We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night recently on a family trip from Canada to my dad's hometown of Ecclefechan. This hotel was a great stay! The history of the hotel is very interesting - the hotel includes a leaflet with the building's history on check-in. The rooms were clean and well maintained, although there was a bit of water damage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiara D
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us & it made your long trip easier that you found our property comfortable & interesting. We wish you a safe journey & should you be in Scotland again please do not hesitate to visit us. Thank you. More 

Pershore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently spent a couple of nights at this incredible place ,location is ideal, the Hall itself is full of items of interest. The room we had was very clean and extremely well equipped, John and Babs are very good hosts and nothing is too much trouble. food is excellent and bar well stocked Whole hotel is very well decorated to... More 

Helpful?
Thank spanner37
Management response:

Thank you so much for the kind words you have conveyed in your review. We are so pleased you found your stay with us an enjoyable one & we do hope you will visit us again in the near future. Thank you. More 

Hengelo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016

The hotel is situated next to a busy motorway and traintrack, but the room I had (even though not directly facing rails or motorway) was not noisy. The inside looks all very dated, but the room I had was very clean! No problems at all. Everything you need is available: good bed, good bathroom. Stayed there for diner and breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raimund L
Management response:

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We hope to see you again n the near future. Thank you. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Friendly Welcome, beds clean and comfortable. However, I like dogs as much as anyone but I do not like dogs lying on chairs that guests use or allowing dogs (other than guide dogs) in the dining room. Our room only had single glazing, consequently in the morning (before the heating came on) the condensation in bedroom and en-suite made the... More 

Helpful?
Thank David T
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay & you found the welcome good. I can only apologise for the dog friendly nature of our hotel, this is something we have done since the purchase of the property & we have a lot of dog owners who enjoy the fact we are so pet friendly.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

On our way to Largs Scotland when a family member took extremely ill and was taken to hospital - rang this hotel around 7pm at night asking for a room as we had no where to go - no problem just get here when u can they said - no names no numbers just see you when u arrive -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

WOW thank you so much for your very kind words, that is so lovely that you have taken the time to give us feedback like that. We were more than happy to accommodate you & sincerely hope you will return again as Louis & Rosa are missing all the petting your children gave them. Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Best sleep I've ever had. John very hospitable. Nice place. My daughter loved the greet and meet on arrival by their two dogs. Only downside was the carpet looked dirty and worn and my husband said the room had a stale smell. I couldn't smell anything. Would recommend as I love staying at places that have a rich history.

Helpful?
Thank Clownleisure1
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review & we apologise for the issues you encountered, please be rest assured that we will rectify the points you have raised & should you wish to stay with us again we would love to host you. More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2016

called in to stay for the night myself and friend after driving up from manchester , we were greeted by the owners john and babs, and as babs had fallen and broken her arm we did not want to put her to the trouble of makeing us late dinner [although they both said it was not a problem] we decided... More 

Helpful?
Thank william john g
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

What an amazing review you have given us, thank you so much!!!!! It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us & we hope you will visit us again in the near future. Thank you. More 

Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Just off the main road, so its not a tranquil location, but a warm welcome. Very clean and tidy. We had room 6 - which has the jacuzzi bath - very welcome considering I was there to participate in Tough Mudder just up the road at Drumlanrig Castle. Rooms are very clean, cosy and comfy - although a wee biscuit... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the very kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us & in particular the quirky nature of our hospitality. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Stumbled upon the hotel by chance. We were made very welcome by Babs, John , Angie and the dogs. The food in the restored dining room was excellent as was English breakfast. Room was nice and comfy bed , just bear in mind the hotel is close to the main road. Babs gave me a tour - there is such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Songwitch
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for your most kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay & all members of the team that were mentioned in your review are very happy, especially Angie ! We hope you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Thank you. More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Spent a night at this hotel on our way to Edinburgh and what a surprise. Its an antique lovers paradise. The owner greated us with casual warm and friendliness. He reminds me of basil of fawlty towers, the good version that is. The room is clean and well maintained and breakfast was served by the owner himself. He did provide... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay T
JohnSargeant, Owner at Kirkconnel Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review you have given us. We are so happy you enjoyed our hospitality & especially the breakfast spread in the morning. John is ready & primed to give you another tour of the antiques we have & maybe get a sale or two !!! Thank you. More 

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecclefechan
1.0 mi away
Cressfield Country Hotel
Cressfield Country Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lockerbie
128 reviews
5.0 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
243 reviews
11.7 mi away
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
951 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
801 reviews
12.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel has a highly visable location adjacent to junction 19 of the A74M on the edge of the country village of Ecclecfechan. It is only 10 miles north of Gretna and is well located in an area of south west Scotland popular for both short breaks, weddings, functions and business conferences. Originally home to the Arnott family Kirkconnel Hall dates as far back as the 15th century, providing the property with great historic interest. It was home to Napoleon's physician in the late 18th Century and although extended in the 1870's and again more recently, it retains much of its period charm. Aquired by its present owners Kirkconnel Hall is now a family owned and run business and we look forward to welcoming you and hope that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Kirkconnel Hall has 11 en-suite bedrooms which are decorated to a high standard, bar, lounge, restaurant and extensive and well planned conferencing facilities. Kirkconnel Hall has extensive gardens and grounds extending to approximately 3.75 acres. The hotel has ample car parking and to the rear, accomodating bus tours, there are areas of lawn, a children's play area and grounds which have a range of mature trees and shrubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kirkconnel Hall Hotel

Address: Ecclefechan Lockerbie | Near Gretna, Ecclefechan DG11 3JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Ecclefechan
Price Range: £14 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirkconnel Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kirkconnel Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkconnel Hall Hotel Ecclefechan, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kirkconnel Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All appear to be very acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles spanner37, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The road noise wasn't too bad, and we were at the front of the hotel, but rooms to the rear may have been quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnB592, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi bit hit and miss .”
 of 5 bubbles Songwitch, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Quieter at the back, as the hotel is near motorway.”
 of 5 bubbles 283chrissyc, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't get one looking over the motorway”
 of 5 bubbles 854jot, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay