Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel

Picture of the owners and Lal
Traveller (280)
New Year (April,16 2022). Staff of the Nor Lanka Hotel.
Dining (37)
Picture from room
Room & Suite (32)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 54 small hotels in Unawatuna
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Unawatuna? Then look no further than Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel, a family-friendly small hotel that brings the best of Unawatuna to your doorstep.

Rooms at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel provide air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel guests have access to 24 hour front desk, a concierge, and room service. You can also enjoy free breakfast. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel.

While visiting Unawatuna, you may want to try some souvlaki at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Bedspace Kitchen.

Best of all, Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel makes it easy to experience some great Unawatuna attractions like Sk Swarnakala, which is a popular art gallery.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel as you experience everything Unawatuna has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Diving
Hiking
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Wifi
Restaurant
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Fishing
Mosquito net
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Danish, German, Norwegian and 1 more

Location

Peellagoda, Unawatuna 80600 Sri Lanka
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Koggala Airport
Mawella Lagoon Airport
434Reviews2Q+A58Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 38
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kristin B wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is hidden gem in a green oasis just one minute from Unawatuna beach.
The atmosphere is warm and friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed and air conditioning. The service is outstanding and the staff will help you with whatever you need.
The food is also unbelievable! Every morning we enjoyed delicious breakfast at their restaurant where we were served tea, coffee, fresh juice, fresh fruits and a choice of both typical Sri Lankan breakfast or more Western options.
We also enjoyed dinner here where we had the best curry on our trip! Highly recommend!

We had a lovely stay at this hotel and would book here again!

If you are visiting Unawatuna - this is the place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sean wrote a review Feb 2020
Gothenburg, Sweden
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at 8 different hotels while travelling around Sri Lanka and this was one of the best places we stayed at. A peaceful oasis in Unawatuna just a 2 minute walk from the beach. The room was very clean and fresh, the host and staff very friendly and the breakfast was the best we had on our 18 day stay in Sri Lanka! The dahl served with the Sri Lanken breakfast was so good I had to have a second helping! All the food was very fresh and well presented!
Would have loved to have stayed longer!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sgtbeaver wrote a review Dec 2019
Auckland, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a night only. Place is extremely clean and has very good chill out areas.

In my opinion it’s the staff that make this place, they cannot help you enough and their levels of service are way above the norm for Sri Lanka.

The only thing that knocks this down a point is that during our 2 days the wifi hardly ever worked....ok so not the end of the world but they do make a thing of saying that accomodation comes with wifi etc so can be frustrating that it’s unavailable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PcDb wrote a review Mar 2022
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fabulous stay. Few minutes walk to the beach and many great restaurants nearby. Lovely breakfast and all staff really friendly. Powercuts were a bit of a pain but once the generator kicked in it wasn’t a problem. Breakfast was good, breakfast was until 11am & we don’t do early but we never felt rushed. Great place to stay in every way.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nittaya_Wijetunga wrote a review Oct 2021
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My 10 year old son and I stayed at Nor lanka Hotel for two days late September on our return to Sri Lanka to undergo PCR testing and wait for the results as the Gov required at that time. The small hotel is lovely, very comfortable and clean with verandas and a number of cosy corners to relax in. The food from the simple menu available was absolutely delicious, the best rice and curry we had had for a long time! We especially appreciated the friendly yet discreet staff as well as the super efficient support from Mr. Rasika who was extremely helpful from the point of enquiry and through out all. Excellent value too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helge Källman, Owner at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Hi Nittaya, Thank you very much for your review. Welcome back to our Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex M wrote a review Nov 2021
Colombo, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dear friends,

People at Nor Lanka hotel are very decent and trustworthy. We had an issue with tourist department of Sri Lanka. Initially, we submitted down-payment for PCR-tests, which shortly were canceled as a requirement to enter the country.

I heard some stories that Sir Lankan government does never refund. In our particular case we got the refund. And staff at Nor Lanka hotel helped us to handle this issue.

Mr. Rasika wrote multiple emails to the government to get our refund.

I want to recommend these guys as reliable and trustworthy.

Have a nice stay guys.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helge Källman, Owner at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Hi Alex Thank you very much for your review. Welcome back to our Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lasanthi wrote a review May 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a good stay. The room was comfortable and clean. However, there are a few things that need to be addressed.

There are no plug points, except just 2, into which the bedside lamps were plugged in. No place to plug any computer or even a phone charger unless you have a multi socket adapter.

Breakfast was good and generous.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No way to charge multiple devices such as laptop, cell phone, power back.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nikolay P wrote a review Oct 2021
Chelyabinsk Oblast, Russia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
During this difficult time, I rested in Sri Lanka and was guests for 2 days at this nice hotel. I was very pleased with everything. Friendly staff, thanks to Mr. Rasika. Beautiful nature around, the sound of the ocean, cleanliness on the territory and in the room. They cook very tasty, especially seafood. Thank you all very much and greetings from Russia.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helge Källman, Owner at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2021
Hi Nilolay, Thank you very much for your review. Welcome back to our Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ajay n wrote a review Feb 2020
Shimla, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just a few steps away from Unawatuna Beach, Nor Lanka came as a surprise for us, as we visited with friends first for a week and then made it a point to stay agin with family for 5 days. The staff is brilliant and makes sure you feel at home. And one should definitely ask the staff to prepare the Sri Lankan food for dinner o. Request which was the best Sri Lankan food we had during out entire stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne V wrote a review Jan 2022
Jessheim, Norway
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful guest house with personal service. The staff is so friendly and will do anything for you. Rooms are clean and breakfast great. Its a 2min walk to Unawatuna Beach. If you value peace and a good nights sleep, still in the center of everything- this the place to stay. You will not regret it. Its my third stay at Norlanka, and Im defenately coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helge Källman, Owner at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2022
Hi Anne, Thank you very much for your review. Welcome back to our Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maria c asked a question Nov 2016
42 contributions10 helpful votes
Do they provide driver's accommodation by any chance?
Answer from Helge
4 contributions2 helpful votes
We are sorry but driver accommodation is not available in our place. The driver can rent room very close to Nor Lanka Hotel.
lasanthi wrote a tip May 2024
7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No way to charge multiple devices such as laptop, cell phone, power back. "
Read full review
JuaniJayne wrote a tip Jan 2019
Sheffield84 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"My preference is the first floor"
Read full review
KIM T wrote a tip Nov 2018
Reading, United Kingdom22 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We always have room overlooking front garden."
Read full review
DI2PAT wrote a tip May 2018
West Bromwich, United Kingdom50 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms are good with nice views"
Read full review
David B wrote a tip Mar 2018
cornwall15 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I used two different rooms, the first floor rooms were great, the villa rooms in the grounds were large with a lot of privacy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Unawatuna area.
PRICE RANGE
£20 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
Sri LankaSouthern ProvinceGalle DistrictUnawatuna
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

UNAWATUNA NOR LANKA HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Unawatuna Beach (0.1 miles), Wild & The Sage (0.1 miles), and Ashadi Gem & Jewellers (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Social Unawatuna, Koha Surf Lounge, and Daffodil Restaurant.
Does Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Unawatuna.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Swedish, Danish, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Galle Fort (2.7 miles), Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (2.3 miles), and Galle Fort Clock Tower (2.5 miles).
All Unawatuna HotelsUnawatuna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in UnawatunaHotels near Unawatuna Nor Lanka Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire