Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Mole Resort

Traveller (718)
Room & Suite (114)
Dining (48)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Chittlehamholt
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
Nestled in the Devonshire countryside, formerly the Highbullen Hotel, The Mole Resort is a brand new offering for fabulous stays and active days. Spread over 127 acres, the Resort boasts of 58 Eco conscious 2, 3 and 4 bedroom lodges, a Manor House , Estate rooms and Cottages along with an Indoor and Outdoor swimming pool. From hot tubs with breathtaking views allowing you to reconnect with nature, to jam-packed days filled with over 40 activities, and a number of restaurants and bars offering locally sourced produce, you’re certain to make unforgettable moments.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Archery
Game room
Children's playground
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Hiking
Mini golf
Tennis court
Billiards
Fishing
Table tennis
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Dishwasher
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
1,083Review11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 680
  • 255
  • 79
  • 39
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rianna9396 wrote a review Mar 2020
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we were greeted by a very welcoming receptionist and the fires were lit, creating a very warm atmosphere. We were then informed that we had been given a free upgrade to one of the rooms in the actual manor house, which was a lovely surprise. The room itself was beautiful, spacious and clean. We stayed in the Chinoiserie room. It had a huge four poster bed, sofa, bay windows, beautiful views of the countryside and gardens and a spacious wardrobe. The bathroom was very clean but could be in need of modernising/updating (the shower and bath in particular). The bed was very comfortable and my partner and I slept very well on all three nights of our stay. We had our room serviced everyday with the staff replacing towels, bottles of water, tea and coffee and biscuits and of course making the bed.
We had bed and breakfast so wasn't able to try the dinner. Breakfast was really nice each morning with a buffet set out and also a hot selection if we wanted. The service was brilliant and really quick and the Devon View Restaurant really does have beautiful views even on a rainy day!
The location of the hotel is very remote so be prepared for a few country lanes on your way there. However, due to it being in the countryside our stay was so peaceful and quiet and made it so easy for us to relax.
The swimming pool was a perfect temperature and very clean. The Jacuzzi was also very clean and relaxing with beautiful views of the Devon hills. The Sauna and Steam room were also up to a very high standard even though I personally don't enjoy the heat! The female changing rooms could have done with some updating and maybe being made a bit more modern. My partner did say that the male's changing rooms didn't have any changing rooms at all, and got changed at a bench with no privacy, so I think this is something that definitely needs looking into for privacy reasons. If you are a guest at the hotel, you are also given towels on arrival at the swimming pool.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay at Highbullen, my highlights would definitely be the views and the bed! It really did feel like a peaceful getaway.
The only things that I personally feel need improving on are:
The bath and shower in our room needed updating and modernising.
The changing rooms (Male and Female) need updating and modernising.
Everything else was wonderful and I would love to go back for another stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Tearle, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Many thanks for your review, your comments regarding the Bath and Shower as well as the changing rooms are noted. It is hoped that these challenges will be remedied soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison B wrote a review Aug 2020
Trowbridge, United Kingdom30 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at Highbullen several times in the past. A lovely high class country hotel. I was a bit apprehensive about what to expect during this pandemic. My temperature was taken from my wrist on arrival and my details taken from the friendly receptionist behind a perspex screen. My room was sealed and from that point on no one but me would be entering the room - replacement towels, bedding etc were available if required for me to replace. At first I thought it was strange, then I had a chat with myself and realised that the safety of the staff and customers was obviously paramount to the hotel management and rightly so. I was allocated a table in the dining room for my entire stay and the waiting staff all wore face masks. My room was of the usual high standard and the food was excellent. Well done High Bullen for maintaining such high standards during these strange times and for going above and beyond with adhering to the governments Covid measures. I felt very safe during my stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Tearle, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Dear Alisson, Thank you for your kind review. The team have put a lot of effort into planning our response to the Covid challenge. I a so pleased that you felt safe during your visit and will pass your comments onto all the teams Regards David
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma O wrote a review Aug 2021
Middlewich, United Kingdom188 contributions67 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I came to stay here for a week in august 2021. We ended up staying only 6 nights rather than 7 due to the combination of the hotels location and the poor British weather!!

The hotel is 15 minutes from South Molton, half an hour from Barnstaple and an hour from the coast. We knew this when booking the hotel but hadn’t thought this to be an issue. However due to the poor weather my partner didn’t get to play golf as much as he would have liked and the spa wasn’t able to offer any treatments whilst we were there. So the reasons for having booked Highbullen kind of fell apart!!

HOWEVER as for the actual hotel:
We were in one of the green view rooms. It was lovely and spacious. It is at most 10 mins away from the main house but we were more than happy for this as meant we were not disturbed by people leaving the bar or going to breakfast.

The breakfast is lovely, but arrive early! The one morning we went down at 9.15 they were certainly busy!!

The cellar bar is lovely, fairly priced, friendly staff.

We ate at both the cellar bar and the Devon view restaurant. Both were good. The Devon view was excellent!! Would highly recommend.

The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The only down for the hotel that I felt could be addressed was the fact the room was not serviced during the 6 days we were there. We were told that this would be the case and did collect fresh towels half way through our stay, however I had to ask twice for these. When guests are staying for a long time it would make sense to empty the bins etc even if not change the sheets.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go to breakfast early. Pre-book restaurants here and the local area
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 23 Aug 2021
Dear Emma O, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. It is heartwarming to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We will share your kind words with our team. We are thrilled that you found the Devon View excellent, thank you. We truly value your feedback and we do hope that we will have an opportunity to host you at Highbullen again. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jude wrote a review Jun 2021
Marlow, United Kingdom10 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Really disappointed in the 3 days we spent in this lovely location in Devon. Paying £270 night for bed and breakfast we were expecting something pretty special. 4 star Country hotel, gold club and spa, this was special treat for us both. Not sure where to start with our disappointment, but I will say the restaurant in the evening was great, fine dining at its best and the lovely pub in the village was equally as good for great food and a more casual and affordable menu.
Our disappointment starts with the breakfast, this was quite a big issue for us as a key part of our holiday. We expected locally sourced produce, bacon, sausage, eggs etc and at least a vegetarian option for myself. We had to order our breakfast the evening before, I am still not sure why. The bacon option was streaky only, I asked if there was an alternative, but that was all that was available. My husband ordered the full English and I ordered poached eggs. He received 1 slice of streaky bacon, 1 egg ( the smallest poached egg I have ever seen), 1 sausage (another small skinny option), 1 mushroom and half a plate of beans. I would have been disappointed with this breakfast in a corner cafe for £5! I was delivered a large plate with 1 small poached egg on it with a thin slice of white buttered bread on the side. ( I don’t eat white bread), I think they must have trimmed the eggs! The second day I ordered yogurt and fruit, (the evening before), and was told at breakfast they had ran out of yogurt.
Staff just seemed disengage and uninterested, it was such a shame. When we checked out we were asked to empty our bins in the room and put any waste into a black bin liner, at this stage I just refused. We had no room service during our stay, which I understand to some degree, but to ask us to empty our own bins as we left was just too much.
The spa wasn’t open, but nothing to say this when we booked and pool closed at 4pm, so after returning from a days walking and cycling we never got to use it.
We are keen to support British tourism, but with this level of service and such poor customer focus, it’s not going to be our first choice for future holidays. It’s time to put COVID behind us and get back on track with good quality value for money. Just because we are all desperate to get away, it doesn’t mean we are happy to put up with these standards.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
WaltR wrote a review Jun 2021
Devon, United Kingdom1,433 contribution273 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I booked a romantic break as it was our golden wedding anniversary and stayed in the loft suite in the main house. The suite is very spacious with sauna, steam/shower room with w.c. and basin, sitting room with tv, another toilet and basin, bedroom with free standing bath and basin. The bed was very comfortable and both prosecco and chocolates were included in the deal along with dinner and breakfast. Dinner was in the Devon View Restaurant and it was lovely with the fillet steak being one of the best I have ever had. The restaurant was relatively quiet and the service was excellent but breakfast the following morning was a let down. There were no gluten free cereals available (the restaurant already knew my wife suffered from coeliac), too few staff for the amount of people eating but above all else was the size of the portions - it was the smallest sausage I've ever seen, there was one small rasher of bacon and the poached egg was also the smallest I've ever seen - I left still feeling hungry and when you're spending in excess of £300 for a one night stay they could and should do better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The loft suite in the main house is very nice for a touch of luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yorkshire Lad - The Original wrote a review May 2022
York, United Kingdom1,642 contribution876 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It's been a difficult time for the hotel, hospitality and events industry. Challenges in 2022 continue with increasing prices and the problems of staff recruitment and retention. Covid hit hard. Brexit (in my humble opinion) hasn't helped from a staffing point of view and the market is different. Clients now have ever increasing expectations and demands.

It wasn't therefore a surprise to see extensive development and construction work going on in the grounds of the "Grand Old Lady" that is The Highbullen Hotel. New, upmarket, high quality lodges are springing up. Creative plans for a major upgrade to the "resort" are rapidly taking shape. Meanwhile sitting proudly above the sea of change is a majestic Victorian mansion that has seen numerous reincarnations over the years.

But one thing remains intact. Critically all the staff that we came in to contact with are right on their game. Smiles, helfullness and a chef who is worthy of his two AA Rosettes. They are the constant in a turbulent World.

The rooms in the old house are large, a harp back to days of splendid grandeur and are still of good, clean working order. They could do with a bit of a revamp, but these things don't come cheap in old buildings. One tip, check to ensure your request for a twin is actioned and if travelling with elderly people remember there are a limited number of walk in showers. A bit of a wobble here, but sorted out by a receptionist whose voice is calming, her actions impressive.

We were in an outside building called the Courtyard. And this might not appeal to everyone, ie having a short walk/drive from the "Old Lady" down to estate houses that have been converted to good sized bedrooms. But this small inconvenience - a positive for some - isn't really a problem and the key thing, the Housekeepers are right on it. Cleanliness is next to Godliness in Yorkshire and clearly the same applies in Devon. Respect and very well done!

But what about the food I hear you cry? Well it's good. No, it's very, very good. Fine Dining in the Devon View Restaurant was excellent, Georgia the waitress a delight. Next night the Cellars - a step down in the menu, but the quality equally as good.

We had a very good stay. Made by the staff. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Check if you've booked a twin that you get a twin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 15 May 2022
Dear valued guest, Wow, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are truly proud of our committed team, and it is very rewarding when we receive such wonderful feedback, thank you. We are all very excited about the development, and believe that Highbullen will be the destination of choice when visiting North Devon. We are delighted that you had a very good stay. From all the staff, thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again. Sincerely, Team Highbullen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin wrote a review Jan 2023
Plymouth, United Kingdom80 contributions65 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a double delux room for 2 nights. The room itself was very large, the bathroom was fine and the room was cleaned whilst we ate breakfast which doesn't always happen in this day and age!

The bar was very hot which i'm sure suited some as it was January but was probably too hot for ourselves.
The food in the bar/restaurant was ok, the menu was maybe a bit limited and somewhat different to what you might expect in such a location. We ate the duck burger on the first night but went elsewhere on the second night as we felt the selection and price didn't meet our needs.

We drink lager but there was no draught lager available after the first night which was a shame.
The swimming pool temperature was quite cool, when we stay in hotels that have pools the temperature is normally a few degrees up on this one, maybe this is due to energy costs i'm not sure. The jacuzzi had the same people occupying it the whole time we were there, not the fault of the hotel but a bit disappointing that people don't feel that they should make way for others at times!

Overall the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable and the hotel was very clean and well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Highbullen Hotel, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 18 Jan 2023
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, all of the feedback is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that all of the staff were helpful and that you enjoyed the room and the servicing of the room and we will pass on all feedback to the relevant departments. We looking forward to welcoming you back for any future stays with us. Kind regards Jasmine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julieDevonUK wrote a review Jul 2020
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom1,181 contribution28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've just returned from a 2 night stay . We had treated my parents as it was my dads 80th birthday . They stayed in cottage 67 with their dog and me and hubby in the Laurence Olivier suite .
Despite all the restrictions and guidelines that there are with Covid, we didn't feel like we were missing out too much. Only the outside pool was available to use, so currently ( due to Govt guidelines) the indoor pool, gym, spa are still closed.
We had a cream tea on our arrival which kick started the delightful food that we would continue to be given throughout the stay.
The evening meals were absolutely delicious and very filling, we were disappointed that despite our best efforts we could never squeeze in a dessert. Well my mum did push herself and managed to make room for the black currant soufflé , which she described as amazing.
The whole building, grounds, food etc was really beautiful , but this would not be compete if it wasn't for the staff. Everyone we met was really friendly and welcoming, a real credit to HighBullen.
The only little problem we encountered was that our room was really hot, only 1 window could be opened in our room and the bathroom windows don't open atall. The underfloor heating was on all the time and I think this just generated excess heat which we could clear. I don't know how this can be overcome though .
But other that that no complaints atall.
We can't wait to escape for a few nights again when we get a break in our shift patterns .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from David Tearle, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 4 Oct 2020
Dear Julie, Thank you for coming to Highbullen on such a special occasion and i am pleased that the visit was as good as you had hoped. Sorry about the room, a challenge we will respond to! I will pass your comments onto the team Regards David
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marion M wrote a review Jul 2021
Guildford5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 2 night break here - we chose the hotel because it had a pool, which was very good. The Cellar restaurant was good too. The room we had, however, was disappointing, with torn curtains and a real mix of furniture and a wet carpet - the reception staff offered us a towel to put over the wet carpet area. We did not receive the "welcome letter", and when we asked if the hotel was going to service the room, we were advised that in the welcome letter we had to inform the hotel to service the room. The reception staff did, however, arrange fresh towels and a refill of tea bags/coffee and milk. A suggestion would be that at check in, the staff mention this (as has been the case when we have stayed away in recent times). This hotel is a great location, but....
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Dear Marion M, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your review as it is through the feedback of our valued guests that we have an opportunity to continuously improve on guest experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the pool and Cellars restaurant. Your feedback has been shared with our reception team, with apologies for any inconvenience caused with regards to communication. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Highbullen. Sincerely, Simon Bailey
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
theartfulfox wrote a review Dec 2020
Exmouth, United Kingdom38 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have visited this hotel several times and know how diligently they are observing current Covid guidelines. Hubby decided we deserved a one night treat as we are quite local and in the same tier. On arrival we discovered that owing to very recent Covid guideline changes the hotel had lost much of its bookings for that night and we were in fact the only guests in the main hotel (although others were elsewhere on site) and that we were the only people booked into the restaurant. Despite that sad fact, all the staff made our stay special and as we have observed before, nothing is too much trouble for them. No detail was lacking although we were the only two to enjoy it. Thank you everyone at Highbullen and we hope it is not too long before we return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We like the main hotel but the estate rooms on site are charming and comfortable too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Simon Bailey, Other at The Mole Resort
Responded 10 Aug 2021
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was our pleasure hosting you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hoping that you do return to a vibrant and busier hotel and restaurant soon. Sincerely, Team Highbullen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Denise F asked a question Oct 2022
Bridport, United Kingdom23 contributions12 helpful votes
Are you dog friendly?
Answer from buzzard2000
England, United Kingdom9,837 contributions120 helpful votes
Search reviews for dog. People mean different things by "dog friendly" but you can take a dog.
Answer from Mick L
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi Zoe I’m not sure as we used the hotel facilities, but it’s worth ring them as they do special offer days I believe.
Answer from Bob H
Portishead, United Kingdom28 contributions26 helpful votes
Hi yes all is provided and it is fab u Lous enjoy xx
Jo B wrote a tip 7 Apr
Dorridge, United Kingdom781 contributions152 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre book your activities and any spa treatments in advance"
Read full review
Holly wrote a tip 5 Apr
4 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own inflatables "
Read full review
Caroline B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom71 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Valley lodges are quiet and well spread out. Meadow lodges are semi detached, if your neighbours are partying you’ll know about it"
Read full review
M L wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"beware of all the small country lanes you have to navigate to get there."
Read full review
madhippo wrote a tip Mar 2024
Reading, United Kingdom128 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The app is very useful, and the staff are super responsive on WhatsApp too"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chittlehamholt area.
PRICE RANGE
£100 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
highbullen hotel umberleigh
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Highbullen Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonChittlehamholt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE MOLE RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews (Chittlehamholt)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Mole Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Mole Resort?
Nearby attractions include South Molton Pannier Market (5.0 miles), Cobbaton Combat Collection (4.6 miles), and The Stags Head Inn (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mole Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Mole Resort?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, an additional bathroom, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Mole Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mole Resort?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mole Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grove Inn, The Exeter Inn, and The Bell Inn.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Mole Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Mole Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Chittlehamholt.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Mole Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Mole Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Mole Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
All Chittlehamholt HotelsChittlehamholt Hotel Deals
FlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire