We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Judges Pool Motel

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Judges Pool Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Judges Pool Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Auckland
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Great hospitality. Clean, warm room. So handy to everything. If you're looking for great coffee and fishing advice, call in and see Grant and Deb at the Creel Cafe just down the road. If you don't feel like driving to fish, it's across the road with plenty of water within 10 minutes.Chris - your seasoning of the smoked trout -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William M
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, sorry about the potatoe peeler, we have a good supply, so you could have come and told us and we would replace it. Wi-Fi is setup so that it does drop out when not in use, so that is why you need to reenter your code. Thanks again and will look forward to seeing you soon.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2015

A really comfortable place to stay and the hosts Chris and Jill could not be more helpful. The rooms are clean and warm and its really quiet at night Every time I am in Turangi this is where I will stay. The fishing is pretty hot as well and Chris is always forthcoming with a secret fly or two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1TROUT
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to seeing you next time.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Wonderful place to stay with facilities that out shine many other Turangi motels. Handy to the river for fishing and Chris the landlord is right up on the local fishing conditions. The units are warm and comfortable, the heat pumps work well. Good kitchen facilities. Parking right outside your motel unit entrance Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased that you found our motel a pleasant and enjoyable place to stay and we do look forwarding to having you to stay with us again.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Unfortunately we have very mixed feeling towards this accommodation. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was lovely, small and cosy but warm and with everything you need. We were a family of 4 adults (1 heavily pregnant) and 2 children under 5 and we felt this was adequate and comfortable for us. Great little heatpump, sky tv, large...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kasey20
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you find the accommodation really great but disappointed that you never came to us about the noise. We did have a group of fisherman who come once a year for their fishing competition. Normally they would book out the whole complex which is never a problem, but this year not so many of them. We did socialize...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Had two nights during the winter school holidays. Located on a nice quiet road. The unit had everything we needed for a couple of days, and a handy short walk around to the local supermarket. Only 40 min drive to Whakapapa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M0xie4
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found it to be nice and quiet

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Confirmation of our booking by email and they bumped us and have given the room to someone else, a group of 23 people. Really bad news!!!! Booked well in advance because it's the school holidays, now what are we supposed to do. Beware when booking and follow up. Rang them and couldn't give a. We have email proof of confirmation...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank william A
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

This person never stayed with us, so have no right in putting this on and saying they stayed here with family. They were not bumped, this was a genuine error that occurred with booking.com and a hiccup in the system, as we have an audit trail to prove we never got the booking. It has never happened before, and just...

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We had a lovely two night stay at Judges Pool Motel, and felt like it was a home away from home. We used the motel as a base for exploring the Tongariro National Park, which was perfect as we were only a 35 minute drive to Whakapapa Village, where the National Park Visitors Centre is located, and where various walks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chick-pea-222
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for that and pleased you felt it was like a home away from home. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 June 2015

Room was very quiet and clean. Warm and cosy with heatpump. All sky channels available, good for the kids to watch and for us to see a movie after they went to bed. Not much to do in Turangi itself if you don't fish. But that is no matter as it was a base for us to see national park...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Goulash51
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the 2 bedroom to your liking. Hope to see you again soon. It is an outdoors area, so besides fishing in the river, there are lots of walks and also the hot pools and river rafting and biking.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 24 April 2015

Very spacious, comfortable and quiet place. Only downfall was the shower pressure and design with water potentially going all over the floor. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. We bought eggs from their chickens for breakfast and got a few tomatoes too. They arranged for us to get picked up for the hike next morning, we felt very welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oanatravel
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

Pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have 2 types of showers, so next time you might prefer one that is enclosed, just ask and only to happy to oblige.

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 April 2015

The owners Chris and Jill were exceptionally friendly and helpful making us feel most welcome from the first moment we got out of the car. The motel units were recently renovated to a high standard, were spacious, warm and clean making them a pleasure to stay in. We will be back as we enjoyed our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kearnsy2015
JudgesPoolMotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, even though it was such a cold night for April, but guests do appreciate us turning the heat pump on before they arrive so it does keep the room nice and warm for their arrival. We hope we will see you again in the very...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (190)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Other (98)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.1 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
65 reviews
20.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,521 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014. Just a stone's throw from the world-renowned Tongariro River at the southern end of Lake Taupo, Judges Pool Motel offers comfortable, quiet place to stay. Stroll to the river pools to fish for big Rainbow and Brown Trout or venture to the nearby Tongariro National Park with its alpine walks and ski fields. Judges Pool Motel provides the perfect base for your activities or the ideal stopover with no traffic noise on your travels, with affordable family accommodation in our fully self-contained units. We're one of the area's most popular motels and the owners-operators Stella and Rhett have a wealth of local knowledge to share with you. . All Units Serviced Daily . Free Unlimited WIFI . Heat Pumps / Air Conditioning . Laundry and a Drying Room . Undercover BBQ Area ... more   less 

Additional Information about Judges Pool Motel

Address: 92 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Price Range: £58 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Judges Pool Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Judges Pool Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Judges Pool Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all great with rear decks and access to car parking and playground area.”
W5551LFdavidm, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all the units are similar”
  • fully equipped, clean and comfortable
skrsm, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One bed room apartments ar well equiped.”
597fab50, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is close to the supermarket and activity centres. Beautiful nature and birdlife around the motel”
537friedal, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms were fantastic. the owners told us that the pool in town was warm and cheap and the town to the west had cheap hot springs.”
926cm, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$84* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$84
Booking.comUS$84
Hotels.comUS$84
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates