We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Joe's Bungalow

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Joe\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Its a small hotel .Rooms are good and clean.Excellent sea view from the rooms and awesome dinning area on the beach for a candle light dinner!Hotel Staff are good .Highly recommended to anyone who wishes to have a nice relaxing holiday in a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayaram s
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stunning location right on the beach, the rooms have their own relaxing private location on the bay with only a 2 minute walk to the restaurants and beach bars. Everything is walking distance with the beachside at one side and the shops at the other, very handy! You can open the balcony doors to the beautiful sea view and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura A
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Perfect location close to everything. Very nice view of the beach from our balcony. Staff are amazing, very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended to anyone who wishes to have a nice relaxing holiday in a great location.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gilli0981
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The view was perfect, and the location right on a less busy part of the beach is great (nothing better than lazying on sun loungers under palm trees looking out over all of Unawatuna bay and beach---which was rehabilitated in 2015 and looks beautiful). Nice snorkeling right in front of the hotel too. Staff were super nice, and breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PickyNomad
Lyon, France
Reviewed 20 March 2016

I stayed in the hotel 2 nights. The location is very nice, on the beach. The room was fully renovated but had no insulation. As the hotel is by the main road, it is very noisy. The service was awful, it is the only place where we had no fresh juice. Dinner was at 7.30 and no possibility to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fatcat_6369
Male
Reviewed 24 January 2016

This place is one of the finest hotels i have ever visited within the 4 visits to Srilanka. Great service and excellent hospitality. Both the outdoor and indoor dining areas are really good. I would like to visit this place again.!!! :D

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abaan2016
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Loved this place so much on our visit in April that we went back again in December! Gets better every time! The area is developing with more beach bars etc but not too much. Joe's Bungalow's are just amazing and the location is beautiful! Rooms are very clean and comfortable, great shower and service was fantastic! You will be spoilt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laura C
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Amazing! Waking up to such a beautiful view, so tranquil & relaxing each morning was just fantastic - breakfast, lunch & dinner you are spoilt for choice.....rooms are comfortable, clean & a big plus for me way the power shower! Loved everything about this place - couldn't ask for more!

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Laura C
Reviewed 26 February 2015

I and 3 colleagues stayed at Joe's Bungalow's between 19th - 26th Feb 2015. As we were on business we were in Unawatuna for this brief time. I'll start with the positives firstly the Location is excellent, a small beach is located adjacent to the property but also Unawatuna Beach is just a 5-10 minute walk away which is visible...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank mattydb81
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest I have read your review with the greatest of regret. I have done a full investigation into your complaints and my findings are as follows. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this further if you so require. We received a reservation for 4 single rooms on "set menu" basis from your agent. The hotel Manager greeted...

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the 3rd of May weekend...let me start with the view and location...absolutely awesome! me and my group of 12 friends were greeted with welcome drinks on arrival. The hospitality was exceptional as was the food which exceeded expectations. The staff were very obliged and went out of their way to make sure everything was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronali P
Kay009, Owner at Joe's Bungalow, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are really happy to hear you had a great Birthday weekend and we were able to make it an event to remember. We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Joe's Bungalow

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.2 mi away
Unawatuna Beach Bungalow Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Villa
The Villa
#50 of 131 in Unawatuna
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingfisher Hotel
Kingfisher Hotel
#8 of 131 in Unawatuna
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SurfCity Guesthouse
SurfCity Guesthouse
#39 of 131 in Unawatuna
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Veranda di Serena
La Veranda di Serena
#21 of 131 in Unawatuna
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pink Elephant Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Joe's Bungalow is a privately owned beach bungalow with 4 double rooms in the main house and 2 seperate villas. The whole property can accomodate 12 people. Situated on Unawatuna the beach, the property has a large garden and jacuzzi for guests. No food is included in the room rate but we provide a cook who can prepare meals. Rates are $200 for the bungalow (4 double rooms) per night and $50 per villa per night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Joe's Bungalow

Address: Unawatuna Beach, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Joe's Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joe`s Bungalow Hotel Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Joe's Bungalow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are sea-facing, but ask for an upstairs room in the main building if you want a nice little balcony with a lovely view!”
  • View from our balcony
  • View from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles PickyNomad, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are sea facing so guaranteed a view :)”
  • What a view
  • Relaxing Day
  • Beautiful Surprise
  • Wow!
 of 5 bubbles LauraC993, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ocean rooms have a great view!”
 of 5 bubbles 226louisea, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“All rooms good but the side facing the ocean probably best.”
 of 5 bubbles 433paulineh, 18 Aug 2013 | Read review
“Try the ground floor villa, or if in the main bungalow ask for one of the rooms on the beach side to avoid the worst of the road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles ettibob, 6 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay