Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna

Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka
King Wave Room #226.
Traveller (731)
Guests enjoying the pool and sun!
Pool & Beach (88)
Room & Suite (70)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

£78
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 56 hotels in Unawatuna
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

See why so many travellers make Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna their hotel of choice when visiting Unawatuna. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a romantic setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna is a romantic hotel offering a minibar and air conditioning in the rooms, and it is easy to stay connected during your stay as free wifi is offered to guests.

The hotel features room service. Plus, guests can enjoy a pool and breakfast, which have made this a popular choice among travellers visiting Unawatuna. For guests with a vehicle, free parking is available.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Unawatuna ribs restaurant such as Pink Elephant, which is a short distance from Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna.

If you are interested in exploring Unawatuna, check out an art gallery, such as Sk Swarnakala.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna as you experience all of the things Unawatuna has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
24-hour security
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Trendy

Location

Wella Devala Road, Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Koggala Airport
Mawella Lagoon Airport
30.6 mi
See all flights
429Reviews17Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 342
  • 60
  • 11
  • 9
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jennifer H wrote a review Aug 2021
Atlanta, Georgia6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had so many wonderful experiences here I am not sure where to start and hope I don't leave anything or anyone out. Sydney was so helpful preparing me for my visa and documents 60 days prior to my arrival. I couldn't have made this trip without him. I had personal complications which required rebooking several times over. The drivers had to drive multiple times with me not being able to contact them that I had not arrived. They were so understanding, patient and kind. The front staff was always smiling and so friendly. My rooms were always sanitized daily with fresh water or anyrhing I requested. Delicious doesnt even describe the food......it was fabulous every meal mouthwatering!!!! The waitstaff was so attentive to my taste , and knew exactly what level of spiciness I could handle. They paid very close attention to every detail. I fell in love with this place so much that I decided to extend my visa. A special thanks to Chandana for helping me make the necessary phone calls. I could literally write a novel on how FABULOUS this hotel is.....truly like a fairytale
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban Thaproban Pavilion Waves, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, We are happy to hear back from you based on your recent visit to Thaproban pavilion waves . We constantly strive to maintain the service levels on par with global standards, delivering a brilliant travel experience to our guests. It’s a pleasure to know how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed the resort’s facilities including the buffet, recreation, etc. We are honored by your comment on our professional yet friendly associates. My team is truly delighted to read your review. They thank you and appreciate this feedback which will also inspire them to deliver much more outstanding experiences. We look forward to welcoming you to Thaproban pavilion waves in the near future. Best Regards, Chandana Amarasinghe – Property Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon M wrote a review Mar 2020
Negombo, Sri Lanka15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Originally only booked for one night and because we felt so at home there with the lovely and relaxing environment we decided to stay a total of 4 nights.

We had really the opposite experiance to others that have left not great reviews.

Tuktuk were available when needed even when theirs wasn’t they paid an outside one to take us to yoga and to the beach house hotel . To be honest tuktuk was bonus as the beach is less then a 10 min walk.

Our room was really nice and loved the egg shaped chairs. Yes it is more expensive then other places but really if you looking for quality and good service this is the place.

Sunsets from the pools and the sky bar is so great . See pics

Thank you to everyone there for looking after us and surprised my girlfriend for her with a happy birthday song 😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Thaproban Pavilion Waves! Thank you for taking your valuable time to write your thoughts about us. It’s always a pleasure to receive such wonderful feedback from you and we are glad to know that you have a memorable experience during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon! Warm Regards Thaproban Pavilion Waves Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Prageeth M wrote a review Dec 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hospitality was extraordinary and the staff very friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious (we ate breakfast and sometimes dinner). We also appreciated the very high standard of hygienic, espacially now in these covid time. All of the staff were wearing masks and there were many handsanitizers in the hotel, we felt absolutely safe. Everything was very clean. We can defenitely recommend this hotel. We will come back again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban Thaproban Pavilion Waves, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at Thaproban pavilion resort & spa in Unawatuna. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at Thaproban pavilion resort & spa and that our associate’s added value to your stay experience. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the resort leisure activities and the food. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Thaproban pavilion resort & spa. Best Regards, Chandana Amarasinghe – Property Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlito Fandango wrote a review Dec 2021
50 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly this is an honest review, it is nothing personal against the hotel as the staff were excellent, couldn’t have been friendlier and the management team were great.

However, I do feel that would be guests and fellow travellers should have realistic expectations of what to expect.

Firstly, given the condition of the room we stayed in this certainly is NOT A 5* HOTEL

The room initially appeared fairly clean but upon looking closer the room was worn, tired and did feel slightly grubby because of this. The big cobwebs in the corners of the main room and bathroom speaks volumes about the level of cleanliness as did the old bedsheets which had a hole in them and were ‘grey’ rather than White.

A generally ‘rough finish’ to the room
(See photos) it appears to have been an old building which has been painted a bit.

Positives:

Nice lobby area, good location only 5-10 walk from unawatuna beach, great view of the sunset form the rooftop bar, two separate pool areas with one that feels like a private pool for 3/4 rooms

Negatives:

No safe in room initially, we asked for one and one was brought to the room but not bolted down and could be carried out (unlikely but still!) Poor aircon, Loud fan, The sofa was stained, the ‘fresh towels’ were stained as were the pillow cases, grubby and generally very worn feel to the room. Slow bar service and although they advertise ‘premium sprits’ the bottles are all empty and I have a suspicion that the ones that are full are not actually the proper branded liquor.

I’m a reasonable man and understand you get what you pay for but at over £200 per night I expected more… a lot more! At least a certain level of cleanliness, a decent finish to the room, clean towels, and decent bedsheets not ones they were stained and with holes in.

If you are going to stay here then you should be paying no more than £70-£80 a night as it’s a 2*/3* maximum.

Yours disappointedly Donald Holiday
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban Thaproban Pavilion Waves, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 31 Dec 2021
Dear Guest , Thank you for sharing this feedback based on your recent visit to the Thaproban pavilion Resort and Spa. We thank you for choosing to stay with us. At the same time we would like to apologize for any inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. We fully regret that you could not enjoy the renowned Pavilion hotel hospitality as a valued guest. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving guest needs and it’s distressing to know that we couldn’t meet your expectations at this time. We are sorry to learn that you were not pleased with the structure of the hotel room category you booked. However each and every 6 categories of our rooms in our resort offers the direct deferent views and interior according Also my team continuously works on understanding the unique requirements of each and every guest as you are our utmost priority. We look forward to your return and take this opportunity to wish you a great day. Best Regards, Chandana Amarasinghe Property Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ByronofMelbourne wrote a review Mar 2020
St Kilda, Australia281 contributions91 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, the hotel leaves a lot to be desired - it's out of Unawatuna town, prices are way too high for service you get, and some just 'not quite right' things. Probably better to save some cash and downgrade, or pay more.. because what you get here is 5 star prices with a 4 star hotel. Nice view (from some rooms).

The positives: Food was good. Chef came out to explain how he cooled things. Generally quick service. Small selection but high quality breakfast buffet. Excellent view from pool to private rocks (that photo you see on their website).

The negative: Prices are about 30%+ relative to other equivalent places. Pool has no shade and by 1030 is near unbearable - Only 3 poolside seats have umbrellas, so you can sit inside restaurant or bake. The room we booked had views of solar panels, so we downgraded from the suite / family room to a king size with a view - no reimbursement of price difference because according to them "they were being flexible". Bathrooms not great standard. Guests at 5am getting home from beach parties playing loud music (two out of two nights). Twice placed food order and ha things not delivered. Gym is small, but also was busy.

Other things: At sign in, "we have a tuk tuk to our private beach", later "sorry no tuk tuk is available but you can walk". At sign in, "just ask at reception for pool towels", later "sorry we only have 1 towel left, can you use your room towel?". Free WiFi, "connected, no internet available".
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Thaproban Pavilion Waves! Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience with us. We were pleased to read you liked the Food was good ,generally quick service ,high quality breakfast buffet and excellent view from pool to private rocks but were sorry to hear there were some issues with few things mentioned in review . Please note that we have addressed this with the team to ensure we improve on this. Once again Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback and looking forward in welcoming you back at Thaproban Pavilion! Kind Regards, Thaproban Pavilion Waves Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FreddyBH2015 wrote a review Jan 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom38 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in 7 hotels on our Sri Lanka tour and sadly, this is the one we enjoyed the least and i not usually one for a 'bad review'.
The Hotel itself in terms of decor is brilliant, the rooms are great and the pools are brilliant. However... we had a poolside room and although the pool opening times state 8am - 8pm there were guests in the pool from 7am on one occasion and until 11pm in the evening which made it very noisy in our room. When i asked a member off staff about the times he just said you can use the pool any hour of the day.
The restaurant also plays quite annoying 'pipe style' music from about 7am which is really noisy for the rooms next to the pool.
My last point is that the staff are constantly trying to sell you the Spa services and to force you to eat in the restaurant that evening... The food in the restaurant is average and way more expensive than that of the brilliant restaurants nearby (Sea waves for example).
All in all, it was an expensive stay and left us feeling like we were ready to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you found the décor, rooms and pools “brilliant” – a point noted by many visitors. Our concept of blending in with nature and allowing the visitor to enjoy the glory of the Sri Lankan Southern shores have struck a chord with many of our guests who return year after year. In our zest to accommodate our guests, we are sometimes compelled to allow them to use the pools after or before hours as they are highly enjoyable – with a choice of salt water and fresh water to plunge in. however we request all guests to be considerate and abide by the pool times mentioned clearly as 8a.m. – 7p.m. It is unfortunate that you had to endure irritations as those you mentioned, but if you had brought these to the notice of the hotel manager, we could have minimized them by taking some action to ensure your comfort and peace. We extend our courtesy to serve you once more and provide a better experience on your return. Wishing you good health! Manager Thaproban
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chathura W wrote a review Feb 2022
Colombo, Sri Lanka18 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Initially I had no intention to write a review for this hotel. However, I was compelled to write one after seeing the way the property manager responded to comments made by two of my family members (thus just one dot). I've given quoted few lines from a previous replies from the manager. It's up to readers decide the truth.

I have to admit that the front office staff was very friendly and supportive. This hotel has no access to beach or sea, the most important factor in the area. Hence they direct guests to another hotel at the beach. Unfortunately there is no communication between two hotels and guests will experience two different conditions from those two.

Stewards at the restaurant didn't bother to take our order and we had to wait over 20mins for a steward to give the order. That's after walking up to them over four time.

"At your arrival you refused given car keys to valet parking then security had to involve as parking got blocking from your cars"
- It wasn't valet parking. We simply parked in front of the hotel. We refused to give car keys because of the rude manner your security officer treated us and all vehicles were from the same group. Most importantly right to hand over key of a personal vehicle remains with the owner of the vehicle and you cannot force to do that.

"What had happened that you have brought alcohol bottles from outside and drinking in our hotel restaurant and parting- singing of 15 pax group so you understand it is disturbing house guests so beach house management had to involve to make you understand that as we had complained from our hotel guests"
- Alcohol we consumed at hotel restaurant was purchased from your bar and yes we consumed our alcohol at the room balcony initially and in the room after night fall as we did not want to disturb other guests. This was permitted by your hotel front office staff. The group consisted of three generations from the same family members and everything was wrapped up before midnight. All this time hotel played music at the restaurant from a large speakers & ours wasn't loud as you've described here. This is simply a baseless accusation by the manager to convince readers that we were disturbing others.

After all bitter experiences at this property, we feel that this is how this hotel treat local guests to convey the massage that we are not welcomed at their property.

There're many more to write but please read all responses given by the hotel to negative reviews. They itself speak the truth about the attitude of the manager of the hotel. The same manger who was shouting and commanding his own staff at the restaurant during the breakfast.

Yes, my other family members informed the hotel that this will go up on various forums after settling all bills both rooms and considerable amount for extra services we obtained. That's purely due to dissatisfaction from the moment we parked the car to checking out and for anything in return.

So far the worst experience I've experienced from all hotels I've been to internationally.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban Beach House, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all your positive remarks and concerns. At Thaproban Pavilion Unawatuna, we constantly strive to work towards hosting our guests with a seamless experience and we welcome suggestions or recommendations that could help in improvising our services. We are also disappointed that some aspects of your experience did not live up to expectations. Hence rather than giving you explanations, we constantly work towards understanding the individual preferences of our valued partners. We are sorry that you had this isolated experience with us We always strive to make a difference through our outstanding service and sorry to hear that you couldn’t experience the renowned Thaproban pavilion hospitality this time... Thank you for your suggestions which we do note for improvement. We do hope that you will afford us an early opportunity to restore your faith in our services. Warm regards, Chandana Amarasinghe – Property Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amit wrote a review Feb 2020
Tel Aviv, Israel27 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon. This hotel is far from what we expected it to be and clearly not a 5 stars hotel. Room facilities are outdated and maintenance is poor, towel rack and sink shelf were ready to fall of the wall, curtains and towels had stains on it. Room is not sound proof, we could hear absolutely everything that was happening outside: steps from the hallway, people talking at the pool, lobby music and phone ringing from the next room. We had a difficult time falling asleep. As if this is not enough, there was an extra window in our room with only light curtain on it hence the sun woke us up really early.
Hotel stuff was over welcoming and keep asking us spa treatments which we didn't wanted.
We ended up spending most of our stay outside the hotel.
Overall we had a bad experience and would defenetly not recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Dear Mr. Amit, We are indeed very concerned about the comment you posted regarding your stay at our hotel. If you had brought the shortcomings to our notice immediately without packing your luggage and coming to the reception saying you are checking out and need the room payment refunded, we would have attended to your problem straight away as the comfort of our guests is of paramount importance to us. More so as we have quite a lot of honeymooners choosing our hotel as a romantic getaway. However this is the first complaint of this nature from such guests. Usually they're very much engrossed in each other to hardly notice other things, but comment on how wonderfully they were treated by all the staff and the special attentions bestowed on them. We hope that everything else is well with you and wish you a happy wedded life.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rensia M wrote a review Jan 2020
Ella, Sri Lanka7 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is nice and the rooms are spacious. It is generally quiet which is nice. The staff are friendly. However, the service is inconsistent. Everything takes quite a long time, whether you ask for food, or a drink or a towel. There always only seems to be one waiter around and it is not really clear whether they understand what you are asking for. For the price of accommodation I would expect more. The staff also spend a lot of time trying to peddle other services to you during breakfast, which is unnecessary. If I want to do something, I will come and ask you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban, Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for writing to us following your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every day. Our heartiest gratitude for all your precious comments about the staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for all inconvenience caused in terms of the speed of service and level/s of understanding which led you to even a slightest disappointment even though it was unintentional. We do explain hotel services and facilities to all our guests in order to make them aware about what we offer and it is not done with a full business mind but to assist our guests on planning their day and activities. However our sincere apology if it caused you even a slightest discomfort. Thank you very much for sharing your sincere thoughts. Looking forward to welcome you back at Thaproban Pavilion. Best regards Kavishka Fernando Resident Manager, Thaproban Pavilion Waves, Thaproban Pavilion Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ella P wrote a review Apr 2023
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a perfect hotel for our family. We searched properties in Unawatuna and were overwhelmed by the choice of very reasonable options. What we needed was 8 days of complete relaxation so we decided to book here due to the facilities and room size offered (two story suite for family of four). The suite was so comfortable and situated down a cute little ally way which leads to one of the pools. It was incredibly peaceful and calm. The only disturbance was from the storms at night. Other than that all our heard were the waves crashing on the rocks and the beautiful birds. Breakfast was lovely with everything you’d want ( Sri Lankan, continental, omelette station, pancake station etc). Staff were so warm and friendly and did all they could to accommodate our needs.
The hotel is at the end of Unawatuna and it’s a short walk to shops and a whole range of restaurants. There’s a free golf buggy to their sister hotel on the beach where you’ll be treated very well. Every time we returned to our hotel , we were glad of our decision and on the last day we were really sad to leave. The hotel organised our trip to the national park to see elephants and a whole load of other amazing sights on our safari. Also worth doing is one of the turtle sanctuaries. We went at sunset and were able to release newly hatched babies back into the ocean.
My husband and I both had excellent sports massages- the treatments we’re very reasonable. All in all we loved our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thaproban Beach House, General Manager at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Dear guest, We thank you on behalf of our entire team and is thrilled to hear about your experience here and is delighted about sharing your experience for the whole world , we appreciate your valuable time and hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tiggyboo asked a question Jan 2020
Swansea, United Kingdom344 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you have english movie channels like HBO and is there anything outside hotel ?
Answer from Trevor B
9 contributions4 helpful votes
Sorry, cannot confirm it deny regarding English HBO movie channels being available. As for things outside the hotel, yes there are places of interest to visit, especially the old Dutch Fort in Galle. The hotel staff will be helpful in recommending other places to visit.
tiggyboo asked a question Jul 2019
Swansea, United Kingdom344 contributions2 helpful votes
Do you allow smoking on your balconies and do you have a room for a driver guide ?
Answer from cannygirl49
Edinburgh, United Kingdom169 contributions42 helpful votes
There was no driver accommodation when we were there. Smoking is allowed on balconies.
Cathn109 asked a question Apr 2019
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom32 contributions12 helpful votes
What sort of electrical adaptor is needed for this hotel?
Answer from wearytraveller90
Rossendale, United Kingdom37 contributions37 helpful votes
sorry only just picked this message up as I don't use Tripadvisor that often, only to report on trips I have made. I didn't need an adaptor plug my UK 3 pin was acceptable in all the hotels we stayed in.
Answer from Markwhoath1
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom9 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes hotel does and it was £70. Good driver as well which you will want in Sri Lanka! Rideways were also good and cost £60. Allow 3 hours with a stop at services on the toll motorway
TAMMY S wrote a tip 15 May
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"just go and enjoy this great spot."
Read full review
Roshini R wrote a tip 8 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yaddehimulla road is a bit narrow, so if you are travelling by your own vehicle, there’s just enough for two vehicles to pass. "
Read full review
Ziadia H wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good internet Connection "
Read full review
Sumudu A wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing service and the atmosphere "
Read full review
Andrew B wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sri Lanka is not Thailand. Expect slow internet wherever you go. Also there are national power outages. Stay away from the main beach."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Unawatuna area.
PRICE RANGE
£77 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictUnawatuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THAPROBAN PAVILION WAVES UNAWATUNA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Which popular attractions are close to Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Nearby attractions include Sk Swarnakala (0.2 miles) and Silk Route Gallery (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Conveniently located restaurants include Love Gelato, Wasantha’s Sri Lanka Cuisine, and Sea Waves Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna have airport transportation?
Yes, Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the centre of Unawatuna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (2.2 miles), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (1.9 miles), and Galle Fort Clock Tower (2.0 miles).
All Unawatuna HotelsUnawatuna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UnawatunaHotels near Thaproban Pavilion Waves Unawatuna
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire