We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Crubenbeg House Falls of Truim Falls of Truim, Newtonmore PH20 1BE Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$107
View deal
Hotels.com
US$117
View deal
TravelocityUS$117
Agoda.comUS$117
Orbitz.comUS$117
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 13 in Newtonmore
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Set amid stunning scenery, Crubenbeg Country House is a relaxing haven, ideally located for the many activities here in the Highlands of Scotland. Delightful, spacious bedrooms, a splendid lounge with crackling fire and fine wines, beers and malts all combine with a warm welcome to ensure that you enjoy your stay to the full. Hearty home made breakfasts with full Scottish, pancake stacks, speciality porridge, cranachan, home made yogurt and bread to set you up for the day. A 3-course fixed dinner menu is provided for those who wish to sample the delights of our home cooking.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Bar / lounge
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Romantic
243Reviews1Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
angela w wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Lucy and Dan made us feel very welcome and the food was delicious!! And great conversations!! We had dinner included with our ‘buyagift’ voucher. Totally enjoyed our night stay and will definitely return in the future. Thank you again
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Jen K wrote a review Apr 2022
United Kingdom2 contributions
My partner and I had a wonderful couple of nights staying at Dan and Lucy's guesthouse. The place is cosy and clean with generous sized rooms (we stayed in the Stag Room). The homecooked breakfasts were delicious and set us up nicely for a day of exploring the Cairngorms, not least as it snowed whilst we were there. Their beautiful dogs gave us warm welcomes and Dan and Lucy were so helpful and offering local tips. We would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Crubenbeg Country House, Owner at Crubenbeg House
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Thank you for your lovely review and am pleased that you enjoyed your time exploring the Cairngorms experiencing it in all it's natural glory in the snow!! It was a real pleasure having you to stay and we enjoyed your company whilst here and know that your 'buddies' (the dogs!) certainly enjoyed all your attention. If you are ever re-visiting this part of the country it would be great to see you again. All the very best Lucy, Dan, Skye & Tali
Read more
Matt wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Made to feel so very welcome. Room was clean spacious and furnished to a high standard. Dinner was excellent and the breakfast was superb (even catering for my Gluten Intolerance). Highly recommend and we will rebook whenever we are back in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Have dinner here, homemade and wholesome food await!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Crubenbeg Country House, Owner at Crubenbeg House
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Thank for your review and am pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially after such a long day on the road! Am glad that we were able to cater for you - we like to make sure that our guests are well fed whilst on their travels! Also hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and if you are ever heading this way again, it would be a pleasure to see you both. Lucy & Dan
Read more
Ed wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Lucy, david Skye and tally really made us feel welcome and constantly cooked delicious 2/3 course breakfasts to start us on the days exploring. We visited in jan for skiing, we missed snow but had plenty of other activities/beautiful scenery to enjoy as a family, + David and Lucy’s knowledge of the area helped ensure we made the most of our long weekend… Thanks team - it’s a beautiful home
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
janeyflintshire wrote a review Jan 2022
7 contributions5 helpful votes
We enjoyed our two night stay at Crubenbeg House, in fact it is one of the nicest places we have stayed in Scotland having visited this part of the UK extensively over many years. We unfortunately needed to request a change to our booking due to a family bereavement and the owners could not have been more understanding and kindly agreed to move our booking. There is a lovely relaxing and friendly feel to this house and we enjoyed sitting by the fire sampling a single malt or two whilst chatting to the owners Dan and Lucy as well as other guests. Drinks are most reasonably priced and breakfast is a real feast ! I also think this would be a place someone could travel to on their own as there is a real sense of inclusion from the moment guests arrive - we very much hope to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: A selection of rooms are availble according to budget.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Crubenbeg Country House, Owner at Crubenbeg House
Responded 23 Jan 2022
Thank you for submitting such a nice review and so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves. It was lovely chatting to you too and we thoroughly enjoyed your company. Now you know where we are it would be our pleasure to see you gain sometime! Take care and all the best Lucy & Dan
Read more
Emma W wrote a review Dec 2021
12 contributions2 helpful votes
stopped off here on our journey around Scotland, owners were very welcoming and the dogs were too, room was nice bedding and towels were lovley and clean and the shower was fantastic , breakfast was very nice and you could have as much as you wanted ,
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Justin S wrote a review Nov 2021
Bourne, United Kingdom255 contributions142 helpful votes
We were only looking at an overnight stay for a our trip into the very top of the highlands, and booked Crubenbeg as it was so convenient. It turns out it’s so much more!! Really well placed and easy to get to, a great setting giving you a taste of what’s to come further into Scotland. Crubenbeg has some fabulous walks and scenery on its doorstep. Then there’s the house, hosts, and stay…….. they’ve thought of everything. The rooms are immaculate, large, incredibly comfortable. We had a fantastic nights sleep. Dinner we ate there, and had a ‘surprise’ 3 course meal made freshly by the owners, and it was superb, absolutely delicious. Breakfast……. I’ve never raved about yoghurt and granola….. but DAMN that was good!! We’ll be coming back here again, and use Crubenbeg as a base instead of a stop off next time. I cannot recommend it enough!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Crubenbeg Country House, Owner at Crubenbeg House
Responded 5 Dec 2021
Thank you so very much for such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here including dinner and breakfast. Our 'Breakfast Cranachan' (yoghurt & granola) will definitely have a permanent place on our breakfast menu! We really enjoyed your company and it will our pleasure to have you back any time. All the best - Lucy & Dan
Read more
Ffs wrote a review Oct 2021
16 contributions7 helpful votes
I write a review which wasntnpublished for some reason? I booked crubenbeg and asked for confirmation but didnt receive it. Three weeks later I asked again, but no reply. I finally get an email from Lucy asking me for my phone numbers Asap b4 I can get confirmation, so I email it immediately. Six days later I get a confirmation email but the £60 extra I was told it would cost now became £180. Lucy said there was confusion when I spoke to Dan and he told me it was £60, Lucy tried to blame buyagift and even though it was in there that breakfast was included, she now also wanted an extra £10 per night for breakfast. Lucy said if I didn’t want to stay there now she would refund my vouchers, after cashing them in. I had to contact buyagift myself as Lucy washed her hands. To tripple your prices after you cash my vouchers in, then let me sort it myself is disgusting. My husband is a pensioner and I don’t work, we can not magic up £180, especially when this trip was part of a month long U.K. & Scotland tour as we hadn’t been away in 2 years because of covid but also caring for my mother & brother in law who both passed away. This was my inheritance money, as everything has increased so much this was to be part of a relaxing holiday. You have put us under undue stress and anxiety, trying to get somewhere with 6 days notice while we had already started out trip was really uncalled for. You waited until it was too later and it was buyagift who helped us find somewhere suitable. SHAME on you CRUBENBEG for being so greedy, and you let our room before you replied to my email for a refund as my husband checked. Totally disgusted by your behaviour. You really should be ashamed of yourself.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Crubenbeg Country House, Owner at Crubenbeg House
Responded 7 Nov 2021
We would like to thank you for your review, even though you did not actually stay with us. We appreciate all our guests who actually visit us taking time to write reviews regarding their stay at Crubenbeg Country House. We understand that your original review was taken off by Trip adviser as it was deemed inappropriate, so we see you have written another one but it is interesting to see that there are so many discrepancies between the two reviews. Before we reply to all your concerns, we just wanted to say that the Buy a Gift vouchers in question are from an external 3rd party and have no relevance to our own room pricing. We also normally only accept one voucher per booking but we understand how difficult it has been during Covid for people to have a break so we agreed for you that we would accept your 3 vouchers. You mentioned that we gave you pricing on the phone and then changed it, this is in fact not correct. Before we know what the vouchers entitle you to, and any additional costs that may be applicable, we first need to redeem the vouchers with Buy a Gift. As such, we do not provide any pricing before we redeem vouchers to ensure it is all correct and to avoid any confusion. As you wanted multiple vouchers redeemed this does takes a while to get this all confirmed, and as not all information was provided by you in your original email, there was unfortunately some delay in processing your vouchers. On redeeming your vouchers, we found that these were short stay basic vouchers, which entitled you to our Capercaillie room on a bed only basis (breakfast not included). It is clearly stated on the Buy a Gift web site that “There is an added supplement to pay for breakfast”. In addition, you requested an upgraded room with an en-suite, which also has an additional daily cost due to the extra cleaning, heating etc. These additional costs are standard for any Buy a Gift guests staying with us. These costs were clearly outlined in the email sent back to you. Even with these additional costs there is still a significant discount from our standard room rates. We hope that you can appreciate that as a business we cannot work at a loss especially over the last year when the hospitality sector has been one of the hardest hit industries, this is where there are additional costs if guests wish to have any extras above what their voucher entitles them to. To note, we also kept our room rates at last year’s prices due to many people being furloughed to help them get a break. As you did not want to pay any additional costs you asked us to redeem your vouchers back to you which we were happy to do so. We did not ‘wash our hands’ of this as you mentioned, instead on your behalf we contacted Buy a Gift to get the vouchers redeemed back to you. However, we were told by Buy a Gift that due to the new GDPR (General Data Protection Regulations) we were not allowed to do this and this had to be done by the person who had the voucher. We informed you of this straight away so that you could use your vouchers elsewhere. Not sure why you are blaming us for passing on a message which was totally outside of our control and in line with data protection requirements, which everyone is required to abide by. As for your comment about reletting your room, this was not the case. We actually moved another guest from another room as they originally requested your room but were unable to have it. Without having access to our personal diary, you would not have known this so your have just made an incorrect presumption. We find it quite astounding that someone who actually did not stay with us, does not read the Buy a Gift information, did not actually experience our hospitality and blamed us for following GDPR requirements can write such an vindictive and hurtful review, especially when we have done our best to accommodate you. However, we do hope you managed to stay in the hotel in Norfolk that you wanted to book instead of staying with us.
Read more
Steve E wrote a review Oct 2021
Bristol, United Kingdom3 contributions
So glad I booked a stay here Lucy and Dan are perfect hosts welcoming friendly with plenty of local knowledge. Crubenbeg House is spotlessly clean throughout. The breakfast is delicious high quality with plenty to choose from. Highly recommend a stay here. Looking forward to going back to this little gem.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Niall H wrote a review Oct 2021
12 contributions7 helpful votes
Wonderful location with quite honestly the nicest hosts you could hope to meet. Dan & Lucy are a great team together and are superb cooks too, food is delicious. Comfortable , clean room with a few nice wee extras also. Loads to see and do in he area and all within just a few miles.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsAviemore and the CairngormsNewtonmore
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crubenbeg House
Which popular attractions are close to Crubenbeg House?
Nearby attractions include Clan Macpherson Museum (4.3 miles) and Harris Tweed Shop (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crubenbeg House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Crubenbeg House?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Crubenbeg House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crubenbeg House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Laggan Coffee Bothy and Gallery, Letterbox Restaurant, and The Glen Hotel Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Crubenbeg House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Crubenbeg House accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.