We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tryp Expo Porto Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tryp Expo Porto Hotel
Tryp Expo Porto Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
Aberdeen, Maryland
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a room at the Tryp Expo to be close to the airport as we were flying home the following morning. We hoped to get a good night's sleep before the long trip. Unfortunately, while the staff was very friendly and professional, our room proved to be very disappointing. The outside temperature was in the 80s but the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, Gerente geral at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey H, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. Thank you for pointing out the positive aspects of our hotel and Staff. About the air conditioning, let us explain that the system was not shut down; it was operating for winter, which means it was producing heat. Our air conditioning/heating...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed in this Hotel from 15th to 22nd October. When we wanted to book our vacation we had 2 Hotels in mind - Tryp Porto Expo and the Tryp Porto Centro, but at last we decided for the Tryp Expo Porto and we don't regret our decision. The airport is 20 Minutes away by car/bus and the bus Line...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IJSta
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, Gerente geral at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Sta. Maria and Mrs. Castillanes, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. Let us also thank you for your kind words about our Staff and specially your references to our barman, Ricardo Cruz. I will certainly make sure he reads your review, as well as all other Staff. For...

Kolding, Denmark
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Rooms are quite nice and fairly spacious. There's a nice flat-screen TV with channels such as Eurosport, Fox, MTV, VH1, Disney, AXN and Sky News as well as PPV movies. There's a small minibar in the room and although it doesn't offer the most exciting options it was nice to see that it wasn't just an empty fridge. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cassius1977
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, Gerente de recepção at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cassius, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your next stay in our hotel. Thank you again for you review. The Hotel Team!

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Attending a conference at this hotel. It is relatively close to the airport (8k) and not far from the city centre. There are two buses that can take you there. Unfortunately, there is no metro station close by, so regarding transportation, it is eather buses or taxis. Taxi ride to the airport around €11 and to the town around €8...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stilianos V
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, Gerente geral at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stilanos, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward for your next stay in our hotel. Thank you again for you review. The Hotel Team!

Pickering, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed here for one night before flying home. The room was comfortable enough but the air conditioning is terrible. The windows did open up fully so we managed to get a good breeze. We let reception know and they said all their rooms were the same. It is very important for them to upgrade this. Beds were comfortable. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul f
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, Gerente geral at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We had some problems with our air conditionig suystem. If fact we had to replace two heavy components of the system recently because it was underperforming. The system is now fully operational. We regret the inconvenience caused in your last stay. We...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel is very suitable and comfortable for a business stay. Most of staff (reception and bar) speaks English very well, some other staff not at all. Facilities clean, only bathroom shows some nasty and unnecessary mold spots. Management should consider to place swimming pool more in focus in the summer: e.g. larger terrace, more sun chairs, more attention of staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kalkeren
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, General Manager at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kalkaren, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We take notice of your remarks about the swimming pool. In fact, we just bought a new set of sunbeds for the swimmin pool with modern design. We hope you choose our hotel again and stay with us. The Hotel Team!

Solingen, Germany
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night during Business Trip..very near to Airport, very friendly and experienced Staff...good small meal in the bistro- Meeting Room well equiped. Rooms clean ,calm and big, very good bed, Bathroom fine. Nothing to complain about, only breakfast could bei improved, better staffed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Huepfdohle64
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, General Manager at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We take notice of your remarks about the breakfast service. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in tour hotel. We hope you visit us again soon. The Hotel Team!

Manchester, UK
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week. Very comfortable and clean hotel with a nice breakfast. You need a car though but it only took us 20 mins to the heart of Porto. Close to great beaches and the pool area is nice as well. Staff very attentive. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RAFJBLOOM
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, General Manager at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you stay with us again in the near future. The Hotel Team!

CapelleaandenIjssel
Reviewed 23 April 2016

This hotel is located near the airport. The rooms are good, have a nice size and the staff is very friendly. The breakfast and the diner are both good. It's a buffet so you can choise whatever you like. The dinner is not expensive. The location is on the outside of Porto/Mathosinhos. You can get a taxi into town or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, General Manager at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you choose our hotel again soon. The Hotel Team!

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 1 April 2016

I was dying to take a well deserved time off and me and my bestie went for a girl's trip to Porto. Found out about a promo to this hotel and it was worth every cent. Stellar staff, the room was ventilated, spacious and VERY clean. Even though it's not in central Porto, you can easily get there by car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joana M
JorgeCabralTRYPPORTO, General Manager at Tryp Expo Porto Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joana, Thank you for choosing Tryp Porto Expo for your stay at Oporto and for your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at ou hotel. Please come back anytime! The Hotel Team

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Double Room with Fitness (26)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Suite (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)
Viewed
Twin Room (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matosinhos
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Exponor
Holiday Inn Express Porto-Expono...
#1 of 1 in Leca da Palmeira
211 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
Hotel Senhor de Matosinhos
#2 of 6 in Matosinhos
87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Mar
Hotel Porto Mar
#4 of 6 in Matosinhos
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#46 of 101 in Porto
723 reviews
3.7 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 101 in Porto
747 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just ended a full renovation June 2011. An excellent choice for those who visit Matosinhos / Porto for business or leisure. Next to Ikea, amr Shopping, Exponor (Exibhition Trade Fair Center). Walking distance from the beach, just 5 minutes from airport, 5 minutes by car from Porto City Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tryp Expo Porto Hotel

Address: Rotunda da Exponor s/n | Leca da Palmeira, Matosinhos 4450-801, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Matosinhos
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Expo Porto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Tryp Expo Porto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Hotel Matosinhos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tryp Expo Porto Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Athlone, Ireland
2 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Tryp Expo Porto Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can hear traffic sounds if windows to ocean side”
 of 5 bubbles cieff, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
“I requested room with pool view and got one! Others I think may face onto the road”
 of 5 bubbles audmohan, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Indicate them to clean your rooms in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles dsclink, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“The WIFI in some parts of the hotel is quite bad. If you need WIFI ask at the front desk upon check in to get a room closer to the WIFI hub”
 of 5 bubbles mIhO76, 12 Dec 2014 | Read review
“A room with three beds”
 of 5 bubbles Tonypatrao, 9 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay