We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Upendo Beach

Save
Share
Michamvi Kae Road, Pingwe 1000 Tanzania
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (268)
Dining (22)
Room & Suite (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Pingwe
Travellers' Choice
Upendo Retreat - Zanzibar is a stylish boutique property located on one of Zanzibars most unique and beautiful beaches. It consists of luxury full-service villas both 1 bed (ideal for coupls/honeymooners) and family sized (5 bedroom) along with 2 traditional palm thatched double ensuite rooms. Upendo is a beautiful beachfront property with an excellent beachfront restaurant & bar. Its the very best of authentic barefoot, rustic chic on the beach!
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
Michamvi Kae Road, Pingwe 1000 Tanzania
Getting there
Kisauni Airport21 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
139Reviews4Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 26
  • 8
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Camille L wrote a review Aug 2021
Paris, France13 contributions5 helpful votes
We had lunch at Upendo and we were delighted. The new decoration of the place is perfect, new menu fresh with a lot of delicious options and the service really nice with smiling waiters! Definitely our new spot. Asante Sana
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Leen wrote a review Jun 2021
Amman, Jordan5 contributions
My husband and I spent two nights at Upendo Beach and the stay was wonderful. Once you arrive, you are welcomed with a fresh coconut juice and a warm and welcoming staff. What makes this place most special is the view of a pristine beach and The Rock Restaurant - a landmark on the island. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay, and the food was delicious. I particularly want to thank Theo for his support in organizing our activities and transfers; he’s the best!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
velizca wrote a review Apr 2021
Western Cape, South Africa6 contributions
Amazing view, great food and very hospitable. If your looking for true beach vibes then this is the place for you. Cocktails are pungent! Take a swim while you are waiting for your food or just chill out on their amazing loungers.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All card transactions have a 3% charge. Rather use cash
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Louise S wrote a review Apr 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates426 contributions100 helpful votes
+1
After an unfortunately bad hotel experience further along the beach, we were extremely grateful that Upendo had room available for us for a 3 night stay during our recent trip to Zanzibar. As we checked in we were greeted with a fresh coconut and the hotels guard doggies wagging their tail; it was bliss. Our room was available immediately as the staff had been in to make sure everything was perfect before we arrived back with our suitcases. Honestly, our room was world’s apart from the room we had just come from – but I don’t want to dwell on the previous hotel – all I can say is that Upendo was absolute heaven. Our villa was standalone and on the beachfront so when we opened the curtains we could only see the sand and sea. On the front patio area we had a gorgeous hanging double lounge bed which we spent most afternoons chilling on! Inside the room it was nice and light with lots of small windows covered by mosquito nets which meant we had lovely day light. The bathroom was one of the highlights of the room for us, it was huge. As you walked in, to the right hand side, just under the window was a lovely free standing bath followed by a Jack and Jill sink, the toilet and then the highlight, an outdoor open air shower! The shower had a waterfall shower head hanging from the ceiling; a huge piece of drift wood which was used for holding the complimentary shower gels and other toiletries but the best part of this shower was the plants and trees which had grown up the outside of the shower room and into the shower itself, it just gave it that real jungle feel. The room was gorgeous and felt very rustic and authentic yet with modern furnishings. It had a coffee machine with pods refilled daily; a water dispenser so we had unlimited access to complimentary water; gorgeous toiletries in sustainable glass bottles and of course, the best part was our private rooftop swimming pool! Upendo is located at the far end of Pingwe beach so after breakfast we would go for a lovely walk along the beach and onto the sandbanks where the tide had drifted out. Also along Pingwe beach is a great choice of restaurants so each lunch time we decided to head out to find some of the local seafood restaurants. Upendo has a popular restaurant with an extensive menu so each night we stayed at the hotel and tried a different dish on the menu. The food was incredible and we loved the relaxed vibe of the restaurant, we could just lounge around for hours on the sofas. The hotel staff could honestly not do enough for us during our stay and nothing ever felt like too much to ask. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
MariaC1 wrote a review Jan 2021
Lisbon, Portugal1 contribution
The hotel stays in a wonderfull spot. But unfortunately is not friendly to guests. We felt like if we were in a Big Brother, feeling controled all the time. It’s not Nice. I’ve had two friends i were travelling with, that we’re going to leave home on the day i went in the hotel. I’ve invited them to pass the day with me at the pool (the flight was at night), and i’ve said the hotel that i could pay an extra if necessary. It was not. But we were followed everywhere. I invite them to join me one minute in my room só i can leave my bags before the lunch (we were going to the rock), and they were forbiden to join me. Although i’ve said we were going to leave the beach bags, they thought they were going to have a bath before going to the AirPort. And were very rude with us all. I could have paid an extra tax for their presence in the pool of the hotel, i suggested that. It would have been much better than treat us in This way. It was very unfriendly. Even because the Manager was Out, and the employee that was acting as a police decided to turn her back to me while i was explaining what was going on. Is not a place where i Will return, although the Nice spot. The wrong person at the reception on an hotel, can destroy it. #hotelupandabeach
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Upendo Zanzibar, Sales at Upendo Beach
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Dear Maria, thanks for sharing your experience with us. Unfortunately we were not informed before-hand by you that you were arriving with other friends, or we would have been able to find a suitable solution and avoid any misunderstanding. We are sad to read that you have felt like you were followed by the police, however it is our main policy not to allow external customers into the rooms/guests’ facilities for health&safety, security and privacy reasons. Moreover, the suite you have booked is located inside a private villa with swimming pool shared with other guests, and, strictly, only in-house guests are allowed into the villa. For us it is not a matter of money and paying extra fees, it is a matter of respecting our guests’ privacy and safety. We have a restaurant with large swimming pool open to walk-in clients and we also have shower facilities, and our staff have been clear with you that your friends were very welcome to stay at Upendo but only in the public areas. We hope that this helps clarifying the reasons why your friends were not allowed to join you into your room and we hope that you will change your mind and stay with us again!
Read more
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Upendo Boutique Hotel - Zanzibar
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandPingwe
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Upendo Beach
What are some of the property amenities at Upendo Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Upendo Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, blackout curtains, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Upendo Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Upendo Beach?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Upendo Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blue Dongwe Jetty, Fishers Restaurant, and Upendo Zanzibar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Upendo Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Upendo Beach have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Upendo Beach offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Upendo Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, Hindi, Afrikaans, and Swahili.
Does Upendo Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.