We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oysterfleet Hotel

Toprooms.comUS$64*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Oysterfleet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of The Oysterfleet Hotel
 Click to rate
Heywood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very quick check in process, good location, really comfy beds - was in Room 30 with 3 single beds for the group I was with. Part of the check in process I was asked for card details should there be any damage done to the room. Unfortunately that had already been done, the bathroom door had either been kicked or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyCorns
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed you recent stay with us. We were aware of the door and throw prior to your check in and as told on departure are currently awaiting on new furniture to arrive. There will be no charges on your behalf We hope to welcome...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

This marks the second occasion i've stayed at the oysterfleet. Both times we were kept awake half the night by locals with their music turned up so loud it was like a stereo was on my room. Service is good and the lady on reception was lovely but the drinks in the bar are pretty pricey, breakfast was mediocre and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. If you had a booked a room that was allocated above our function suite then you would of been told about the noise from the music. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms and food on site. We will pass on your comments to the restaurant staff regarding breakfast....

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We were staying overnight as we were at a family birthday party. Check in was easy, room was comfortable and clean, bed was really comfortable and it was quiet. A lovely restful room right in the town so when I realised I had forgotten my shampoo and condition it was easy to pop and buy some. Exactly what we wanted

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 506Chrissie1953
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms We aim for high standards and are very happy we met all your expectations. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2017

Nobody likes to have to arrange a Wake for their parent. Dad and I are so pleased we decided to hold my mums wake at the Oysterfleet Hotel. From start to finish the restaurant manager and staff were very attentative and professional. The room we used was perfect, the food delicious and plentiful and service spot on. We would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda535rag
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. We are happy to have helped making such a sad day easier for you all. I was pass on your comments to the restaurant staff and kitchen. Thank you for a lovely review and we wish you all well

London
Reviewed 12 March 2017

This is a very pleasant hotel. I stayed there for 4 nights and had no problems whatsoever. The staff are very friendly and helpful although there is no one on site at night. You are provided with a contact number if there are any problems. I didn't try the food so cannot comment on this. Like other reviewers I did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fellowtraveller_8
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms and the quality of your stay. We are aware that some the walls are quite thin, we are just glad this wasn't a problem for you. We hope to welcome you...

East Wittering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Easy check in. Very pleasant staff. Nice clean large room. Offers excellent value for money. Had lunch in the bar area. Typical pub type food. Good portion and again good value. Lovely breakfast in the Lighthouse Restaurant. Good choice of juices, cereals etc. Full English was cooked well with no trace of grease etc. Full marks for being the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grasscut
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms and food on site. We aim for high standards and are very happy we met all your expectations. I'm glad I was able to get you out of the toilet safely...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

clean rooms , a bit old, small tv, food was ok, staff was great. the bar was fun again staff where very good think i over tipped them.over its was fine the room let them down in my book. getting a taxi was mad. pre-book!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darren b
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms. We are currently undergoing maintenance on our rooms, however it is a long process. Our local taxi firm can be quite busy, especially of a weekend and we do advise people...

Merseyside, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Stayed at the Oysterfleet hotel on Saturday night. Was a little apprehensive due to some of the comments, but was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were basic but comfortable (great beds) and had all the amenities you would get from a more expensive hotel. We had bar food which did take some time to arrive but was excellent. Staff were very friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lol_mar_wat
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear the room was comfortable and the new beds were of good comfort. I will pass on your comments regarding the food to the kitchen and we shall hopefully see you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night for friends 50th wedding anniversary. Stayed quite a few times. Nice clean rooms with tea and coffee making facilities and Tv. Bar and restaurant area was busy for a Saturday afternoon. Would recommend this hotel if your planning a visit to Canvey Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peter51-12
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to hear you have visited us on numerous occaisons. We shall hopefully see you again in the future.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Very friendly, clean and tidy. Food was nice, and well presented. Stayed there for one weekend on a business trip. Would definitely be back for the price. Beds was very comfortable, and the beer and food was a reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seamaster813
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments regarding the food to the kitchen and we shall hopefully see you again in the future.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.5 mi away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
50 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
693 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
579 reviews
5.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,150 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oysterfleet hotel is a family run hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. The hotel has 40 rooms that are all en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV's and hairdryers. A wide range of accommodation is available including single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, family rooms, interconnecting rooms and our suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. Access to the internet is BT Open Zone and charges will be applied. We have both a pub that serves bar meals every day and an a'la carte restaurant on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oysterfleet Hotel Canvey Island, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Room 26 upwards were possible”
AndyCorns, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pre-book taxi”
darrenb_12, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 20 there is a fan noise all night.”
Hippychris, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy your food we did.”
benfleetjan, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel, plenty of choice off the island”
196pamelah, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Toprooms.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$67
Hotels.comUS$67
Expedia.comUS$67
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates