We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Lakeland Leisure Village

Save
Share
Borwick Lane, Carnforth LA6 1BH England
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity
Booking.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (203)
Dining (11)
Room & Suite (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 11 in Carnforth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled between the dramatic landscape of the southern Lake District, the rolling Yorkshire Dales and the coastline of Morecambe Bay, South Lakeland Leisure Village is an exclusive development of luxurious Lake District holiday lodges. Set around a picturesque lake in 43 acres of beautifully maintained grounds. South Lakeland Leisure Village is truly a holiday haven.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Paid wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Family
233Reviews31Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 50
  • 21
  • 11
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Linda J wrote a review 19 Jun
Manchester, United Kingdom20 contributions26 helpful votes
Just spent 2 nights at 28 Borwick Lakes. A privately owned static. Absolutely immaculate. Fully equipped with everything you could need. Can't say the same for the leisure Village across the road. We booked this site for my Husbands birthday weekend and mainly for the gym and swimming pool. My 17 year old grandson is a fitness fanatic so he was so much looking forward to using the gym and other amenities. On the day of arrival we paid £10 for him to use the gym which he loved. The second day my husband son in law and grandson went across to use the gym expecting and happy to pay the entrance fee of £30 for all of them. Only to be told by a very arrogant gym manager that they were not allowed in as we were not residents! They tried to explain that our grandson had paid £10 the day before and had used the gym no problem. This they denied. Unfortunately my grandson was Not issued with a day pass as proof. We had booked a table for the 5 of us to dine in the restraunt there. Because of the terrible and rude way we were spoken to I cancelled the booking. Leisure Village loss was pine lakes gain as we used all their facilities with no problem we also dined there spent around £200+ with them. Obviously leisure Village don't need the business. What made things even worse is that we have owned a static on fell end for 10 years (site owned by pure leisure) this is no slight on our stay at Borwick Lakes. The star rating for Borwick is a 5.star rating for staffs attitude at leisure Village is a 0
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Graham P wrote a review 15 Jun
1 contribution7 helpful votes
I booked to stay here with Pureleisuregroup.com. Appalling!! Don’t book through them EVER! Deferred my booking for 2 years due to COVID which I happily waited for. 3 days before my booking I called to explain my wife was dying of terminal cancer and had broken her hip so couldn’t travel, could I have a refund or rearrange my booking. Their response…..we can extend your booking by 1 week! Wow, don’t know what planet they’re from but the last I was aware of someone who is inoperable due to terminal cancer can’t re-grow a hip in a week! Zero compassion, only want your money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Butsy19 wrote a review 9 Jun
Scotland, United Kingdom456 contributions228 helpful votes
Just returned from a 4 night caravan stay at No 1 Borwick Lakes, booked privately through booking.com. The caravan had nearly everything you needed for a short stay, (no iron or ironing board) but it did include great reliable wifi once we got it working. Nice quiet area, on the opposite side to the main South Lakeland Leisure Village, but within a couple of minutes walk, best to walk through Yealands as they have a pavement right to the leisure village. On-site bar and restaurant was good, busy at weekends, but check opening times before you go, as closed Monday and Tuesday afternoons/evenings. No shop on site, however plenty to choose from in Carnforth which is only a couple of miles away, or the Farm shop up at Greenlands, opposite Longlands Inn/Restaurant (which by the way, is definitely worth a visit) The whole area is ideally situated for visiting many locations, like Arnside, Silverdale, Kirkby Lonsdale to name a few. Plenty of walking options in the area and the 555 Lakes bus stops close by too. Overall, a great stay and we could have easily stayed longer. We would happily stay again, however we may opt for a lodge in the main part of the village overlooking the larger lake if we could get one.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pure Leisure, Marketing at South Lakeland Leisure Village
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed your time on park and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
MelanieAnn12 wrote a review 8 Jun
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom23 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed last week Mon-Fri during half term. We booked through Lakeland Leasure and stayed in a gold pet friendly Clearwater lodge, (35 Sherwood) which was a privately owned lodge and was lovely, spotlessly clean other than the outside which doesn't seem to get cleaned. So when we arrived I cleaned the outside table, chair's and give the decking a bit of a sweep. Although the website said trowels not provided there were towels provided. We received a 1 day pass for the indoor pool but didn't use it. One of the rain storms we had affected the signal on the TV. The TV did have Netflix and we got the WiFi password from reception. We had my parent's with us and mum uses a wheelchair outdoors, the site is easy to get around with wheelchairs/buggys etc. The waters edge bar was not open on the Mon and Tues after 2.30pm which we thought a shame as it was school holidays. We only had drinks there on our last day, the food coming out looked nice. The Local area is nice with a few dog friendly pubs we had lovely meals I the Cross Keys and Canal Turn. We visited Morecombe which is about 8miles away. Keswick took an hour to get to and that's the farthest we travelled. Bowness/Windermere easy to get to and took about 30mins. We had a lovely break away and would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pure Leisure, Marketing at South Lakeland Leisure Village
Responded 1 week ago
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Jules0915 wrote a review 6 Jun
Manchester, United Kingdom84 contributions79 helpful votes
+1
Platinum lodge! See pictures enough said! Made a complaint been fobbed off. Utter joke of a place £300 per night for a filthy run down dump!! First night we had no lights in the bedroom as electrics tripped couldn’t find the fuse box no welcome pack to explain who to contact the electrician who came the following day spent nearly an hour try to find the fuse box himself. Reported this dump to the site manager he offered up send in a cleaner! It needed more than a cleaner & why wasn’t it cleaned & repaired before we arrived?? We shouldn’t have to spend our holiday surrounded by cleaners when this should have never been left in this state.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
patricia e wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Stayed at south lakeside leisure village Duckling lodge the cabin was beautiful so clean and well thought out a real home from home loverly touches like welcome pack great stocked draws tin foil cling film etc seen some great reviews when we booked also seen a bad review which in my opinion was totally unfair and untrue Wi-Fi was great even had Netflix free hot tub great great sized bathroom loved it Pat and Ronnie Liverpool stayed 20th to 27th May 2022
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Pure Leisure, Marketing at South Lakeland Leisure Village
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay on South Lakeland Leisure Village. Kind Regards.
Read more
hwatson1705 wrote a review May 2022
Fleetwood, United Kingdom58 contributions13 helpful votes
We had a 3 night stay in one of the lodges & it was just what we needed! Nice quiet park with amazing views from the decking. Lovely Clean & modern lodge that was a perfect trip for a long weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pure Leisure, Marketing at South Lakeland Leisure Village
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hello, thank you for your review. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your recent visit to South Lakeland Leisure Village and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards.
Read more
Emma K wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a lovely 3 night stay with the kids. The lodge with sunken hot tub overlooking the lake was lovely, really spacious and modern. The gripe I would say with the whole trip was the swimming pool. Over the weekend their was constant swimming lessons which didn’t bother us but their was crowds of parents sat around the pool which made me feel uncomfortable going into the sauna etc also a communal small changing room was not great. , loads of naked people wondering around when I had my 7 year old was embarrassing. I was advised to use the toilets for privacy which I feel is dirty. Such a shame because the kids love swimming but this would put me off potentially coming again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Pure Leisure, Marketing at South Lakeland Leisure Village
Responded 10 May 2022
Hello, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a lovely stay with us and are sorry to hear that you weren't happy with our pool facilities. The swimming pool does support local swimming clubs and our facilities are capable of providing enough space for all users. Kind Regards.
Read more
judrop500 wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom48 contributions88 helpful votes
Came with my partner and two children (9&1). Nothing for kids to do. Small pool, no baby pool, no slide, no toys. Grim changing rooms, toilets that haven’t been cleaned for weeks (see photo), paint peeling off the changing room wall - not even swept up. £20 for the four of us to swim - may as well have gone to a council leisure centre. Didn’t visit the restaurant but noticed they put their prices up while we were there. One small playpark - no baby swing! How to make your toddler devastated in one trip to the park. Generally a joyless place to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Avoid coming with children
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pure Leisure, Marketing at South Lakeland Leisure Village
Responded 6 May 2022
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment but may we point out that we don't advertise having a baby pool, slides or toys. We have passed your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the changing rooms on to our cleaning team. Kind Regards.
Read more
chrisatthirtymetres wrote a review Apr 2022
north of manchester75 contributions51 helpful votes
Nice site & accommodation,but unfortunately spoilt by too many nasty & petty people,who we presume own their own lodges& shout abuse at you,if you as much as stand on a piece of their grass.Looks like they look on holiday makers as intruders!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Pure Leisure, Marketing at South Lakeland Leisure Village
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Hello, thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you had issues during your stay, if you call us on 01524 917313 and we can investigate this for you. Kind Regards.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$150 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLancashireLancaster DistrictCarnforth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about South Lakeland Leisure Village
Which popular attractions are close to South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Nearby attractions include Leighton Hall (1.5 miles), RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve (2.6 miles), and Carnforth Station Heritage Centre (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moochin' About Espresso Bar - Persian Kitchen, New Inn Restaurant, Yealand, and The Eagles Head.
Are there opportunities to exercise at South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are pets allowed at South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to South Lakeland Leisure Village?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Heron Corn Mill (4.6 miles), Warton Old Rectory (1.0 miles), and Arnside Tower (4.2 miles).
Does South Lakeland Leisure Village have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is South Lakeland Leisure Village accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.