Casa Escobar & Jerez
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Casa Escobar & Jerez

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#2 of 2 hotels in Valencia de Alcantara
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Casa Escobar & Jerez is an elegant and charming palace, built in the 16th century in a natural beauty spot of Valencia de Alcantara. The bedrooms are all unique and exquisitely decorated. They all enjoy comfortable king size beds and exclusive bathrooms. The hotel has also a beautiful spa area for private usage, with steam bath and heated Jacuzzi pool, where the guests can also enjoy body massage treatments.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Restaurant
Hiking
Horseback riding
Meeting rooms
Spa
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
26Reviews0Q+A0Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 17
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nella d wrote a review Mar 2012
Noordwijk, The Netherlands9 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for nice accommodation in the country side, we can definitely recommend staying at this Finca which belongs to Hotel Casa Escobar & Jerez.
Located on the Ex110, a short ride from Valencia de Alcantara, this is a place where you find peace and quiet and where you wake up with the sounds of numerous birds.
We stayed a week at the two-bedroom house in March 2012. The house was very comfortable, with a nice living area. We like to do our own cooking most of the time and the kitchen had everything we needed. The beds have good new mattresses.
As it was still a bit chilly at night we turned on the heater and it worked perfect.
Our host Alfonso made us feel very welcome and he gave us lots of great tips on good birding spots. There are many hiking opportunities in the area, as well as beautiful (old) towns to visit of which Marvao, just across the border in Portugal, was one of our favorites.
Valencia de Alcantara has a good supermarket but also a nice outdoor market on Mondays and don’t forget to stop by the hotel Casa Escobar & Jerez to admire the beautiful 16th century building. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel on the last night of our vacation and it made us definitely want to come back for more!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Javoli M wrote a review Aug 2011
St. Albans, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a quality time in this hotel. You can breath and touch a bit of history.
Bedrooms are more than comfortable. The hotel is a return to the tasty past with a high historical value.
Susana and Jose gave us fantastic ideas for both sides of the border Portugal and Spain. We took full advantage of their knowledge of the area.
It´s one of the best kept secret of Spain
Thank you both very much for being welcoming hosts

Marcus & Alice St. Albans, Hertfordshire

Recommend for; Families, Romantic Getaway, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Javier A wrote a review May 2007
Spain20 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you hate the crowds and just looking for a different place this is your option. Right here is all about the charm service from the hotel owners, they love what they are doing

The con (or pro from my point of view) is that is no so close to any major airport so you need to spend almost one hour driving from Caceres discovering the unknown Extremadura country side to reach this small boutique hotel. The pros are the incredible breakfast and rooms, the evidence that you are experiencing the real Spain (no fake English breakfast or Guinees beer here) and is in a short distance to two marvelous Portuguese cities as Marvao and Castelo da Vide. This palce is the perfect stop for a longer travel to the Algavve or Extremadura itself

Seems that they have a promotional rate for stays during the weekend
Read more
Date of stay: May 2007
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosina L wrote a review Aug 2011
Rosina Lardieri19 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
we booked into casa escobar expecting something really special. Since we were on holiday we booked a junior suite, the room was dark and confused a ridiculously large bathroom that was two times the size of the sitting area. The room was extremely dark with one small window, the wallpaper by the bed had water damage, the bedspread had a stain, there were electrical wires coiled into a hole above the toilet where they had never bothered to put up a fixture, and grout splattered on the wall. The "renovation" was very shoddy. If you want to stay in a truly beautifully renovated old parador go to the parador in caceres spain, which is extraordinary and half the price. Speaking of price do be aware that there is a big sign as you approach valencia de alcantara stating that you can get a room at the casa for 45 E a night....much cheaper than anything you find on line. that is a single habitation with no breakfast.

The spa at casa escobar is also a joke, clearly who ever built it has never gone to a steam room, the sitting benches normally wide enough to lay down on our tiny only 6 to 8 inches or so, so it is very difficult to truly get comfortable and relax in the steam room. the door also does not close properly and the window (who ever heard of a window in a steam room) also does not seal properly, so it is hard to get the room up to temperature. The jacuzzi/pool, can't decide what it is, extremely cold water which is nice after the steam, but not really big enough to swim and although it is jetted, water not hot enough to be a jacuzzi....

all in all a very disappointing overpriced experience. we could not wait to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from cjerez, Owner at Casa Escobar & Jerez
Responded 23 Aug 2011
We are very sorry these guests did not value the refurbishment we have made to a XVI century manor house, respecting the spaces and architecture of the building. We regret very much that they only had eyes for the defects of a recent repair. Of course we take note of all of them to rectify. We thank all feedback that help us improve. Since we do not like to have disappointed guests in our house, we offered the choice to change the room and services for a lower rate or even cancel the whole stay with no payment to us, and it was disregarded. We explained that the big sign mentioned, with the offer of 54 € (not 45€) is a different product (15sq m. room instead of the 65 sq m they booked, single room, no breakfast, no welcome detail, no robes, no Bvlgari toilet amenities, check-in in the evening and checkout before 10 am...). We offered them to view the room and they rejected to see it. We did not charge the additional night they decided to cancel, something we had the right to do according to the cancellation terms and conditions. All our attempts to resolve their disappointment were regarded with disdain. The ”nothing town”, Valencia de Alcántara, has the Church of Our Lady of Rocamador, declared National Monument in 1992, The Gothic Quarter, declared Historical-Artistic Group in 1997 and the archeological site of the Dolmens, declared in 1992. Not to mention that Valencia de Alcántara is in the heart of two Natural Parks and Special Bird Protection Area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ivanserg wrote a review Sept 2009
nyc1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are looking for a charming, romantic and historic hotel to stay, you can`t miss this place. My family and I spent our summer hollidays between Spain and Portugal and we stayed at this beautiful hotel recommended by some friends.Great surprise by the way!

It's an little old palace from the 16th century between modern and classical spanish decoration. It feels like you are back in time,with good size rooms and huge bathrooms.
We had the pleasure to have dinner a couple of nights at their restaurant. We had great local food and excellent wines.

We were concerned about English since it is not always easy to find people who speak English in Spain. I have to say, I had no problem at all, especially with Susana, the owner, whose English is great.
Since the hotel has only 9 or 10 rooms, it gives it a cozy feel.
We had the chance to enjoy their SPA, and get massages, very professional, very relaxing!

The area is very nice, very cultural. Portugal is only 5 miles away with beatiful towns to visit. There is also a very beautiful golf course near by.
I highly recommend this hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chris_FFM wrote a review Mar 2009
Frankfurt am Main - Germany7 contributions18 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a beautiful hotel and really an awesome building. Unfortunately during our stay we have been the only guests and so the restaurant., the cafeteria and the spa were closed. That is sad, especially if you have paid a room price which included 1 hour in that private spa.
As well there are now good restaurants in the town so you basically depend on the hotel-restaurant if you don't want to drive to one of the bigger places around every evening. At the first evening they improvisated a dinner for us which was average at most, but charged a ridiculously high price for it. Because there was no chance to buy a tee or something to drink during the day in the hotel, we couldn't make to much use of the very nice terrace or the other rooms. Basically we have used this 4-star-hotel as a holiday apartment and bought our one stuff in the supermarket.

Of course it would have been much easier, if our command of the spanish language would have been better or the staff could speak english with us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2009
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Valencia de Alcantara area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
casa escobar jerez
LOCATION
SpainExtremaduraProvince of CaceresValencia de Alcantara
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CASA ESCOBAR & JEREZ - Updated 2024 Prices, Reviews, and Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Casa Escobar & Jerez
Which popular attractions are close to Casa Escobar & Jerez?
Nearby attractions include Barrio Gotico Judio (0.2 miles), Bernabe (0.1 miles), and Franju (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Casa Escobar & Jerez?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Casa Escobar & Jerez?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Casa Escobar & Jerez?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Casa Escobar & Jerez?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asador Al-Joleo, Restaurante El Convento, and Bar El Rincón de Calleja.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Casa Escobar & Jerez?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Is Casa Escobar & Jerez located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Valencia de Alcantara.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Casa Escobar & Jerez?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Casa Escobar & Jerez?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barrio Gotico Judio (0.2 miles).
All Valencia de Alcantara HotelsValencia de Alcantara Hotel DealsHotels near Casa Escobar & Jerez
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire