We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Martineau Guest House

Traveller (70)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
95Great for walkers
Grade: 95 out of 100
37Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
12Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
209Reviews
77Photos
1Q+A
51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 184
  • 21
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We have now stayed at the Martineau on 5 or 6 occasions as our daughter lives in s small flat locally. We have always found it to be warm, comfortable and very welcoming. The rooms are well furnished and provided with the small luxuries of life in terms of tea, toiletries and
Read more
My wife and I stayed there for a long weekend in Tynemouth. We stayed in the Priory room, named for good reason. The views of the Tyne were spectacular. I would estimate a 140' degree view of the river and environs. Our room was more then comfortable and cosy. No noise and had
Read more
We have stayed at the Martineau on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.We had two rooms , one overlooking the Main Street in Tynemouth and one at the back with a great view over the river.Both rooms were spotless and very comfortable.There was a great
Read more
Room was nice, but could have done with a dust, as there were a lot of cobwebs. Bathroom in need of an update - shower not very powerful. Breakfast ok,nothing special (even though people rave about the sausages) but, as others have stated, the breakfast are is small, but very
Read more
Response from Sally C, Owner at Martineau Guest House
Responded 4 Nov 2018
Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us. However I am very disappointed that you said that there were lots of cobwebs in your room. As you will see many of our reviews comment on the cleanliness of the room. Visit England assessors, who visit incognito every year, also comment on the excellent cleanliness of the rooms. If you had mentioned this to me at the time we could have sorted it for you. I am also disappointed that you found that your breakfast was small and ‘nothing special.’ Having looked back at the many reviews we have had I cannot find another review which says that the breakfasts are small. In actual fact most reviews comment on the excellent breakfasts and the wide choices on offer. Many saying that it is the best breakfast they have ever had. Often guests comment that after one of our breakfasts they don’t need to eat again until the evening! The website clearly states that the breakfast table is a communal one but I do understand that not everyone is comfortable with this, hence the breakfast in bed option. However I do realise that everyone has their own views and hope that you will stay with us again sometime to enable us to give you a better experience.
Read more
Fantastic B&B in the heart of the characterful village of Tynemouth. Spotlessly clean room, beautiful breakfasts (with amazing choices, including local fish and produce), and a great position within easy walking distance of several good restaurants, the priory and the seafront.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Photo provided by managementMartineau Guest House
Village View, a beautiful twin room with a window seat overlooking the village
View from Priory View Room toward South Shields
Priory View Room
Stunning sunrise from our room
Great views just down from the hotel.
PreviousNext
123
Parking is public parking on Front Street but you can buy a parking permit from the guest house for £1 per day.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Rooms at the back have a great view"
"Not suitable if you have access/mobility issues due to the age of the building and design."
"Village view with shutters closed was very quiet even on Friday night"
"great views"
"The Priory Room had great views over the mouth of the Tyne"
PreviousNext
12345611
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandTynemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing