We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Neos Matala

#2 of 17 Hotels in Matala
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Neos Matala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Neos Matala
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and had a very enjoyable stay. The rooms are basic but clean and everything works. We had a decent size balcony for sitting outside. The Pool is a good size and although there's not a lot of room around it we never had difficulty is finding a decent space around it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear Julien, we say thank you very much for booking our Hotel Neos Matala and also for your very good review. It make us happy that you enjoy the days in our place. Thank you also for telling the reader that we are an easy and not comfortable hotel. All for us important points you write in the review. For...

Genk, Belgium
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I wanted a trip to Matala and due to many positive reviews on tripadvisor I chose hotel Neos. On arrival we were somewhat dissapointed. It felt like a B&B and the sound isolation is next to nothing, so we could hear the people next door go to their room as if they entered ours. But when we told the owner,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TeskaLudo
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear Ludo and family, thank you for your nice review for our hotel Neos Matala. We was very happy to have you here as guests in our place and also your well-behaved kids. It was a pleasure to sit together in the evening on the bar and have fun together. It make us happy that you like the place so...

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My husband, daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Neos. Michael and Cornelia were the ultimate hosts, always on call and approachable. Our room was perfect for the 3 of us. 2 single beds next to one another as a "double", standard in Europe, and a single closer to the door for our daughter. A small fridge. AC...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wherelolawent
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear Laura and family, we say thank you for staying in our Hotel Neos Matala. Also thank you very much for your great review. It is every time nice for us to read that our guests like the days in Neos Matala. Great that you also write some details from our place, our breakfast and also our work. This help...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This is a nice, comfortable hotel with basic amenities:decent bed with clean sheets, clean bathroom and shower, a/c (which I didn't use), and good wifi. The room I had was average size with a small balcony -- perfectly fine for a stay of a few nights. What makes this budget hotel a particularly good choice is its location (just a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank espaustx
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you very much for booking hotel Neos Matala and also for your very good and extensive review. We are very happy that you liked our place and also Matala. We hope that you had a very good time and nice holidays on Crete. Many greetings from Matala Cornelia and Michael

Omagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. Swimming pool and nice garden. Bus stop just opposite the hotel - so you don't have to walk into the village to get the bus. Lovely and tranquil at night. Staff readily gave advice on places to eat and how to get to beaches.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubyonthego
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear Ruby, thank you very much for being guest in our hotel Neos Matala. Also thanks for the very good review. We are very happy that you like our place and also our way to run the hotel. Everytime we try to help our guests if they have questions, we really don´t know all from Crete this is impossible, but...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I'm very disappointed with my stay in this hotel happy it was (only) two nights. I was traveling with husband and 3 years old son all over the island staying in ten different accommodations and that was the first time I was charged on arrival before I had chance to see the room! I would run away otherwise. The smallest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear guests, we are really very happy that we have the chance to answer on your review. We are really shocked that you have the impertinence so to distort the facts. You booked a room for two nights via booking.com for 2 adults without breakfast. After your booking you tell us that you want an extra bed for your child...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Only stayed for 2 nights , clean and tidy , our first room stank of sewage like you wouldn't believe, we informed them and where told it's a common thing and would hopefully go . We asked for another room and where told they didn't have one . We said that we would could not stay in this room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1s-g-gill
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear guests, thank you for booking our hotel Neos Matala. Sure our hotel is “base”, nowhere you can read something else and we are very sure that you don´t expect a high star hotel when you book our hotel. We try to explain you the problem with an available room and we tell you that we have no other double...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Travelling round Crete we stayed here for three nights. The room was clean with a good shower and hot water every day. The balcony looks onto the garden. Air con good but had a very bright light so we tended to turn it off once in bed. Owners were very friendly and it was nice to be able to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear Debbie, thank you very much for your very good review. It was very nice to have you as a guest at the hotel. You are right the light from our new aircondition is a little bit bright. We wish you all the best. Many greetings to Chesterfield from The "Neos Team"

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Having never stayed in a hotel before ( camping, caves, and rent rooms in the area for 30 years) I didn't know what to expect, (and what was expected of me). From the moment I exited the taxi, Michael greeted me as an old friend, I felt instantly at home, I met Cornelia and Jo who effortlessly put me at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marc D
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Dear Marc, thank you for your visit in our hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you and to have you as a guest in our Neos Matala. Also very much thanks for your very good and extensively review. We miss the nice evenings on our terrace and bar, but we hope and look forward to see you again next...

Langley, Canada
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Easy to find on the one main road of Matala as it is one of the first hotels before you get right into the strip with all the shops and tavernas. Very nice location and only a couple blocks walk for the whole of Matala. No elevator so be prepared to carry luggage beyond the ground floor. Has a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank banditoo
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this review

Hello from Matala to Canada, thank you very much for your review and your nice and correct words. We are very happy that you like our hotel and also we are happy you tell to the next readers that our hotel is small and no luxus comfort hotel. We try to make a good work (not every time possible) but...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matala hotels
0.3 mi away
Fragiskos Hotel
Fragiskos Hotel
#1 of 17 in Matala
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nikos
Hotel Nikos
#4 of 17 in Matala
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matala Bay Hotel
Matala Bay Hotel
#11 of 17 in Matala
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Matala Valley Village Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eva Marina
Hotel Eva Marina
#5 of 17 in Matala
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zafiria
Hotel Zafiria
#10 of 17 in Matala
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our small hotel is 500 m away from Matala and the beautiful sandy beach. We offer you a breakfast terrace bar, swimming pool with sunbeds, surrounded by a beautiful garden. All our rooms have fridge, aircondition, safe, bathroom and balcony. Every morning we serve a breakfast buffet. The hotel is managed by a german couple, enjoy the German qualities in combined with the Greek hospitality. Our slogan for your time in Matala "The real feeling of your holidays". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Neos Matala

Address: Mainroad, Matala, Crete 702 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Matala
Price Range: £33 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neos Matala 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Neos Matala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Xenophon Matala
Hotel Neos Matala Crete
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Neos Matala staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Leuven, Belgium

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Neos Matala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have some A/C noise even if you turn yours off, as we did - after a night you get used to it.”
BrixtonGardener, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We would recommend looking at the room layouts and choose the one that works for you.”
  • Hotel pool with the lounging deck ...
  • There are grape vines that provide more shade in the summer
sylviandavid, 28 Sep 2014 | Read review
“All rooms have security from the outside and a free safe inside so no problems, plus the owners are always present to check everywhere. All rooms have a good balcony and a garden view.”
LiverpoolMinty, 10 Jul 2014 | Read review
“On the first floor: very easy access from the street to the room through balcony door, you have to accept the risks.”
Katarina555, 17 Aug 2011 | Read review
4 of 4
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotels.com
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates