Bugana Beach and Dive Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bugana Beach and Dive Resort

Campomanes Bay Baranggay Maricalum, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113 Philippines
Traveller (310)
Pool & Beach (58)
Spotless Clean Room
Room & Suite (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 8 hotels in Sipalay
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Bugana is an Ilonggo word for Abundant. Plentiful. Rich. A cove resort, unifying the forest with the sea -abundant in marine life and ever flowing spring water. Yours to explore.. The sleek, modern architecture soothes the eye and mind; Spacious rooms and villas, large common areas, a big pool, beach, airy restaurant and lounges: the Bugana Beach and Dive Resort Experience is designed to give you and your loved ones the space you need to breathe, to relax.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Highchairs available
Full body massage
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Plunge pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Board games / puzzles
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, German

Location

Campomanes Bay Baranggay Maricalum, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113 Philippines
89Reviews19Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 64
  • 14
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Anne A wrote a review Feb 2020
Bacolod, Philippines84 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Love this place, my bf took me here 3 years ago and this 2020 we came back and he proposed to me here! ❤️

However, as much as i love everything about bugana i have some things that i want to mention so they can improve:

1) staff are amazingly nice and helpful and willing to help, however the girls at the counter could use some customer service training. They are nice but the girl taking our breakfast order did not write down our orders (we ordered 5 different meals) and she only wrote it down when we asked her to repeat our orders. When the food came, orders got mixed up. We were sure none of us ordered well done eggs but when we wanted to exchange our order they would not and told us that that’s what we ordered. :( it happened again when my parents came down and ordered their food, and the next day AGAIN. :(
2) room reservations - we reserved our rooms via landline, and we specifically asked for even just one of the rooms to be on the 2nd floor because my mom cannot climb several flights. They agreed, but on our 2nd day, my parents were asked to vacate their room and transfer to the 4th floor (!!!) my dad is almost 80 and my mom is sick and cannot climb stairs (the 2nd floor alone is quite a challenge already). We were very disappointed at how they handled this - no apology whatsoever. The staff just told us that a group of the owner/manager’s friends were checking in and they wanted rooms next to each other so they’re being transferred to the 4th floor. Since my mom was refusing to move, they finally offered their One room near the beach (ground floor). It smelled so bad and not as good as the rooms upstairs but my parents decided to accept. (So after everything they actually have one room downstairs, which they should have offered us in the first place).

Our family later told me that they just decided to let everything go since they didn’t want to ruin the day (since my bf was planning to surprise me that afternoon).

At one point i also heard their staff panicking about checking in the 2 groups of guests that were arriving.

Final thoughts - i still love the place and would love to come back here, but i just hope that the owners & managers train their staff in obstacle handling and problem solving.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
thequeenej wrote a review Mar 2023
Philippines95 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely place (photo of the pool and beach area is here) that has clean Bali-inspired rooms. Also have to commend friendly staff. I also like that there is a fan inside the room because sometimes, even with A/C it can get pretty hot during summertime. Coffee is great as well. Things that are for improvement - WIFI, you basically will not get connection if you are in the top floors. Since there is barely phone signal in the location, strong WIFI would be really helpful. I was here for business but hope to be back for relaxation in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: No phone signal here for Smart Telcom. A little far from the city center.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Au Yapchiongco wrote a review Jun 2022
Manila, Philippines12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bugana means “abundance” in Hiligaynon as mentioned by one of the hotel personnel. My friends and I stayed here for a night before heading to Iloilo. It’s a visual treat for the eyes. It stays true to its meaning, as it offers an abundant experience to its visitors, from the clean and beautiful hotel rooms, generous and tasteful food to its very accommodating hotel personnel. Hope to bring my family soon here. Shout out to Ms. Joan for capturing good photos and to Mr. Manesh (I hope I spelled his name right) for asking his staff to get us a boat for an island hopping experience. Thank you, Bugana. We’ll definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dianne A wrote a review Mar 2020
Bacolod, Philippines69 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My family decided to go on a trip for some peace and quiet plus, my sister’s boyfriend proposed to her so this was kind of a big deal. Here are some pro’s and con’s about the resort:

Why I would recommend:
1. Place is ideal for family, friends and lovers.
2. Rooms are clean, comfortable (I slept on the extra bed but didn’t mind).
3. Bathrooms are spacious with clean water and hot and cold shower.
4. There’s wifi and signal for globe subscribers.
5. Great view from the rooms.
6. Pool and the hot tub—will make you think twice about hitting the beach.
7. They offer activities like paddle boarding, etc.
8. Since it wasn’t their peak season, we really did had time to relax and place wasn’t crowded with tourist.
9. Dinner by the beach on our last night—you just have to ask and they’ll set it up.

What they should improve on:
1. Customer service—it seems that most pf the time the staff don’t know what they’re doing. We booked two rooms and they initially gave us both rooms in the third floor. My parents are senior citizens so we requested if we can have theirs transferred to the second and it took a lot of convincing before they actually said yes to our request. Also, they had them moved to the room on the ground floor on our second night since some guests who were apparently friends of the owner or manager arrived and we were told that it’s a must that these people should have rooms situated next to each other. I don’t know what that was about but it gave my parents so much stress.
2. Staff lacks sense of urgency and decision making skills. When you ask them about the bill it took them hours to check and they can’t seem to answer simple questions. Seriously, staff needs training.
3. Limited food on their menu, a bit expensive especially the alcoholic drinks.
4. Beach is alright. I would recommend you bring shoes for swimming.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alvin Ezra wrote a review Apr 2021
50 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an overnight stay in this place with my family. Generally the stay was good and my children loved it. Especially the activities available such as island hopping, paddle boarding, swimming and kayaking.

PROS:
The pool and the jacuzzi are nice and relaxing. The jacuzzi even had heated water that you can stay until night time.
We stayed on Villa 3 which is situated on the top most part of the resort where in privacy is very welcome.
The room itself is big enough for two guests that accommodate a total of four guests.
The bathroom is one of the biggest bathrooms I've ever been to.
Bugana had a lot of friendly staff.
Food is pricy but is good for two people.
The dipping pool in our balcony outside the room, is a nice touch with a great view of Campomanes bay.

CONS:
Upon arrival, we were informed by the receptionist that our name was not on the reservation. Though we paid for it in full one month before. We waited for almost two hours just to make sure to get a room. There was also a receptionist that can't handle the guests properly. Even the manager doesn't know how to solve their double booking problem. Thank God that we ended getting a room after waiting for almost 2 hours.
There were several power outages during our stay.
The water pressure is so low that we can't shower properly and the hot water is not working.
The water dispenser that we had wasn't filled with water but they immediately replaced it upon informing them.
Other people were swimming at the private pool even though they haven't booked a room.
No one was manning the entrance to make sure the guests are having temperature check.
Parking area is located at the port and you need to walk several meters going to the resort.
Wifi is available in public area however the signal and connection are unstable.
The beach area is generally rocky and use of aqua shoes is recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: For privacy, book for Villa 3. Just make sure that you are fit enough to climb several flights of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cammy A wrote a review Jun 2022
11 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Of all the things I hate about the hospitality business, it’s when resorts try to present themselves as exclusive, when they’re actually not. I wouldn’t recommend going to this resort, unless it’s okay for you to just put your money to waste. The only good thing about the resort, is the food but it’s not worth it for the price. Everything is also so rusty and damaged. I understand parts that were affected by the typhoon, but most are just poorly maintained. The beach is also full of trash and the shore is full of boats. It might also be cultural but there were lots of naked children at the shore. It’s fine for me but I guess in my culture that’s not something I want my toddler to see, for now since I haven’t given her “the talk” yet. Beautiful place, but think twice before going here. We were supposed to book 7 days in this resort but they were blocked for the weekend, so we had to choose somewhere else. I’m thankful we didn’t cause I would have been very disappointed. Nevertheless, we wanted to check it out, and it was recommended to us by an acquaintance for lunch. However, I regret going this far cause we went on a weekday and basically no one was at the resort and my baby wanted to swim in the pool, however the ladies turned us away because it was only for people “who are booked at the hotel” - no one was even using the pool 😅 Literally NO ONE. I also wanted her to go to the pool instead because she started asking about the naked children and I didn’t know how to respond, at least not yet. We were also paying customers! It’s not like we went there just to freeload in the pool. We ordered food, bottle of wine, some drinks, and I don’t understand why they have to turn away a 3 year old from using the pool which no one was using! We honestly wanted to stay the day here, and we couldve ordered more but it’s just insane how pretentious this resort is. Btw construction is also on-going and it’s so loud, also construction workers are everywhere so it’s a bit awkward to get stares when youre in a bikini. If you want some peace and quiet, this is not the place. I also feel bad for the beggars on the shore asking for food and money. We didn’t have enough cash, but hopefully the resort can help them out also.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kat J wrote a review Jul 2023
Philippines4 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Love the dipping pool! Recommending to stay atleast 1 night in this resort! However they need to improve on the items they should have inside the room such as a telephone or any means of communication for guests to contact their lobby.

When we ordered food, we have to travel downstairs and order. They also don’t allow their staff to bring food in the rooms. Guests should bring their ordered food from the bar/resto area to their room.

Luckily, one of their staff is nice enough to offer that he will be the one to deliver the food to our villa.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevan B wrote a review Dec 2023
Bacolod, Philippines24 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights while celebrating our wedding anniversary. It was our first visit and we will be sure to return. We had booked Villa number 1 which was the easiest to access although it still entailed hiking up several flights of stairs. I’m sure the workout did us good. The room was large with a comfy bed, refrigerator and aircon. The bathroom was large with plentiful hot water. Free wifi was good with a strong signal. The food was good with both Filipino favourites and a good International selection. A big shoutout to the Manager Angelo Lizares and his staff for making our stay so memorable.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is free parking available
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie T wrote a review Aug 2016
Philippines100 contributions31 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bugana indeed is a nice secret spot with beautiful villas, but here are the reasons my friends and I didn't enjoy our stay:

1. Getting there was such a hassle. They don't have transfer service/s to help their customers go to and from their resort.

2. Their service was awful!! Their crew was incredibly rude. They don't smile and sometimes they ignore requests. They don't have any initiative to help you. For example, we were swimming in the pool and it was starting to rain. One of the crew put their chairs' foams under the shade. When we kindly asked him to also hide our stuff, he ignored us and we were forced to do it ourselves.

3. They don't have intercom and our villa was at the top! We're forced to go down every time we needed something.

4. There were so many flies in the villa. Some of which were even floating in our villa's mini pool. There was also a random animal who kept banging at our door in the middle of the night, scared the creep out of us.

5. The food was okay and we had to wait for more than half an hour for two glasses of coffee and a platter of ham and cheese.

Definitely not a 4 or 5-star resort, their services doesn't deserve such. I don't recommend this to anyone especially those who just wanted to have a nice/chill weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from marckalitta, Manager at Bugana Beach and Dive Resort
Responded 9 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your precious time ( short ) stay here at Bugana, we are very sorry that you was not satisfied with our service , at this point we want to clarify some of the points you mention . We think your disappointment started already by arrival, we are located here in Sipalay, yes it’s quite far with public transportation and especially for 1 night stay and when the weather is bad (august) but those are things we can’t change. 1 . We offer many options of transportation, from Bacolod or Dumaquete with private car, or for those who come with the public bus we will pick them up on request with tricycle. Like what we did on your departure, we organized a tricycle for you to bring you to Sipalay proper in the Bus/Van terminal. 2. “Their service was awful!!” we don’t know why you can say something like this, we tried everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, our staff give even an extra time for you to take the picture on your last day in the resort, and even we give an extra fresh towel for you so that you don’t need to go up again in your Villa, and this one we called” helpful” maybe the one who bring the chair foams in the shade didn’t hear you ? Because he was busy to bring everything as fast as possible in a dry place before the heavy rain starts? When that’s the case we are very sorry for this terrible mistake. 3. The request for the highest villa came from you, and you were informed about the 85 steps going up. But we really hope you enjoyed the amazing view. 4. as you mentioned already the weather was not so good as well it was august what is the middle of the rainy season , that there is more insects in the rainy season is actually a normal thing , by closing the door and windows you can prevent them to enter in your room ( Tip ) On the picture you posted here from the dipping pool of the villa, there are no insects at all , this things what are floating on the edge of the pool are leafs , leafs are falling from the tree’s specially by stronger wind, this is a natural thing what happen . “Animal, who kept banging at our villa door in the middle of the night, scared the creep out of us. “You see any animal??? And why you don’t tell us in the next morning? We could answer your worries. Anyway, sorry to hear this horror story. our security guard is roaming around in the night for any issues in the night, so far we never had any problem like this since we operate, and specially not with any animals, as I remind again that our resort it’s in the heart of exotic place of sipalay which is in the sloppy mountain area, of course you will expect animals/insect, “like geckos and crickets” sometimes bats flying around but those animals are beautiful part of nature. 5. Yes you have ordered our “bugana’s choice “Breakfast. You call it “platter of ham and cheese”. And yes it takes around 30 min to prepare because it is in reality. Different imported cold cuts, salami, different cheese (assorted), and bowl of fruit salad, eggs and breads. The coffee you wanted to be served with the breakfast and not before the breakfast. Our staff is always asking if you want to serve your drinks first before the food, but as requested , serve all together. It would be also nice when you would mention that it was big enough that all of you (4 Pax) were sharing it. And it was served to the beach table on sunny morning at the day of your departure. A warm greeting from Bugana Family!!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joseph S wrote a review Jan 2016
Talisay City, Philippines1 contribution9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm not really the type of person who writes reviews and score ratings but after my trip to Bugana, words aren't enough to express how satisfied and amazed I am with the services, the food and the spot of the resort.

It was an experience to be remembered for a lifetime. You forget about the worries and problems... heck you'd even forget about technology when you're there. You will start to appreciate the beauty of nature, beaches and the importance of interacting with other people instead of spending your time in the social media or your cellphones.

Relaxation is at its finest on the resort. The rooms and the villas are amazingly built for satisfaction. The activities are exciting and fun with a twist of knowledge and learning.

The food are deliciously cooked by the Chef which would leave you wanting for more. The staff are very friendly and even the manager, Mark, treats you as a friend instead of a customer.

Bugana welcomes you as a Family and you'll be treated as one until you check out.

Best of luck to the resort and the management!

See you again next time
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
albert asked a question Jan 2020
Negros Island, Philippines
may van ba papunta jan na public van
Answer from Mjleon89
Negros Occidental, Philippines106 contributions23 helpful votes
I suggest to call or email them beforehand because we were walk-in guests :)
Answer from earthhaven
Philippines115 contributions43 helpful votes
Bugana has a facebook account, you can contact them via messenger
Maggie T asked a question Jan 2019
Luzon, Philippines31 contributions3 helpful votes
How to go there from Bacolod airport using public transport
Answer from Angelo L
Sipalay, Philippines
There are 2 forms of Public Transportation from Silay City Airport 1. Shared Van - Upon exit at the airport, cross the street into the parking area and they generally try to fill up a 8-9 seater van. Just advise them that you are going towards Brgy Maricalum, Sipalay City.Asked to be brought to the Brgy Maricalum Eco Port. We are located right beside it. 2.Take a taxi towards the ceres sound-bound bus terminal. Take a bus going towards Hinobaan. Just advice the Bus driver that you will need to get off at the crossing at Brgy Maricalum towards the eco-port. Once you get down at that stop, you can take a tricycle that will drop you at the eco-port (about a 5km ride). Walk 50meter and you will be in bugana beach and dive resort :-) Hope that helps!
keychosen wrote a tip Apr 2024
Brisbane, Australia52 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is far from town proper. Meal prices ranges from Php350-500++."
Read full review
Kevan B wrote a tip Dec 2023
Bacolod, Philippines24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is free parking available"
Read full review
thequeenej wrote a tip Mar 2023
Philippines95 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No phone signal here for Smart Telcom. A little far from the city center. "
Read full review
Alvin Ezra wrote a tip Apr 2021
50 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"For privacy, book for Villa 3. Just make sure that you are fit enough to climb several flights of stairs"
Read full review
rbrown406 wrote a tip Sept 2018
Tanjay, Philippines699 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had an upper cottage with dipping pool.....very nice"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sipalay area.
PRICE RANGE
£63 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasNegros IslandNegros OccidentalSipalay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BUGANA BEACH AND DIVE RESORT - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Bugana Beach and Dive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bugana Beach and Dive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Punta Ballo Beach (1.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bugana Beach and Dive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bugana Beach and Dive Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Bugana Beach and Dive Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bugana Beach and Dive Resort?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bugana Beach and Dive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bugana Beach and Dive Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Filipino.
Does Bugana Beach and Dive Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Sipalay HotelsSipalay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SipalayHotels near Bugana Beach and Dive Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire