Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aya Beach Resort

Traveller (232)
Pool & Beach (99)
Room & Suite (79)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£69
Go to your Happy Price
£69
£67
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 cottage in Kizimkazi
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The resort has 11 rooms and 9 villas on the seaside and it is located on the southwest coast of the island, just an hour from the Old Town of Zanzibar, and bordered by a private white sand beach. Located close to the fishing market of Kizimkazi allowing tourists to experience the local fish trading or arrange fishing trips with the locals. The virgin environment is serene and will appeal to a nature lover with breath taking sunsets on this side of the island. Light ocean breeze gives off a magical feeling accompanied with tranquil scenery. Hidden between coconut trees, this hotel is the perfect place for a holiday away from civilization and hectic life style. The authentic simplicity and traditional life style was balanced with the relaxing and comfortable rooms all equipped with a fan and air-conditioning. Neutral décor with traditional bed are carefully chosen to create balance between the two.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Yoga room
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Diving
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Car hire
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Extra long beds
Sofa bed
Bidet
Private balcony
Safe
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Swahili

Location

Kizimkazi Mkunguni, Kizimkazi Tanzania
111Reviews19Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 21
  • 3
  • 5
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fern G wrote a review Jan 2020
Lewisburg, Tennessee18 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent six days at the bungalow and had the fabulous #12 bungalow right on the beach. That villa was hands down the best view on the property, We loved our stay and HATED leaving. Some people complain at high and low tides being extreme, but we loved it. There are no waves and when the tide is in, you can just float in chest high water for hours. The rooms are creatively designed. The outdoor bathroom was wonderful. The restaurant has a reasonably good menu though a bit expensive. The staff is really friendly. The activity list offered is comprehensive and my travel partner enjoyed the snorkeling excursion a lot. It's a small property so it feels like family after one day. Again, it was really hard to leave. It's that relaxing and the view of the ocean dhow boats and fishermen sets this accommodation apart from other more expensive choices. If it is at all possible, we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AyaBeach, Front Office Manager at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2020
We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us and hope see you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annika73 wrote a review Dec 2022
Helsinki, Finland40 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed a week here in November and absolutely loved our stay. It was beautiful, calm and relaxing and the staff was very friendly and nice. We visited other parts of the island on day trips and sometimes used their facilities when we had lunch there (this is something many hotels on the island allow). They were all nice, but I really preferred Aya Beach which was to us the most beautiful and authentic. I would not hesitate to go back (and hopefully will!). We also used the services of Mr Happy Kizimkazi for day trips and recommend him warmly!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 16 Dec 2022
We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us and hope see you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DJC1882 wrote a review Feb 2021
Island of Malta, Malta177 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Only stayed here for 1 night but it was incredibl3. All staff were amazing and the location was great. Loved having breakfast and dinner on the watrrs edge. Hotel also arranged dolphin tour for us for 20usd which was very reasonable and not inflated prices.

Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 14 Feb 2022
We are glad that you love your stay with us! Hope see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayjayinsweden wrote a review Mar 2022
Taby, Sweden90 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Kazimkazi (south) is located less than one hour south from Stone Town and 40 min from the airport. The beach is not the best in Zanzibar, but the location is real quiet and relaxed. Aya Beach resort is run by a couple that does a great job ensuring that all guests are happy and satisfied. Food menus if sufficient for a few days/nights without repeating the dishes. And I must say, that everything on the meny tastes and looks great. Many thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The perfect resort for switching off and relaxing. Clean and really nice!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 8 Apr 2022
We are glad that you love your stay with us! Hope see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pieter_Mari wrote a review Jan 2024
Saldanha Bay Municipality, South Africa124 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a lovely 8 days at Aya Beach Resort in Kizimkazi on the southwest of the island. We specifically chose this location due to it being less touristy.
The rooms were excellent and comfortable and the staff and service great. The quality of all meals were great and often visitors from other resorts would end up enjoying a meal or a drink at Aya. They have a small gym, yoga x2 per day and free wifi all over the resort. You even get the signal from the beach!
Great pool area that is kept clean at all times. They also have a play area for kids and the beach is safe for children.
Aya offered a number of other activities and there was always someone ready to assist you with your request or to offer ideas. For avid divers, DiveTime Zanzibar, is a 5 minute walk down the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 2 Mar 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words motivate us to continue providing exceptional service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Avv. wrote a review Sept 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The basic rooms are small, have almost no daylight and needed some maintainence. The matrass is sagged. The shower was really hot or really cold. You could not adjust it. The staff did not speak englisch or was totally not interested in your request. The food was horrible. Coffee is bad, fries and fish are dried.. Location kizimkazi is boring (better go to jambiani or north). Due to lack of other bars and restaurant we were obligated to diner at this aya beach for 4/5 times. Every breakfast, diner and lunch was a disappointment. The only good was the beautiful view from the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 16 Dec 2022
Sorry to hear for your bad experiance we are working hard to improving your next stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HMS wrote a review Nov 2021
69 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 5 nights here with full board and absolutely loved it! The perfect resort for switching off and relaxing. The room was a good size, nicely decorated, with aircon, and the bed was really comfy. The pool was wonderful for cooling down and has some shade cover if you want to stay out of the sun. The meals were really tasty with fresh seafood, and a good range of cocktails. The restaurant/bar looks out over the beach and it's a terrific spot for watching the beautiful sunsets. We did a sunset dhow cruise and a spice tour which were great fun. The staff are absolutely fantastic - welcoming and accommodating. My friend had a couple of problems with his flights and the owner was incredibly helpful trying to sort them out. A wonderful holiday at Aya beach. Many thanks!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 14 Feb 2022
We are glad that you love your stay with us! Hope see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gergő D wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 wonderful nights in this very authentic little hotel. It has only 12 room and although it is not a 5 star hotel, the atmosphere the garden the pool everything is so authentic that makes the stay very special. It is right on the flour like white sandy beach. Special thanks for the employees Mc from the bar, the Maasai guard Emanuel and the general manager Simba for their hospitality. Would definitely recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 14 Feb 2022
We are glad that you love your stay with us! Hope see you soon again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
johnwwood85 wrote a review Dec 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
RUN AWAY.

Me and my wife had the worst time ever in this hotel. After having amazing time in Zanzibar and Kilimanjaro, we saw few amazing photos and reviews about Aya beach and decided to book 4 days there. BIG MISTAKE.
In our first day, we were fully charged in checkin and went to a room that was almsoy ready. We put our luggage and employee said that would come back after few minutes to arrange the bed, if we did not mind we could change and go to enjoy the hotel area.
Then we went to the swimming pool area ( did not enter as the water was greasy, but the weather was good and we enjoy the sun and view.
When we return after 3 hours, my wife’s earings was gone.
We went to reception and we spoke to manager Louis, who said that was not possible and my wife must let fall somewhere else. Unbelievable, we requested to speak with cleaner and he said they could offer a drink for our trouble.
Of course we decided to check out and requested our refund, we he said that was only possible to be done on Monday, as we were on Sunday and already passed a week and no refund until now.
They stole my wife earing and our 4 days money for the room.
Such a shame and we really want to report this for people be far away from this kind of people.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 4 Jan 2024
Dear John, We were unaware of any recorded accident you have mention. Please provide us with more details of your booking in order to locate your room for further investigation. We also dont have any requests for early check out due to this incidence. We take this very seriously and we expect your reply ASAP. Regards Aya Beach Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jo9161evans wrote a review Sept 2020
28 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived here for the last 5days or so of our holiday in zanzibar. I was quite upset arriving after having some awful moments on our stay in zanzibar but this place was lovely. The pool and views was gorgeous.The manager was friendly and helpful and we got given a really nice room with pool and sea view. We finally felt safe and relaxed for this. The menu was correctly priced for what's on it but the food needs improvement. We did take a boat trip from there but did not feel safe in this tiny boat going miles and miles out into the dark ocean against rough waves and a boat the motor was cutting out on. I never walked to the little village we saw on way in but it looked so much nicer and friendly than other parts of zanzibar we stayed. They actually had more of a party evening first night I arrived pool and lights music etcwhich I wish I'd made most of as the other nights there wasnt anything. This is definitely a place to relax and away from hustlers I only bumped into 1 beach boy while here. Would stay again if we went zanzibar again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aya Beach, Owner at Aya Beach Resort
Responded 4 Dec 2020
We are glad that you enjoy your stay with us! Hope see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarsar89 asked a question Nov 2019
23 contributions3 helpful votes
Good morning, What plug type is needed for here? Many thanks in advance : )
Answer from GY M
There are universal plugs in each room.
Answer from mbadjo
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania2 contributions
Kindly, contact them through their whatsapp number +255773188578 and they will reply shortly....
Answer from ClaireLou
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa49 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes its very safe and everyone is very friendly. Actually of all the places we went to in Zanzibar this was the spot where we were least hassled on the beach by locals to go snorkelling or boating. Very kind, calm village nearby. Zanzibar airport is about 1.5 hours north.
Answer from AyaBeach
Kizimkazi, Tanzania1 contribution
There are couple of shops in the village you can buy different drinks and snacks. Usually mosquitos are at pick after rainy days, ggod mosquito repelant is all you need to avoid them :). Kind regards Aya Beach
Answer from ClaireLou
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa49 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, small hotel with pool and sea is right there. Remember that the pool is open and no cover or railings. Hotel staff very friendly.
Adan L wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose another hotel from Paje to north Zanzibar"
Read full review
Evellynsanto wrote a tip Jan 2024
Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose another hotel, this one just a waste of money on a beautifull island, many other better clean choices."
Read full review
Michael wrote a tip Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom24 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Deluxe Villas Are Simply Magical"
Read full review
Jayjayinsweden wrote a tip Mar 2022
Taby, Sweden90 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The perfect resort for switching off and relaxing. Clean and really nice!"
Read full review
Jeni M wrote a tip Nov 2019
Burgas, Bulgaria10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not book room N1 and hope not to be downgrade by the hotel!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kizimkazi area.
PRICE RANGE
£67 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandKizimkazi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AYA BEACH RESORT - Updated 2024 (Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi)

Frequently Asked Questions about Aya Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Aya Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Aya Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Aya Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Aya Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aya Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Karamba Restaurant, Restaurant Stone Village & The Dream Garden Bungalow, and Fahari Off The Grid.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Aya Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Aya Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Aya Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Aya Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Swahili.
Does Aya Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Kizimkazi HotelsKizimkazi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KizimkaziHotels near Aya Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire