Bermuda Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bermuda Beach Resort

Sugar Beach , Brgy. Nauhang, Sipalay, Negros Occidental Philippines
nice and captivating
Traveller (110)
Panorama of the Aircon Room at the Bermuda Beach Resort
360
Panoramas (13)
Sunsets that captivate
Room & Suite (128)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 8 hotels in Sipalay
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Sipalay does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Bermuda Beach Resort, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as air conditioning, and guests can go online with wifi offered by the hotel.

The property also boasts a lounge, to help make your stay more enjoyable.

If you’re looking for a barbeque restaurant, consider a visit to Blu Mare, which is not far from Bermuda Beach Resort.

Sipalay is also home to M/V Guimaras (Julien's Wreck), a popular reef that is not too far from Bermuda Beach Hotel.

Bermuda Beach Resort puts the best of Sipalay at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View

Location

Sugar Beach , Brgy. Nauhang, Sipalay, Negros Occidental Philippines
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
Bacolod Airport
80.8 mi
See all flights
111Reviews7Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 23
  • 7
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Samuel B wrote a review Jan 2023
England
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent another month at this fine resort, been going here for 15 years.
Just a short hop from Sipalay City, Negros Occidental, the side where the best sand beaches are.

The best beach I have found in the Philippines, maybe in the world even and I have travelled some. No stones, no sea grass, no jelly fish, no sea urchins, no litter, usually no sand flies just fish, crabs and clean sand for over a kilometre.
A gently sloping beach, deep enough for swimming in warm water, deeper further out for snorkelling and diving.

The food in Bermuda is just the icing on the cake. Straight forward tasty well prepared meals at sensible prices.

We spend around £50 a day for superb accommodation beach front, all meals and plenty of drinks including fine scotch, Southern Comfort and Don Papa Mascara rum.

Family run, small resort with 8 rooms, some beach front, some family size, some with aircon. Simple and clean. A bargain at any price and some places nearby charge much much more for a lot less and the sea is not deep enough even to swim!

Swiss-French owned but German and English also spoken well. Attentive staff who quickly become friends.
TV lounge, car parking now it is accessible by road rather than just by boat as previously. And a Billiards table too.

Owner sensibly will not entertain the likes Booking, Agoda, Hotels.com, Trivago etc. Just phone for the best price, no middle men ripping the resort off. G Cash accepted.

Pick your accommodation on the Facebook web site, give them a ring and prepare to spend a relaxing holiday in comfort and safety in the most beautiful place. Fully open and repaired after the hurricane. Covid free area, not a case on the whole beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take sun cream and a hat so you can walk the great beach. Forget shoes, you will not need...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GerriBeari wrote a review Jun 2011
Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We initially chose this hotel for our Sugar Beach vacation based on the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. After going there, even though it was the rainy season and rained the whole time, we couldn't agree more. However, there were a few things we didn't expect that I want to let other travelers know about.

The bungalows are truly rustic and an offer an authentic tropical experience. Each bungalow has a porch with a couch and table to lounge around on and watch the waves. Beach access is just a few footsteps away. The floors are made of bamboo wood and they have thatched roofs that have openings on the sides. The beds have mosquito nets over them, which you will need. The mattress is essentially a thick piece of foam and is not the most-comfortable. The bathroom has an open air screened sky light and during the rainy season it can rain on you while you are on the toilet! Also, no hot water for showers.

The food is fresh and delicious. They offer a broad range of cuisine from local dishes to Swiss, German, Italian, and lots of seafood! Since the resort is so remote, you will probably eat all your meals there -- me and my girlfriend spent about $20-25/day total on food which is very reasonable and well worth it for the delicious fare.

Also, they offer free use of a pool table, table tennis, volley ball, and boogie boards for guests.

Francis, the owner, is a very amiable character and fun to talk to lounging around the bar. He is very helpful and helped us arrange transportation and a hotel in Bacolod. Francis will also let you make a call from his Satellite cell phone -- he will look up his balance and charge you the actual cost of the call.

Wi-fi internet access is around $2.50/hr for use (The resort has a very expensive satellite connection, so given the circumstances it is quite reasonable. It's amazing they have internet at all). It is rather slow.

To get there you can take a non-AC, crowded 5 hour bus from Bacolod (that stops way to much!) for around $4.50 per way, or you can take a private taxi (2.5-3 hrs) for around $90.00 per way. We were the only foreigners on the bus and everybody staying at the resort took a taxi. I personally think, given the price difference, the bus is "not so bad." Get off at the Montilla stop, then hire a tricycle to take you to Sugar Beach (around $1.50 per person), then hire a canoe (for like a 100 meter jaunt across an ocean inlet) for around 25 cents to take you to the beach where the resort is.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Martin n wrote a review May 2012
Niva, Denmark
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Definitely worth a visit, Francis the owner received us on the beach when we arrived, he is a very friendly guy with a funny accent (French) He speaks good English and is always helpful, we stayed in the family cabin overlooking the beach and water, it is very spacious and with a nice big terrace with comfortable wicker furniture, Sugar beach is very peaceful, clean sand and crystal clear waters, there are almost no people and it is pure paradise.
The food in Bermuda is incredibly delicious, except for the pizza not seem homemade, one should however expect a long wait for food, but worth the wait.
The staff is incredibly friendly and I hope Francis pays them well :).
You can not pay with Visa, but the neighboring hotel Taka Tuka takes visa, so we had to eat there some days, the food there is okay, but not the same standard as Bermuda.
mmmmmm I miss freshly made mango juice ...
I hope i will be able to come back one day...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lando M wrote a review Jan 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bungalow Room (non AC) at 1950 php is not well maintained and many mosquitoes (expected) but we brought mosquito repellants so it is fine. We found a big gecko below the bed frame, went into our bed though have mosquito net and will not leave. This is because of the bed frame boat design. Lucky we found it before we went to sleep. Requested for another AC room for replacement because it is available since we haven't use any of the beds yet but male owner will charge us with another 1.2k (room is 1.7k as regular price with no restroom).
We already paid the place and did not ask for reimbursement and left the same night to find another place to stay at Sipalay.
The filipina owner is friendly but not the male owner.
Beach is nice though but poor management/customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amor wrote a review Oct 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
oct 25, 2014, first day at the resort, we order a lunch but food not available then i in up ordering chicken carry and it was terrible. Next day they clean our room but the towel we put it in the floor, that we already used , they hang it back in the rock, so that we have to use it again i was very disappointed and we told the owner, but he was laughing, so next day we decided to move to TaKatuka resort, but that morning, we told him that we are not happy here, then he slap his hands in the counter in front of my friend face and yelling to us, he said you cannot go, our friend said to the lady in the front desk that give me my bill we will check out but he is in front of my friend face to face yelling to him and push my friend I see it in my two eyes and he was really angry. So i decided to cover my friend, to let him go then francis the owner of this Bermuda resort run and went to Takatuka Resort where we moved out, and tell them that we cannot go here or we cannot move in Takatuka Resort, and again he was yelling to the owner of Takatuka Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bermudasipalay, Gérant at Bermuda Beach Resort
Responded 3 Nov 2014
Thanks for taking the time to add a comment on our resort. Some points need to be clarified. 1. “Food was not available then I in up ordering a chicken carry ???? and it was terrible”. We think that you were probably mixing us up with another restaurant for 2 reasons: (i) In Bermuda food is always available! (ii) We don’t have any 'terrible chicken carry' on our menu, but we do serve an excellent chicken curry! 2. Concerning the towel on the floor, our new Room attendant thought it had fallen on the floor and hung it back on the rack. When our Housekeeper received your complaint in this very 'friendly' way, which obviously goes with your easy way of life, she immediately gave you a clean one. I didn’t laugh about it for the simple reason I was ignorant of it until I read your comment about this terrible mistake. Bermuda Beach Resort is a nice resort situated on a fantastic beach for people who like to swim. It is very safe for children as there is only sand and water. The beach has a marvelous advantage in that it is situated where there are no roads. This means that it is only accessible by boat with no traffic, no pollution and no noise. You were travelling with your private car and when you called us to get information on how to reach our resort, you were extremely irritated when we told you to leave your car in Sipalay City and that you would be picked up by our boat and brought to Bermuda. We had to listen to your complain about it endlessly. I can only assume that you cannot bear to be parted from your car, but as there are no roads you would not be able to drive it anyway! You booked for 4 nights (with deposit) and suddenly decided after 2 nights to move to the next resort. How can we manage a resort if the guests change their bookings 'on a whim' like this? We could accept it if there is was a good reason for this sudden change of mind, but a small mistake by a member of staff which was quickly and graciously remedied does not necessitate such action. Bermuda is clean with comfortable bungalows and rooms, and a pleasant restaurant and bar where we serve fresh and excellent dishes. 3. Concerning the slap on the counter and what you call “yell”. We did our best to make your stay comfortable. Nobody will accept being called a cheat in his own home without reacting in his own defense. I’m not a cheat and I didn’t push anyone, I just put my body in the way when the guests wanted to leave before the bill was settled. 4. I never said that you can’t go to Takatuka, I asked that you stay in Bermuda until we sort out this problem. We have a very good relationship with our excellent neighbour Takatuka, and I was not “yelling” over them. So, to resume, I think we have a different philosophy of life and we will very probably never take holidays together again. We are now slowly approaching Christmas time (in the Philippines, we can already feel it). Time that everybody will enjoy whilst waiting for this peaceful and beautiful event. We say in French “Paix aux hommes de bonne volonte” in English “Peace and goodwill to all men”. Bermuda Beach Resort sincerely wishes you an early Merry Christmas.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
08HeatherR wrote a review Oct 2014
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just finished a week long stay at Bermuda Beach Resort and cannot speak highly enough of how friendly and wonderful the staff and owners (Francis and Zinada) were. We rented bungalow 4, it was a huge room, very clean, great fan and big outdoor living space. We ate every meal at Bermuda and they were all wonderful and cooked exactly as we ordered. We did a snorkel trip to the wreck as well and I'd absolutely recommend it (there is a dive shop right next door for anyone wanting to dive). The beach in front of the resort was always raked and clean, this was not so for much of Sugar Beach, at least while we were there. We enjoyed the company of the owners so much that we stayed up many evenings playing pool and talking with them. This was a really peaceful, quiet and unbelievably friendly place to stay, a must for Sugar Beach!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nyaruk wrote a review Jul 2015
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You don't just wander past Sugar beach. But it was well worth the journey - simply beautiful. And excellent snorkelling over the nearby wreck. Plus beautiful rooms, good food, a lovely bar/ restaurant area... We could (should!) have stayed longer
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
halfwhiteboy wrote a review Apr 2012
Makati, Philippines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All things being relative, Bermuda Beach Resort is a perfect place to stay in Sugar Beach. It may not be a posh resort but it doesn't pretend to be one either. I'd say what they charge for their rooms is fairly reasonable, with all the basics pretty much covered.

We stayed in one of their three airconditioned rooms and it was good enough for the price. I loved the warm lighting; gives a cozy atmosphere. It's got shelves to rest your stuff on and there's also a clothes rack and a couple of hangers for drying your swimwear. The bathroom was quite huge and most importantly, the room is cleaned everyday.

I loved the feel of the restaurant, what with all that wood and ambient lighting. Word of warning, you need to take your slippers off before setting foot here, but the floor's guaranteed clean, so there's no cause for worry. The food was great and they bake their own bread here. Servings are huge; can be for sharing if you're not a heavy eater. Speed of service depends on the number of diners at the time of ordering, though. You must understand that this is a home-spun resort, so don't expect that they have an army in their kitchen to prepare your food. As a workaround, however, you can order way in advance and just tell them what time you expect to have dinner so when you arrive, you won't be waiting long.

Bermuda also has some cottages and sun chairs along the beach. What's good is that Francis, the owner, doesn't rent them out to day-trippers, so you won't have to compete with other people for a spot. And because the beach is not at all crowded, you can while away time in peace and quiet.

All in all, it was a sweet and relaxing stay; would definitely come back. Just don't forget to bring enough cash as Sugar Beach is quite far from civilization (my rating for "Location" below means I love the fact that it's far from civilization), and I don't think the resort accepts credit cards.

For photos and a more detailed account of our stay, I posted something on my blog: http://halfwhiteboy.blogspot.com/2012/04/bermuda-beach-resort-perfect-place-to.html
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Before ordering food, ask if they have any specials because they occasionally make something...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
banyannook wrote a review May 2011
Pahoa, Hawaii
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Francis and his wife Zenaida and family made our trip to Sugar Beach an adventure of a lifetime. All that you could possibly want is right there; except maybe shopping. Nowhere to go, as you get here by boat from Sipalay town, a few miles away. No escape. No pressure to go somewhere, and do something. Francis, from Switzerland (the French part), is the owner and your host. Always within range, but never in your way. Need a fresh-brewed coffee, served to you on the beach? He's there. Meals? Cooked fresh by his family for you anytime. Need a cold beer? In your hand in seconds. We stayed for only 3 nights, but could have made it 2 weeks, had we known about this little slice of heaven ahead of time! We stayed in an aircon room, attached to his main house. Very clean and bright and quiet. There are also beachfront cottages. All are immaculately clean, neat, and the gardens are picture-perfect. Billards, Table Tennis, a big TV set in the restaurant for watching DVD's. A library that actually had a book in English, not German! A wonderful dinner menu. Meal prices were very reasonable. This a nice, low-key resort, with the emphasis on RELAX!!!! We highly recommend Bermuda!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Email Francis ahead of time, to get the room you .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GreaseMan wrote a review Jan 2008
Cebu City, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Decide to go at the spur of the moment to Sipalay... I wanted to stay in the famous Tukataka but since they were full (onlly 5 rooms) they recommended I stay next door at Bermuda. I called Francis and they had the room I wanted (Bungalo No.5) It's the cheapest fan bungalow for 2. Very nice and comfortable except my girlfriend didn't like the 2 giant lizards on the ceiling, Hahaha.

Bermuda is beautiful, clean, and on the nicest part of Sugar Beach. The owner Francis, his wife Zenaida, and the staff were extremely nice and that made our stay all the more better.

Like I said, I wanted to stay in Tukataka, but I have no regrets stayin in Bermuda and I would stay there again in the future
Read more
Date of stay: January 2008
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ted A asked a question Oct 2015
Dumaguete City, Philippines
I like to know room availability 10/17/2015 to 10/18/2015
Ted A asked a question Oct 2015
Dumaguete City, Philippines
How do we book at this resort?
Answer from bermudasipalay
1 contribution1 helpful vote
go to our official website and on contact us you will find our email address and cellphone number.
Sera Je Seconda... S wrote a tip Apr 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms near the entrance gets no signal for cellular signal as well as wifi."
Read full review
Samuel B wrote a tip Jan 2023
England87 contributions60 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take sun cream and a hat so you can walk the great beach. Forget shoes, you will not need them. Beachfront rooms huge, extra beds possible."
Read full review
Keith T wrote a tip Aug 2019
Bacolod, Philippines3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the pictures and information to decide what type of room you would want. It's all about personal preferences."
Read full review
Peter S wrote a tip Dec 2018
Toronto, Canada154 contributions136 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They are all great."
Read full review
Ngwe001 wrote a tip Jan 2018
France142 contributions142 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a beach front hut where possible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sipalay area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
bermuda beach hotel sipalay
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasNegros IslandNegros OccidentalSipalay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BERMUDA BEACH RESORT - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Bermuda Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bermuda Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Sugar Beach (0.1 miles) and M/V Guimaras (Julien's Wreck) (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bermuda Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Bermuda Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Bermuda Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buenaventura Beach Resort Restaurant, Driftwood Village Restaurant, and Fish Tank Sea Food Restaurant.
All Sipalay HotelsSipalay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Sipalay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire