We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Thainstone House

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (494)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (65)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Inverurie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Crerar Hotel's Thainstone House has been lovingly restored to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms which have been tastefully refurbished at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of the 1 AA Rosette awarded Green Lady restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Business
974Reviews13Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 485
  • 259
  • 122
  • 68
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lorna M wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Lovely stay with welcoming and efficient staff. Room was well equipped and very comfortable with personal touches i.e. tea and coffee selection and snacks. All the food served was of excellent quality.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Lorna, thanks very much for your time in leaving feedback, the team are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you sincerely for your kind words. Best wishes Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JMadeline wrote a review Feb 2024
Scotland, United Kingdom12 contributions8 helpful votes
When I arrived to Thainstone House they said they didn’t receive a booking for 3 people on their system. However my confirmation from Hotels.com on my online account and by email confirmed I booked for 3 people. We were made to feel it was our fault they did not know there was 3 people staying and that is why the sofa bed was not made up for the other family member in our party. The hotel blamed Expedia/ Hotels.com. I was also accused by the general hotel manager who made a comment I had underpaid and would need to double check when I had confirmation on my phone. The second night the fire alarm went off at 2.30am which I understand can happen. People have died in fires in hotels in Scotland. Unfortunately it woke everyone in our party up. There was also no fire evacuation plan or procedure on the back of the room door. Which is a concern. When my relative went to the reception in early hours in the morning to the night porter they said it was set off by someone taking a shower and it was the steam. However, lots of people take showers throughout the day and does the fire alarm set off then? I did not get back to sleep until nearer 4am and check out was at 11am. Therefore did not have a restful sleep. A generic letter was put through the door but only after verbally complaining in the early hours of the morning. When checking out there was no verbal apology from the receptionist for the stress or inconvenience caused or an explanation what set off the fire alarm. I understand these things can happen but you need to explain to customers and apologise for the disruption. If anything the receptionist was rude and was actually raising her voice and shouting at myself by not letting me speak. Other customers were also rude and aggressive especially an older man who was trying to intimidate myself. When I tried to leave the reception area she continued to shout at myself as I walked away to leave. It was not professional. This stay was for a weekend trip for a family birthday. The staff made the stay in this hotel not enjoyable from start to finish. I have stayed in various hotels across the UK and abroad. Overall, this has to be one of the worst stays I have had in a hotel, very poor customer service and lack of insight by staff involved.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jmadelaine24, Thank you for your feedback. Firstly forgive any misunderstanding regarding the situation with your pull down bed. The point that seems to have been misunderstood was that we were endeavouring to apologise for the fact your room was not prepared as expected; this resulted from the fact that the confirmation we (The Hotel) received stated two adults, not the three that your on line confirmation stated. Therefore the housekeeping team did not prepare the pull down bed. Rates are charged per room and not per person, Unless additional food and beverage services are required. The automatic Fire alarm will activate when it senses any element in the ambient atmosphere around the sensor that may indicate a potential fire. In this instance this was caused by a guest unwittingly triggering the alarm by showering with the bathroom door open; the steam will appear to the sensor as smoke and break the circuit triggering the alarm. This happens at any time of day and is a critical life safety feature designed to protect our customers, and one I am grateful works effectively. As you rightly say, people die in fires and this is normally exacerbated by poor fire control systems and procedures, neither of which are apparent at Thainstone House, as verified by our fire officer who called me this week to discuss the alarm following your stay. He was pleased with our procedures and Fire risk assessment. I have checked the room you occupied and can confirm that there is a Fire Notice and indicator route evacuation map on the back of the door, this was again verified by the fire officer to be the case. I also took the liberty of checking the other 48 rooms in the hotel, all of which have a notice on the back of the door. At 2am we feel it would exacerbate the situation to go to each of our rooms and explain in detail the reason for the alarm, and cause further guest upset to be disturbed after the fact. As a standard we post, I agree, a fairly generic apology and more importantly assurance that all is safe and that guests should relax in the knowledge that no real fire exists. Again personalising these would be restrictive in terms of delivery. I am very sorry that you found Clare to be rude, this is certainly not feedback I have ever had regarding her customer service, indeed I received praise regarding her service from guests following the fire alarm. I will of course discuss this matter with her further to ensure that I have not missed any elements of feedback. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the fire alarm, and to hear that other guests were rude and aggressive towards you, that is not something I would wish for any guest. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your stay for the reasons stated within your feedback. We do very much pride ourselves on excellent customer service, as shown by the vast majority of our direct and online feedback. Kind regards Ian Gray
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jnewlands01 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
If you are looking for a place to switch off and relax this is a great hotel set in rural location. The staff are very helpful and attentive. Food was varied and tasty. Facilities at the gym and pool are very good. Double room is cosy the king size room is more spacious if you are staying longer than a day or 2. Sleep quality marked down as there was a fire alarm at 2.30am. At least it works.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, and thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the team at Thainstone, and the hotel in general. Thanks also for your kind understanding of the fire alarm in the wee small hours, unavoidable and regrettable, but as you say reassuring that it works well !! We hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stephen B wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
This really is a four-star hotel. Try the full scottish breakfast - high quality Scottish produce perfectly cooked and served with a smile!!! This place pays acute attention to detials and makes one's stay pleasant, relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Stephen, what a kind and considered review, the team will be delighted to have been recognised in such glowing terms, it really does mean a lot to them. I agree our breakfast is pretty unbeatable, I do love Stornoway Black pudding We hope to welcome you back soon Best wishes Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mo wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We drove up on Friday night and were warmly welcomed by the lovely woman behind reception. We really enjoyed having a drink in the bar by the fire and had an amazing sleep in our comfy room. The hotel is very clean, warm and genuinely quite stunning. We had a wonderful breakfast in the morning and enjoyed the spa- the girls in the spa are so helpful and kind! I loved speaking to them. It’s only a £10 or so taxi fare to town so we had a super time out in Inverurie before returning to the hotel for another lovely night. In the morning we had received a letter through our door with profuse apologies about the fire alarm being set off. We were appreciative of the letter and it shows that the hotel cares about you as a guest. As it is a fire alarm we completely understood that this is out of the control of human hands- and are glad it works!!!!!! Upon checkout we were witness to a couple taking it upon themselves to verbally abuse the aforementioned receptionist over the fire alarm issue. I have to give all of my compliments to this member of staff as they handled the (absolutely heinous) situation with grace and patience even as this customer became more and more irate and frankly unreasonable. She kept calm and held her own and was still able to provide us and the other guests witness to this with a lovely and professional goodbye as we left. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area- so relaxing, welcoming and homely whilst feeling luxurious at the same time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mo, it was very nice to read your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel, thank you. The team are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and were delighted to learn hat you praised them personally. Thanks also for your understanding of the regrettable disturbance caused y the unexpected activation of the fire alarm. We would love to welcome you back to the hotel for another relaxing (not withstanding the fire alarm !!) stay. Thanks again for your lovely sentiments. Best Wishes Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bruce wrote a review Feb 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom189 contributions101 helpful votes
+1
A bit of vehicle trouble led me to Thainstone House Inverurie Set in palatial grounds ten minutes from the town the visit was well worth it Very impressive entryway leading upstairs to reception to be greeted by Emma (superstar) I was allocated a room and a toothbrush as I was travelling extremely light Room on first floor double bed en suite clean towels and warm I was dinner bed and breakfast and this did not disappoint either Two courses and two glasses of red from an extensive wine list Utilised bar which was inexpensive Breakfast was superb with many choices I went with the pancakes bacon n syrup Magnificent Checked out at 1100 As a stranger and outwith my comfort zone I was well looked after A big thank you to the staff for that Taxi arranged into town for train to Aberdeen then home… A really chilled experience after a stressful day !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Dont eat the dog biscuits !
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
KayDollive wrote a review Feb 2024
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom114 contributions38 helpful votes
A great stay at Thainstone from start to finish. We got one of their Winter deals which included dinner, bed and breakfast. The food was lovely and although the evening menu didn't change in the two nights we were there, there was plenty of choice. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Our bedroom was perhaps slightly dated but it was spacious with a very comfortable bed. It had a bath as well as a shower which was a treat. The communal areas, the bar and lounge were gorgeous with welcoming fires. The staff were really nice - always helpful and friendly. We used the leisure centre and enjoyed the gym, the pool and the thermal experience. I had a brilliant Face and Body Sensation treatment from Rachel - very relaxing. Plenty to see and do in this part of Aberdeenshire, even in January and I'd highly recommend Thainstone House
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dawn Murray wrote a review Jan 2024
Arbroath, United Kingdom38 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
What can I say apart from WOW From the moment you drive through the gates and up the long winding drive and then met with such a stunning building paired with the peaceful setting of a private wooded area of the countryside, you feel relaxed instantly. There are a few steps as soon as you come in the door, but once you are in, it’s stunning…. Staff were excellent, polite and friendly. We were staying in the “King Suite” and it was very clean and spacious. Beds were very comfortable, and lots of extra little “bits”. Excellent variety of choice for breakfast Will definitely be back, and will be staying for longer…. Who knows maybe for my birthday (LOL)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Dawnzer, Thanks very much for your recent review following your stay with us at Thainstone House hotel. We are really grateful for your feedback, and thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel and the team, they are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back tio the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rachel wrote a review Jan 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates4 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed at Thainstone House multiple times over the summer, as well as in October and November with my two small children and sister. The staff are amazing, so accommodating and helpful! The kids enjoyed running around and walking around the grounds looking for rabbits in the morning after breakfast. It’s a beautiful property. Some of the rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade but nothing major. The breakfast is delicious. And I often enjoyed unwinding at the end of the day with a whisky by the fire in the big lounge overlooking the grounds - just what a busy mind needs to relax. 😌
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Vavavintage, Thank you for taking time to leave feedback after your recent visit to the Thainstone house Hotel. Your very kind comments about the team have been very well received, they are genuinely delighted to be recognised as amazing accommodating and helpful. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Best wishes Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
anna k wrote a review Jan 2024
10 contributions
Amazing Hogmanay stay - cannot fault the experience from start to finish. We had a lovely receptionist welcome us to the hotel and were able to check in at 12 prior to visiting the spa. I had a fantastic massage and facial from Mia and afternoon tea was brilliant - loved the warm mince pies. Board games by the fire in the bar whilst having a gin was so cosy and our male waiter was super attentive and friendly! Amazing eggs royale and bucksfizz was an unexpected touch, thank you again :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM Thainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Hi Anna thank you for your feedback, the team are thrilled to bits that you had such a great stay at the hotel. Hogmanay was a great night at the hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed the spa, the bar and the dining. Our eggs royale washed down with a wee bit of bucks fizz are just what you need on new years day. DO come back and see us again soon. Kind regards Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Inverurie area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
swallow thainstone house hotel inverurie, swallow thainstone hotel, thainstone house hotel, swallow thainstone inverurie, thainstone hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireInverurie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THAINSTONE HOUSE - Updated 2024 Reviews (Inverurie)

Frequently Asked Questions about Thainstone House
Which popular attractions are close to Thainstone House?
Nearby attractions include Castle Fraser Garden & Estate (4.8 miles), Garioch Heritage Centre (2.1 miles), and East Aquhorthies Stone Circle (2.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thainstone House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Thainstone House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Thainstone House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thainstone House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Spice Of Life, The Drouthy Laird, and Fennel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thainstone House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Thainstone House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Thainstone House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thainstone House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Thainstone House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castle Fraser Garden & Estate (4.8 miles), East Aquhorthies Stone Circle (2.8 miles), and Fintray Parish Church & Morthouse (4.5 miles).
Does Thainstone House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.