Hotel Merce
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Merce

Traveller (564)
Roof top swimming pool
Pool & Beach (156)
Room & Suite (133)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#4 of 14 hotels in Pineda de Mar
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Three stars family hotel located in Pineda de Mar, a tipycal quiet catalan coast village located in Costa de Barcelona, very near Barcelona and the Costa Brava beaches. Free Wi-fi in comoon rooms.Enjoy our panoramic swiming-pool. Daily night entertainment.During July and August free animation program (beach, canoes, children activities, etc.). All rooms with bath&shower, balcony, hair dryer and balcony.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Rooftop terrace
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Paid wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Catalan and 1 more

Location

C. Antoni Doltra 2, 08397 Pineda de Mar Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 74 out of 100
74
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
38.9 mi
See all flights
Costa Brava Airport
19.8 mi
See all flights
881Reviews61Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 221
  • 368
  • 172
  • 63
  • 57
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bushmamma wrote a review Jul 2023
18 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 10 night stay, pleasantly surprised with this 3 star hotel. The rooms are small but adequate and very clean with nice decor. The air con is amazing and at no extra cost. We hired a mini fridge for 10 days which cost 25 euros and worth every cent to keep cold drinks and water and my chocolate fix ! Carrefour supermarket is a 5 min walk away and has everything you could want, we bought fresh bread ham and cheese and butter etc for a lunch occasionally on our balcony. The beds are comfortable and rooms are cleaned daily. We booked bed and breakfast only and there is an abundance of restaurants within a 10 min walk away we found a short cut after about 5 days ! The breakfast choice is amazing for a 3 star hotel ! Beautiful choice of fresh bread, cereals, hot food including eggs sausages baked beans bacon etc, individually packed cakes and biscuits ,the fresh fruit counter is superb with a large choice of fruit and home grown tomatoes and fresh garlic cloves ?? Lol, and salads. There is also cheeses and various salamis what more could you want !. The roof top pool is lovely but you need to get there promptly at 10 am to get sunbeds, although there are many on the floor below by the bar area. I was a bit disappointed with the pool bar menu, limited choice and charging 1.50 euros for a plastic cube of ice cubes ! Pineda beach itself quite underwhelming with no sunbeds or umbrellas, we went to calleta beach twice which was beautiful 12 euros in a taxi one way, 2 sunbeds and an umbrella was 24 euros for the day, many beachside restaurants with sunbeds etc we found NUI beach bar the best as they also give you towels with the sunbeds. We intended to go to Barcelona for the day but glad we didn't! Temp was 38c and very crowded with very little shade and queue, s for everything according to other guests that had visited. All in all a very enjoyable stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicole Reissing wrote a review Sept 2023
15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Hotel Merce for 7 nights, half board and had a lovely experience!
The staff were all so friendly and the hotel itself is spotlessly clean!
The pool area and terrace is wonderful and the temperature of the pool is nice and cold which is great when it’s 32 degrees! The sun beds are comfy and it doesn’t get too crowded or loud. We absolutely loved the few days we had up on the rooftop we got drinks and lunch from the bar up there and had a great time!
The room is simple but effective we had a balcony, the views aren’t amazing but it’s a town centre hotel so you can’t expect sea views!
The food was great, a wonderful selection, there is a salad bar, hot counters, and an incredible dessert selection including ice cream tubs and a scoop to choose your own flavours and a mixture of toppings.
Pineda is a lovely town, mainly residential so not a huge number of tourists we enjoyed drinks at the tiare beach bar which is lovely.
We also travelled into Barcelona a couple of days from Pineda de mar train station which is a ten minute walk from the hotel and cost us €11 return each which is incredible! The trains are every half an hour and take 1hr 10mins I would recommend getting off the train at placa de catalunya which is at the bottom end of la ramblas! The train back is the marcenets(?) train on line R1
The only think we would have liked from the hotel is a room fridge for the water I didn’t realise until after we could rent them from the hotel which we definitely would have done in hindsight!
They also have luggage storage there if you have a late flight and this is a free service as far as I’m aware. It would be nice to have been offered free water with meals but a large 1.5l bottle is €3 euros from the hotel so not too expensive. All in all I would 100% return to this hotel it’s star rating does not reflect the service, quality and facilities available

Thank you for such a lovely experience
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MsSuperSnobby wrote a review Jul 2023
United Kingdom10 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Hotel Merce in mid July with my best friend. When we arrived the staff were friendly and the lobby area was pleasant. However when we got to the room we were very underwhelmed, the room was basic it had the a bed, chair, a wardrobe and 2 bed side tables. It was quite small, with no dressing tables or drawers. Also there was no fridge which was a shame as we bought bottled water daily and would have liked to have kept it cold. The bathroom was cleanish, we did see a hair in the bathroom and the loo, sink and shower looked old and dingy, a more thorough clean was needed. One of the biggest disappointments was the view, our balcony looked out onto a car park, so not quite a sea view. In fact it was a 10 minute walk from the beach, so if you want a beachfront hotel this is not for you. Some positives, it was never too noisy despite being off a busy road, the staff were lovely and the breakfast was nice and had good choice. It's worth knowing it is a dog friendly hotel, although they are not allowed in dining areas. In terms of the resort, Pineda de Mar is beautiful, the beach is magical, although sea was a bit choppy and beach is on a slope. The shops on the seafront are nice and the station is close by and you get to Blanis and Barcelona via train. The train is easy to use. We went to Blainis via train and then took a bus to Lloret De Mar and Tossa. Tossa was picturesque and quiet, Lloret was busy but had a buzzy atmosphere. We also visited Barcelona we went with our tour operator TUI, which we we pre-booked before the holiday, but if we knew it was so easy by train I would recommend doing that instead. Also there was an amazing restaurant called Chicken and Fish in Pineda De Mar, the food was so good we went three times during our holiday! All in all I enjoyed my holiday in Costa Brava, I would have perhaps chosen another hotel, but it was adequate and the fact the staff were friendly and the hotel was small and not too busy meant we thought it was ok, even if we wouldn't stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin E wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed with the room and bathroom, not enough space to put clothes and bathroom needed an upgrade. Beds were made daily but sheets wasn’t changed. View from the balcony was terrible just the rooms opposite.
The food was very poor, same every evening, all meat was on the bone, and not described, just a picture of a pig, cow or chicken. Vegetable choices was poor, and chips were served cold. Choice of pasta with other salads. Breakfast was as bad, wait for bacon to be cooked was every morning, only one toaster so queues built up, only 3 coffee machines. Biggest disappointment was having to pay for water with meals, no condiments on tables.
We found beers and spirits were expensive, we were charged €10 for 2 large beers on the Sun terrace when they should have been cheaper. The vodka seemed to be another type poured into a popular brands bottle.
Some of the staff were pleasant but others didn’t seem to want to be able to be bothered.
A lounge bar on the ground floor could have been used to great affect but wasn’t opened.
Resort on the whole was nice, clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Josep Bosch, Dueño at Hotel Merce
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Dear Mr Elkmore, Thank you very much for your comment that helps us always to improve. We try to do always our best and we are sorry we did you did not fulfil your expectations and you did not enjoy your stay. We take note about the food and we will try to improve it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larraine Y wrote a review May 2024
9 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really happy with everything. WiFi in the room was excellent. Room small but clean and had a balcony. Rooms serviced daily, beds made and fresh towels. The cleaning ladies were so so nice & my daughter loved them!

We went half board. Lots of choices of food, yes it was occasionally luke warm but that was when we took the last of something. Food topped up regularly during breakfast/dinner service. Drinks/snacks reasonably priced but cheaper at local cafes as expected.

10 minute walk from the beach, 2 minutes from shops and a supermarket a few minutes away.

We paid €25 to have a fridge in the room for the week. Best thing we did. Could purchase drinks cheaply at supermarket and keep them cold for our pool days.

The pool was a lovely size but be aware the shallow end is 1 metre, my daughter was about an inch too short to touch the bottom so if she went in I also had too even though she can swim.

Boat trip to Tossa is a must! If you are getting the boat for the glass bottom/see fish experience you will be disappointed. You get 2 minutes to see them and it was anticlimactic. However we went for the trip and the 4 hours in Tossa and for this the cost was well worth it. Wonderful day trip.

All in all this hotel was amazing for what we paid. The staff were lovely and we got exactly what we expected.

My only suggestion would be tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, there was no way to have a hot drink before the 8am breakfast and with a 7 year old who is up early a morning coffee was needed!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pepster56 wrote a review Sept 2023
Winchester, United Kingdom278 contributions302 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is on the edge of a small town, which has lots of eateries and bars.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and fresh smelling, as are the nicely decorated and appointed rooms.
The bar staff, particularly Marina, in the rooftop bar, is efficient and friendly
The price of drinks and snacks is reasonable.
All staff are helpful and friendly, especially if treated with respect for their hard work.
Would recommend this hotel for visiting Barcelona and Blanes as the railway station is on the beach which is about 10/15 minutes walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hapyjames wrote a review Oct 2022
Bedford, United Kingdom28 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What an amazing hotel this was.
Before going I read some of the reviews and was ever so worried.
But I can’t rate this hotel higher than I have.
Myself and my son came out for a week, and we had the time of our lives.
Staff were amazing, food was delicious, even when out of season they had entertainment in the hotel from band night, DJ, and even when there was nothing on they allowed you to sit in the bar play your own music on our tablet and played games with friends we had made while there.

The staff helped us book Barcelona FC, helped us know how to get around and even going to other events etc.

Some town shops closed in early October, but even still there was plenty to do.

The pool on the roof was amazing, plenty of sun
Loungers, the bar was open until 6pm and then the downstairs bar opened.

Our flights were delayed by many hours, but the hotel was very accommodating allowing us to still use all the facilities until our transfer bus arrived.

I would recommend to anyone that is wanting a nice peaceful holiday with the most accommodating staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
philip p wrote a review Sept 2022
New Mills, United Kingdom115 contributions107 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I will start with the hotel . Its small ish but wow we loved it . the food was excellent the room was lovely and clean the cleaners were prompt and did a wonderful job cleaning it .
The staff were very helpful front desk bar staff and restaurant staff .
The town of Pineda was gorgeous and everyone in all the bars and restaurants were friendly and helpful . We haven't been to the Costa Brava for 20 something years but we cant wait to visit again . sitting on the balcony looking over the roof tops of the town eating bread and cheese and drinking local wine at night .

TUI do not use this company our suitcases did not arrive at Girona and we was told they would come the following Wednesday as we arrived on the Saturday .
They didn't , we was then told we would get them on the Friday but we was flying back on the Saturday . We went to pick them up from Manchester Airport to find my wifes suitcase still missing . It is now the 29th September and still not got my wife's suitcase { we got back on the 17th September . Not able to contact TUI direct or speak to a person .
The after care is diabolical and it wasn't just us there are many more with the same problem ..

Will it put us off going to the hotel again not a chance we will fly with a different company ...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Freida W wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
on arrival the hotel is spotless , my room was compact but perfectly adequate for the price . The breakfast was very good and the evening dinner buffet had great choice with fantastic salads . But for me what was outstanding about this hotel was the staff from houskeeping , dining room , bar and reception .
On my second day I had an unfortinate accident in a nearby town , hospital , few broken bones etc .
The hotel staff were fantastic , from ensuring I had food on return fronm the hospital late evening , changing my room so I was more comfortable and the houskeeping staff providing extras like pillows and shower stool , and lots of care and attention ice etc . .
I was truely blessed to be staying here at this time . Thank you all for your care and consideration .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: rooms with balconies .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lou1002015 wrote a review Aug 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom20 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I had two rooms close to each other on the same floor - clean and more than adequate. Hotel is a typical 3 stars, but the simplicity is sometimes what makes a place. Food was generally ok (we found the hot food to be cold during the first couple of days but we waited for the chef to cook the food after this which meant we enjoyed our meals a lot more). We were full board and on the whole the quality/range of the food was very good. The pool was small but adequate for a cool dip - we preferred the terrace area below for sunbathing. No issue getting a sunbed.
We generally took a stroll of an evening but there was a really good Beatles Tribute Act, a rock band and a DJ at the hotel throughout the week.
The town of Pineda de Mar is lovely and we found adequate places to explore during our one week stay as well as enjoyed many evening drinks at one place or another within the town itself. The local market is along the sea front (15 mins walk away) on a Friday morning.
Reception were always very helpful (as were the staff in the Information Centre around the corner), the maids were courteous and the restaurant staff were pleasant too.
Thank you Hotel Mercè for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Passport39942475266 asked a question Feb 2024
1 contribution
Are there hairdryers in bathrooms?
Answer from Alan H
London, United Kingdom145 contributions74 helpful votes
Yes there are
Michelle I asked a question Feb 2024
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom74 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi I'm looking at this hotel is there pools open in April is it warm enough for kids to go in?
Answer from Josepbb
Pineda de Mar, Spain
Warm enough I really do not know..normally spanish people start bathing end - start june but tourists start earlier hehe ! Open will be
Sonia M asked a question Sept 2023
Is there a kettle in the room?
Answer from Josepbb
Pineda de Mar, Spain
Hello, the kettle are not in the rooms. We provide them for free in the Reception. We ask only for a little deposti. Regards
Roxane E wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's not worth your money."
Read full review
Caitlin M wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please don’t stay if u have a baby as a new mum the worry about no cot because staff lie on promise but say sorry to your face unbelievable "
Read full review
Safari814684 wrote a tip Oct 2023
11 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Drinks very pricey, "
Read full review
Alix Behan wrote a tip Oct 2023
Dublin, Ireland53 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is very busy"
Read full review
Simone P wrote a tip Sept 2023
18 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring ear plugs, it's noisy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pineda de Mar area.
PRICE RANGE
£38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
merce hotel pineda de mar, merce pineda de mar, hotel merce
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaPineda de Mar
NUMBER OF ROOMS
161
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL MERCE - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Merce
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Merce?
Nearby attractions include Parròquia de Santa Maria (0.04 miles), Ajuntament de Pineda de Mar (0.06 miles), and Bingo Pineda (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Merce?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Merce?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Merce?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Merce?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Marisqueria PEPET, SABOR é A TE, and Nucky's by St. Jordi.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Merce?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Hotel Merce located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the centre of Pineda de Mar.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Merce?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Merce?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Merce?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Guard Towers Las Torretas (2.9 miles), Refugio Antiaereo (1.7 miles), and La Caseta del Motor (3.9 miles).
Is Hotel Merce accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Pineda de Mar HotelsPineda de Mar Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Pineda de MarHotels near Hotel Merce
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire