty room and the cleaning cupboard for a spare fan for us as the room was absolutely boiling. He told us that management were going to put air-con in the rooms but have postponed until next year - I think this was a big mistake as I got about 4 hours sleep all night due to the heat. But grateful to the guy for his efforts and customer service.

I understand that the room was only £70, so don't expect the luxury but the room wasn't clean and this should be the basic essentials and priorities for a room. Luckily due to the heat, we slept on top of the duvet as I wouldn't of wanted to get in the bed.

This hotel has great potential in a good location for the theme park and surrounding areas but it needs a revamp and new cleaners!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid room 204.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annalise wrote a review Aug 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
First time away this year for myself and my son, choose this hotel due to it being close to Brooklands museum.
We had a cold and disinterested welcome from the person on the front desk, got to our room and the plug sockets didn't work. Was told you had to switch things on in a particular order (?) Anyhow, we were able to switch rooms. Second room had a lovely view but was incredibly dusty. Bathroom was tired and grubby with loose floor tiles and in serious need of a deep clean.
My son and I did not sleep the first night due to the bed being uncomfortable, and he begged me to drive home late on the second night, which I did.
Going by previous reviews none of these issues are new. Most of the problems would be inexpensive to fix but none seem to have been addressed.
By contrast the attached restaurant is well looked after although the menu choice is quite limited. However, the young staff in there seemed more interested in each other rather than their guests. Still, the food was delicious and the view whilst we ate was fab.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hogg, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Hello, Respectfully we do indeed care about the experience our customers have and any issues they experience. If that is the experience that you came away with them I am sorry. I believe on balance that we offer a good product at a good price. Yes we have some issues with the rooms and fix then when they arise. The electrics are something we have had issues with and do rectify. But maintenance is a continuous effort in a commercial building. We are part of Young’s and took over The Bridge in 2018 and have been trying steadily to improve the business, however due to the pandemic have been held back. I am sorry that you did not find the beds comfortable, but new Hypnos matrasses were one area that we invested in. Installing new mattresses just two years ago in all our rooms, along with sky television in all rooms. I am glad that you enjoyed our bar and restaurant along with the food. Our menu is a good size and allows us to keep the food fresh. I will make sure that the staff are aware of your comments and rectify. Thanks you for the feedback. Kind regards, Paul Hogg, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amazingsue wrote a review Jun 2022
Augusta, Maine
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The people were very nice but the rooms were tired and quite in need of a clean. We asked for a room with an air conditioner and cleaner so was put on second floor but instead of four nights only was able to stay two nights as they had rented all the rooms. So we ended up going to a Hilton for the same price. Safe was broken they had to fix it. Bathroom had long hair in shower neither my husband or i have long hair.

Shower had no hot water and only a trickle of cold . So one day we went without showers and washed up in sink these were newly refurbished rooms the next day they sent a maintenance man up and he said he would have to go down and fix the boiler. Once he did we had hot water and the day before we left he fixed the safe 😂
Our friends stayed in an old room and she said it was filthy.
Top floor has very little WiFi I don’t think they have extenders.

The best thing was the girl that served breakfast she was really pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Book newly renovated rooms second floor only
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Youngs Pubs, Owner at The Bridge Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to respond, it was unfortune you weren't happy with some elements of your stay. Originally you had booked a classic room which does not have air condition. You then asked if you could upgrade to a room which did have air condition. We were able to accommodate this but only for a certain number of nights as we were fully booked on the other nights you required. Regarding the water our maintenance man looked at the boiler, but found no issue. There was also no issues in any other rooms, what we did find was the thermostat controller on the shower was in the wrong position. Respectfully I do feel that there was some miscommunication over this. Regarding the safe, it was not broken, the pervious guest had locked it so we had to get an unlock code, sorry for the inconvenience. It's regrettable that you had disappointing elements of your stay, however I do feel the staff looked after you and addressed any issues that you raised. I would like to thank you for staying with us and leaving some comments. Kind Regards Paul Hogg General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
London09Watford wrote a review May 2021
Chesham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The parking was adequate although there was no room on the bottom so we had to park on top which was OK as it seemed to have more space also the lower space was quite dark and in need of more lighting.

Check in was fast and efficient. We stayed in room 209 which gave us a lovely view of the car park I had asked if possible at booking as it was our 15th wedding anniversary if they could give us a room with a view to make it special but alas this quite obviously wasn't possible. The room was large the main light wasn't working but this was not a problem as the other lights were adequate and gave enough light. The toilet seat was wobbly but the rest of the bathroom was fine. We enjoyed a nice quiet nights sleep on a comfortable bed.

In the morning we went down for breakfast was greeted and taken to a table overlooking the Thames which was nice, the only problem was that it wasn't clear from the menu what you could or couldn't have with the included breakfast cost of the room. We were asked what drink we wanted tea or coffee but I noticed another table had fruit juices and so asked the server whether they were included and they were. Again had to ask about breakfast what we could and couldn't have they were lovely and said we could have anything on the breakfast menu. The breakfast was nice apart from the weird bean concoction. Instead of black pudding I asked for an extra sausage and this was exchanged with no fuss. I asked for another coffee after I had finished my first and it took 15 minutes to arrive I actually thought she'd forgotten me. After the breakfast I asked for additional toast and marmalade she left to see if this was possible and never returned to confirm again another 10 minutes later she returned with two slices of toast, butter and some marmalade but no knife she said she would bring one after 5 minutes I gave up waiting and used the back of a teaspoon to spread the butter and marmalade as you can imagine this wasn't the easiest of things to do, she did not return with a knife. Now I don't know if this was due to COVID restrictions but it was frustrating none the less. The big question is would we return and the answer unfortunately is no we wouldn't.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
thamestraveller wrote a review Aug 2021
london
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Group of 8 had a 2 night post lockdown break here and I booked 4 river view rooms. The bookings were all made by myself, at the same time and confirmed under one booking reference. However, when we checked in, we were given rooms over 3 floors, not near each other as I would have expected. This wasn’t a major problem but, unfortunately, one of the rooms was on the ground floor where the rooms are very different from those on floors 1 and 2. The higher rooms are very nice with Juliet balconies overlooking the river with double glass doors giving the rooms a bright, airy feel. The rooms on the ground floor have small windows, letting little light in making the rooms quite dull. The river can be seen but from over peoples heads dining on the terrace outside. I queried why we didn’t all get the same standard of room as we were all booked together to be told they allocate rooms by name only, not by booking reference (?). All our rooms cost the same but the experience and enjoyment were vastly different - the ground floor should be in a different category to the higher rooms and definitely cheaper. On a positive note the hotel is warm and welcoming with a really nice bar and dining area and terrace. We ate dinner in the hotel on the first night and it was not very good with at least 3 of our party saying it was terrible. Those who had breakfast said it was good but huge (some would like that!). We ate elsewhere the next night but, returning to the hotel at about 10.30 pm the bar was closed and we were unable to get a last farewell drink (even though we were all residents - ?). Would I stay there again? Yes - but not in a ground floor room and not to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Hogg, General Manager at The Bridge Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave some feedback. I have read your critics and will take note. Regarding the food we serve. It is all fresh food and made on site. We are a very popular venue with many returning customers. Without knowing what your party found wrong with the food then it’s difficult to comment. I am sorry that you could not have a late drink, however we do not advertise a late night residence bar. For our location and size it is not something that would be of a benefit to run. I am glad that you would stay again and appreciate the comments. Kind regards, Paul Hogg General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nicolannes76 wrote a review Jun 2021
Long Melford, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived quite late at 8.30pm after a long journey on a Friday night to stay one night, as a stop over in lieu of attending Thorpe Park, ( old but young at heart! ). We also booked the restaurant.

What a pleasant surprise this restaurant and hotel is! As we all know one night stop overs don’t hold much in the way of expectations so I was not expecting a lot. But how wrong could I be!

The room was modern , clean with great shampoo / shower gel (so don’t bring any) The bed rivals the renowned Hypnos beds ,both my partner and I are 6ft plus and we felt small in it.

On arrival a one way system and all measures are in place to ensure all is covid safe , in both the hotel and restaurant.

In the restaurant Mark ,the maitre d could not have been more accommodating, friendly or amazing. Helping us to great table on the balcony overlooking the river ,assisting with food options and just providing a wonderfully personable, friendly service.
We were also served by Trish and Carla who with their bright smiles ( evident even through a mask!) and conversation were lovely and added to the great service and experience.

We ate the Camembert sharer and just wow! This was followed by the mussels special and sausage and mash with tender stem broccoli. I can not tell you enough how delicious and amazing this food was. From the presentation to the taste all were of a high standard. Thank you chefs!

Previous reviews mentioned dirty tables which I find a little unfair. The current restrictions mean all service is table service only. This adds greater stress and work to the hospitality industry. In a busy restaurant it is inevitable some tables may be late being cleared and sure those waiting for their food would rather eat than watch tables being cleared. However, I can honestly say I watched the staff here clear and clean quickly and efficiently.

As we all know hospitality has suffered this last year with varied restrictions on how they operate meaning some restaurants offer a limited menu. It was so refreshing to enjoy the freedom of a full menu with specials , reasonably priced and not feeling like we were a health risk. It just felt like the old days , being out enjoying a lovely meal.

As I said at the beginning this hotel and restaurant was a very pleasant surprise and we will certainly use it again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie M asked a question Jan 2022
Do you allow dogs
AT190 asked a question Apr 2021
Marlow, United Kingdom332 contributions174 helpful votes
Are you dog friendly ? Can I book a room including a dog?
Answer from Hao2014
Waltham, United Kingdom21 contributions10 helpful votes
Sorry have no idea Have to phone the hotel i guest
David & Gemma wrote a tip Yesterday
Llandysul, United Kingdom25 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Undercover & gated parking (token opened barrier) nice feature. Rooms not too noisy considering a huge restaurant & bar area in ground floor"
Read full review
Belinda S wrote a tip 9 Jun
Bristol, United Kingdom18 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe go elsewhere for breakfast "
Read full review
Keith R wrote a tip May 2024
Enfield, United Kingdom1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bathroom a little small"
Read full review
Tim B wrote a tip May 2024
London, United Kingdom14 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can not be improved."
Read full review
LesleyA559 wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom32 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for Thorpe Park and Chertsey."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chertsey area.
PRICE RANGE
£95 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSurreyChertsey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BRIDGE HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bridge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bridge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dumsey Meadow (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bridge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Bridge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bridge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bridge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kasalong Thai Restaurant Chertsey, The Kingfisher, and Joe's Cafe.
Is The Bridge Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Chertsey.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bridge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Anne’s Well (4.6 miles).
Does The Bridge Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is The Bridge Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chertsey HotelsChertsey Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChertseyHotels near The Bridge Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire