We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Macdonald Lochanhully Resort

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (341)
Room & Suite (81)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#2 of 2 ranches in Carrbridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Internet
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
443Reviews31Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 144
  • 150
  • 76
  • 42
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Donna wrote a review 7 Apr
Dundee, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
Just home from a few days spent up in aviemore, staying here. The site is in a beautiful peaceful area. The lochan in the middle is really pretty and it’s a nice walk around. The pool and all leisure facilities were closed for refurbishment and the bar was only open until 8pm but we didn’t use the bar, so can’t comment on that. It’s lovely waking up in the morning to nothing but the sound of the birds and nature outside. Just magic. The lodges themselves are nice, I much prefer a proper wooden chalet to these glorified caravans you see advertised as lodges these days. They’re clean and cosy and have everything you need in them. But they’re so old. They look old from the outside, they need a good lick of paint and inside all the furniture while being perfectly useable, is all very old. The kitchen is alright but the bathroom could do with an upgrade. I feel the macdonald group should really invest in these lodges and keep up with the times. There is absolutely nothing wrong with them I must say, but you’re not wowed by them either. I would 100% come back here again but saying that, if there was another site with newer cabins and interiors, I would probably stay there over here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The site does have electric charge points for people who come with electric cars which is very...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Discover05202206176 Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Lochanhully and |I would agree its lovely waking up to nothing but the sound of the birds and nature outside. I take your point onboard about the decor and the furnishing and will be sure to mention it when I speak with Senior Management. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rozzy1973 wrote a review Mar 2024
Worksop, United Kingdom351 contributions92 helpful votes
Lovely lodges in the woods. Lots of mallards and even a visiting peacock daily. Lodges are clean and has everything you need for a week. Been twice and booked another one. I always take my bird feeders. Lots of birds including woodpecker, siskins, coal tits, blue tits, great tits and a Robin I've even seen the red squirrel outside my bedroom window.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Rozzy1973 Thank you for your lovely feedback on your stay at Lochanhully and we cant wait to welcome you back on your next visit. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DAVOZZZ wrote a review Feb 2024
Cape Town Central, South Africa28 contributions73 helpful votes
Nice venue, staff friendly, Fire in main room didn't work fixed next day. Dishwasher didn't work. But not a big problem as weren't staying for long. Pretty dated lodges and the gutters all blocked so in the bad weather water cascades down and pretty noisy at night tbf didn't mention these things but you would expect these things to be covered by maintenance. I Phoned the resort a few days before our intended stay paying my final invoice and straight after got an email saying the pool was closed.maybe a coincidence it happened just after paying in full. hmmn. In general enjoyed it for out of season cheap booking but if l was paying peak season prices better value elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded yesterday
Dear Davozzz Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you thought the resort was nice and the staff friendly. I am sorry that you encountered a few issues in your lodge and yes housekeeping should have reported these and I have reminded them off this, however if you had brought them to our attention at the time we would have had them dealt with for you. As you say the pool is closed for a refurbishment but our guests have the use of the facilities at our sister resort in Aviemore. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard W wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
AVOID!! Great location but not all is as in the pictures. We should have asked for refund on arrival and found somewhere else! Check-in not till 5pm so arrived on a cold dark evening with snow on the ground. Easy check-in by pleasant staff member and given directions to cabin. Opened door, place in complete darkness and hit with smell of damp. Ventured inside to a spacious cabin and decided to “go with the flow” as we had had a long drive. Switched on all the grubby looking electric wall heaters to full and got settled in. Some heaters kept switching off and needed fine adjustments to worn out controls to get them to stay on. We ended up having to put oven on with door open to get enough heat in lounge area to be semi-comfortable and it was bedtime (10.30pm) before we switched it off. Bedroom was reasonably ok. Bed clean and comfortable. Drawer unit had musty damp smell as did the cupboard so didn’t unpack suitcase. Bathroom had been cleaned to a point but had lots of black mould, strangely they seem to avoid showing that in their marketing pictures. Obvious signs of a rodent problem as mouse bait/poison boxes in cabin cupboards and rat bait/poison boxes under the front of every cabin so be very careful if taking pets!! The cabin is basically a glorified wooden garage with windows and worn out grubby furnishings and decor. Carpet worn, stained and marked all over, doors grubby and dirty, woodwork has paint peeling, Good for kids on a school trip but if going for a romantic few days away then do yourself a favour and find somewhere else!! Ps..our clothes (and suitcase) had to be throughly cleaned to get the smell of damp removed🤮
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2024
Dear richardwW4587FM Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay. You mention an issue with the heating and having to use the oven to heat the lounge to be comfortable, which is just not what we would want. At check in each guest is given an information sheet which has an emergency contact number on it, if you had placed a call we would have had someone from out maintenance team attend and deal with any issue you were having with the heating or alternatively moved you to another unit. Even if you had spoken to staff the next day we would have welcomed the change to apologies in person and rectify any issues for you., and if you were that unhappy we may have been able to relocate you to our sister resort in Aviemore but on checking the system it would appear that you did not call the emergency number or bring any of these issues to our attention during your stay. As our resort is in the middle of a forest area there are always going to be rodents about but I am pleased to say because we do manage this with bait boxes in the boiler cupboard and underneath the cabins we don't have a problem. All bait boxes are locked and pets are very safe on the resort. From your description of the chalet, I personally don't agree with it, you might have been better looking at our sister resort which offers different types of accommodation. Lochanhully is exactly what it says Wooden Chalets in the middle of a forest area and if you are looking for a luxury stay this would not be the right resort to stay at.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Relax15358080302 wrote a review Jan 2024
Elgin, United Kingdom2 contributions
We booked two cabins to catch up with family before the end of the festive holidays. Lochanhully is a beautiful location and Lauren that was on reception was so friendly and welcoming from the minute we arrived and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. The lodge’s were clean and tidy and our cabin was full to capacity with 2 adults, 3 children (11-16years) and 2 dogs, but we had everything we needed. The site speaks for itself, it’s beautiful, peaceful and the setting is amazing. It does need a bit of TLC on some aspects, but you could tell that painting and maintenance had begun on some of the lodges already. We all enjoyed our time here, and would return again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear Relax15358080302 Thank you for your feedback. As you say the site it beautiful and peaceful and I agree the setting is amazing. At this time of year when the site is quiet we do try to get on with the painting and maintenance in the units and as you say you could see that was being done in some of the units whilst you stayed with us. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Looby2511 wrote a review Nov 2023
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We love coming here its the best location we have ever found we have been coming here for years and spent thousands of pounds coming and totally fell in love with the place the children even call it there second home… The staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome swimming pool all day every day is amazing kids love this… play parks for younger kids tennis court with free use of tennis bats what more could you want! You dont even need to leave resort to have a great holiday…Games room also on sight. BUT BUT BUT unfortunately over time we have noticed the lodges and swimming pool going down hill but we are just a normal family with no high expectations in life BUT the last time we visited October half term we found the lodge disgusting with dirt and i mean disgusting!! Our view from lodge window/conservatory was onto a dumping ground!! A mean wooden lodge in woods shouts peace and romance not a dumping ground!! The swimming pool and sauna was just as bad! A think steam room conditions keep its self clean thats why that looked not bad… Games room had nothing to play apart from giant 4 in a row… Pool table was all smashed with missing balls and balls flying out of hole in side and flying across room! Surely this is out of order!!!! kids used to love playing pool for £1… No board games only jigsaws with missing pieces tv and dvds great BUT tv didn't work and dvd cases were empty!! Laundry room is fantastic spending 5 days with young kids is great as can not possibly bring there hole wardrobe and very well priced as well and even get powder on sight amazing BUT was there in October and the place was also very dirty floors covered in spilt powder, window sill gross! Sign states empty filter before use shouldn't it state empty filter after use. I wouldn't dare leave my lint for someone else to clean out! Reception staff spend long hours in the complex area why is nothing getting done about this? This place could be thee best place in Scotland but its wasted with lack of effort or maybe money getting put into it, its so sad to see this wonderful place going down the pan… and i think we have been totally put off this time to the point we wont be returning… We dont ask for alot in life but when you save money for these treats you expect cleans and not dumping grounds.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If your looking for clean avoid am afraid.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Dear Looby2511 Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry that you had issues with thee cleanliness of the lodge on your visit during half term, I do that you brought it the attention of staff giving us the opportunity to apologize in person and rectify the matter for you. I have already spoken to maintenance and my gardener about the collection of debris at the bottom of the resort and asked that they ensure it does not build up and is disposed of correctly. I note your comments about the leisure facilities and we have decided that going forward in holiday periods we will shut every day for an hour in the middle of the day to ensure that the changing rooms and leisure area are kept as clean as possible. I take on board your comments about the games room. With regards to the guest laundry a member of staff does go in and clean every morning but unfortunately powder gets spilt people are in and out and it can get very messy and doesn't look nice and in peak holiday periods it is not always possible to get this checked through out the day as staff are busy cleaning units and like all hospitality we are still operating on less staff than we require. I am sorry that you feel this has put you off returning, however if you do decide to visit us again, I am sure you will find an improvement in all the areas you have mentioned. Kindest Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lib1972 wrote a review Nov 2023
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom41 contributions58 helpful votes
Lovely dog friendly resort within a short drive to avimore. We had a two bed unit which was big enough for two adults with kids not sure how 4 adults would get on. Great dog walks all around the resort and lots of wildlife, lovely little on-site bar with a log burner. Please remember all units are dog friendly so don’t expect 5 star but they are all clean tidy and functional I would highly recommend this resort if your looking for a dog friendly holiday we can’t wait to go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded 21 Nov 2023
Dear Lib1972 Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming back on your next visit to the resort. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alison wrote a review Nov 2023
Inverness, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed 2 nights with my Husband and 10 & 11 year old. Such a peaceful park, lodges have everything you need, and are cosy, homely and quiet. The staff were so lovely, polite and helpful. The pool was lovely and warm and kids had so much fun. Met Penelope the pea hen and loads of 🦆 ducks!! Really had the most relaxing weekend. Thank you, it was just what we needed, will be back again soon 🥰
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded 11 Nov 2023
Dear mumalum Thank you for your lovely and positive review of the resort. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay Penelope is very popular with our guests and has been on site for around 14 years. We definitely have lots and lots of ducks to keep our guests entertained. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paula T wrote a review Nov 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 year old and had a wonderful time. No the lodges are not the height of luxury but this is very obvious when booking! They are gorgeous little woodland cabins in a stunning setting and provide everything you need for a comfortable stay. Our lodge was spotlessly clean and there were plenty of towels and spare bedding etc available. The ducks are very friendly and our daughter loved feeding them. Our only slight gripes were that the wifi wasn’t great so we had to use our phone hotspot but this is understandable in this location. Also we could’ve done with an additional oven tray but I’m sure if we had asked the reception we would’ve been given one! Thanks Lochanully 😊
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded 11 Nov 2023
Dear paulatompos Thank you for your lovely and positive feedback after your recent stay at the resort. I note your comments about the wifi and as you say we certainly would have been able to give you an additional oven tray. See you again soon. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Max_Aberdeen wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for three days while visiting attractions around Aviemore. Fantastic lodge near the water, a short walking trail and play parks which the kids loved. As others have said, the lodges are well loved but so long as you know what to expect it should not detract from a great location, decent facilities and a fantastic on site team who were polite, friendly and quick to handle any request. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Georgina Macpherson, General Manager at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Dear Max_Aberdeen Thank you so much for your positive review of the resort and the onsite team. As you say lodges are well loved but I am glad that this does not detract from a great location, decent facilities and a fantastic on site team. We cant wait to welcome you back to the resort. Kind Regards Gina
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Carrbridge area.
PRICE RANGE
£81 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald lochanhully woodland club hotel carrbridge
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsAviemore and the CairngormsAviemoreCarrbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MACDONALD LOCHANHULLY RESORT - Updated 2024 (Carrbridge)

Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Lochanhully Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Nearby attractions include Landmark Forest Adventure Park (0.9 miles), RSPB Loch Garten (4.8 miles), and The Old Packhorse Bridge (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Anderson's Restaurant, The Cairn Hotel Restaurant, and Speyside Centre.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Macdonald Lochanhully Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the centre of Carrbridge.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Macdonald Lochanhully Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Old Packhorse Bridge (1.5 miles).