We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monteverde Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monteverde Country Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 192: English reviews
San José
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is an excellent choice to rest and have a good night in Monteverde. This is a beautiful quiet hotel, the room is so confortable, breakfast was great. This is also a green hotel, so, you contribute to nature getting there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cris A
Reviewed 1 week ago

Maybe because our travel days were not in peak season, our room had a weird smell when we first entered the room. We suspect the smell from sheet and comforter. But after one night, the smell mostly disappeared. Breakfast was buffet style and was good. Unexpectedly, TV channel also includes CCTV4 (中央电视台国际频道)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xiaoqin Z
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a prepaid tour package. Considering the first hotel and last hotel we stayed at were top notch, this one was extremely disappointing. This hotel did not seem to fit in with the rest of our package, and I've emailed the company to advise them to exclude this property from their selections. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Victoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room didn't have air conditioning, though we were here during the rainy season and it wasn't very hot. No wifi in the rooms. The room we were in didn't have a very nice view, not sure if other rooms had better views or not. For the price I don't think we'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheresaPen
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Pen. Thank you very much for your comments. Let me remind you we had special discounts during the slow season, i´m sure your rate had an attractive discount, specially due to our remodeling works. We hope you change your mind and come visit us again. There are no A/C hotels in Monteverde. Except for our Hotel Poco a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We were here for one night as part of 3 day tour around costa rica booked through Costa Rican Trails, maybe that is why we got a bit of a discount or something. The breakfast is good, I dont know what the other posters were expecting. The dinner is reasonably priced seeing that this hotel is up on a mountain....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingmonkey89
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Travelling Monkey. Thank you very much for your very nice review, sometimes I think about what other might be expecting, since as you stated, our breakfast, meals, prices, and overall quality is very good. I´m not saying were are a 5 stars, yet, we deliver good service, good food and comfortable, clean facilities. I do believe our Superior...

Reviewed 18 September 2016

This hotel did not appeal. The front desk staff were friendly, but that's all I can really say that's positive. The breakfast had a few choices but we saw staff putting hot food on top of cold, and weren't very impressed with the food in general. Our room, which I believe was a superior one, was dark and gloomy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr G. Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you felt this way about your stay. On our behalf, let me tell you: We are located on a very nice area only 1 km away from down town Santa Elena, if guests are not willing to walk into town, they can also take advantage of the various...

Reviewed 15 September 2016

Too far from anything, no stores nearby or open past 8 pm, no snacks or pop sold at hotel, the restaurant free breakfast not the best. It was poor service everywhere. Asked for more coffee, they couldn't find it at 7:30 at night. No pop or snacks for sale, the bar offered only beer, wine and cocktails no vodka, The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karenmagnuso
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Magnuso. Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you felt this way about your stay. On our behalf, let me tell you: We are located on a very nice area only 1 km away from down town Santa Elena, if guests are not willing to walk into town, they can also take advantage of the various...

Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Beautiful garden Basic and clean room Breakfast is included in the price Effective service Note - the food at the hotel restaurant is good The traditional beef soup was very good The steak was less good Overall good value We'd love to visit again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David D
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr David: Greetings from Monteverde and thank you very much for your comments! We offer a means style accommodation, set as hotels Mountain . We have comfortable spaces , an excellent restaurant and an ideal place to rest without missing the comforts of downtown Santa Elena location. Thank you for your compliments about our restaurant, breakfast, Costa Rican choices...

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Where to start... The rooms are poorly ventilated and cramped. The wifi is terrible and even in the reception area it barely loads pages. The breakfast is poor quality with little variety. As well as this, the staff pile fresh stuff over the old food, meaning lots of the "hot" breakfast items are cold. They say you can visit the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joss P
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Joss. I´m very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. And I´m even more sorry we missed the chance to either fix this situation by a compensation, refund, or simply finding another, more suitable hotel for you. Please do not feel you were stock here no matter what.. BY all means, we try our best to accommodate guests,...

Paris, France
Reviewed 24 July 2016

The place is great. People are nice and always willing to help. They make you feel welcome. You might need a wind breaker or something to protect yourself from the heavy rain. Even though is heavy rain you really appreciate it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeacherFreddie
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Freddie, thank you for your review. Monteverde´s cloud forest ecosystem has a very special weather and rain is very common up here. Remember we are at almost 5.000 feet of elevation. Actually, for most guests, the change in weather, specially in temperature offer a nice relief from the humidity and heat in other parts of Costa Rica. Bring...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“as for a room closer to reception for good WiFi.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingmonkey89, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best to try somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles martingY4002VA, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second level are great. Nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles TeacherFreddie, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Any room will be fine...they are all in a cluster”
 of 5 bubbles donlewis1985, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is not in the rooms, but downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles musicsunset, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay