We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tongariro Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tongariro Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of Tongariro Lodge
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I were only here for one night as we were going to Turangi for rafting the following day. I cannot fault the place. Our chalet was clean and perfect for a couple. The staff were so lovely and the dinner we had at Tongariro Lodge was perfect for Valentines day. We were supposed to sky dive on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Busterboymike
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were so wonderful! That's first and foremost. We went fly fishing for the first time in our lives and were treated to Tim as our guide....unbeknownst to us initially, he happens to the be the best in the country! Truly, appreciated his knowledge, expertise, and help crossing the rapids....(Thanks again, Tim! :)) My husband caught several fish and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grassykey
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, wonderful to receive your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. So pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge and had a fantastic fishing experience. I hope your husband has managed to purchase some fishing gear. I will pass your feedback onto all staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks & happy fishing.

Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brought my team for some dedicated us time. Staff awesum. Relaxed, undisturbed, helpful, perfect getaway for introspection and forecasting. Big thanks. Rooms for really good fit. Lounge suited us, very comfortable. Fully outfitted kitchen. Food goooood!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsti L
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Fantastic, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, so pleased that everything worked well for your team. We look forward to welcoming you back next time. Thankyou.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3 nights here - did the Tongariro crossing and the river walk Our 'chalet' was well furnished and very 'hygge' [Danish for cosy !] We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent - best meal in NZ for 14 years ! Staff were delightful and very helpful [We did not catch any trout - but then we were not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahmair
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Great you got to do The Crossing and the River walk, both well worth doing in my mind. So pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge and the meals. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thankyou.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The chalet we were allocated (3) was really comfortable and clean. The facilities were more than adequate with quality tea/coffee and bath products. Iron provided should you have the need. Unfortunately as we were on the road we didn't make use of the lodge's general facilities so can't comment on those. FYI the restaurant closes at 8.30pm and there's no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Return to Parad... R, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Good Morning and Thank You for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed the chalets and what we have on offer. There has been some misunderstanding with the restaurant though, as we don't close at 8.30. We don't actually have a closing time for the restaurant, it depends on how busy we are. Hopefully...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed being at the Lodge. Our chalet was cosy but a little small, and it did not really allow for self-catering. The food at The Lodge was excellent but the menu was rather restricted which meant having to have the same dish twice in 3 days. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rosie_lusznat
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do offer two main room types at The Lodge, The Chalets which have tea & coffee making facilities, and then the villa's which do offer full cooking facilities for your future reference. You will also be pleased to note that we have updated the menu, and have a...

New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The front office team were very accommodating, allowing us a later check out in order to get another hour on the river before we departed. The bar and restaurant ladies (mother and daughter) were delightful, and we enjoyed some historic stories of the lodge. Dinner was fabulous and the wine list was a real treat.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle S
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback, great you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

perth west australia
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This is a special treat destination but so fabulous! Thankyou so much Vicky and Kendal for such warm hospitality . Thankyou Tim for being the best fishing guide . Thankyou chef for cooking our freshly caught trout superbly . Wonderful experience . Beautiful grounds magnificent scenery . Lovely chalets . nothing to fault .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jedda88
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Wow, that's great feedback, Thankyou. So pleased that you enjoyed all we have on offer at The Lodge, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in this area. Thankyou & happy travels.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My wife and I stayed in Lodge 10 with our dear friends - beautiful and our favourite time was having a wine, in front of the open fireplace looking back over the river and sun setting in the mountains behind it, talking about our day and the adventures we'd had. The accommodation is excellent and the food in the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon Nigel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lodge, it is a beautiful setting, and its great that you enjoyed it. The restaurant is doing really well, and we are pleased you thought the food fabulous. We have just launched a new menu, so hopefully we will see you back here again...

New Zealand
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Tongariro Lodge is a nice place to stay. We stayed in a Chalet, which was comfortable, clean and had all the necessities. The actual lodge itself is warm, comfy and very inviting. Staff were fantastic, friendly & helpful. Food in the restaurant is fantastic, beautifully cooked and presented although being boutique, there isn't a huge selection (not that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brieberryw
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review

Hi, Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the Lodge experience, the food and staff. I am sorry that you felt you didn't get the best deal. I will look into this, however the normal room rate we offer for a chalet is 299.00 per night, so I am thinking...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,417 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
1.5 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: £106 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tongariro Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Villa 5 was great!! Private deck and surroundings, great furnishings, steps from the river.”
 of 5 bubbles grassykey, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chalets all seem great”
 of 5 bubbles sarahmair, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wide range of accommodation options from 5bdrm house to cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles NigelSWatts2013, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't go for the package deal.”
 of 5 bubbles brieberryw, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The friendly staff will put you in the best accommodation for your needs.”
 of 5 bubbles rjt89, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5