Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa

Stamford Road, Barnsdale, Oakham LE15 8AB England
Traveller (358)
Apartment Lounge
Room & Suite (72)
Group Dining
Dining (38)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
£119
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£119
£96
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Barnsdale
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Rutland Hall Hotel is a unique, lakeside venue sitting in 70 acres of parkland. Perfect for active getaways, family staycations & romantic retreats. Accommodation includes 66 refurbished hotel rooms, 31 wooden, self-catering lodges & over 15 apartments spread out across this dog-friendly resort. On site, there's an indoor 22m swimming pool, a gym & a very popular local restaurant, Blossoms, which serves delicious menus everyday from 12 noon to 9pm. Also on site, there's a crazy golf course, pitch & putt plus a bowling green and many more activities within a short walk. With spectacular views across Rutland Water, this is the ideal backdrop to get married, (a new venue can seat up to 500 guests), hold an event, conference, or outdoorsy retreat. The venue has corporate rooms & private dining areas for hire. This resort is set across several different sites, meaning you’ll need to navigate steps & inclines. All areas are accessible with a resort buggy on hand.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Water park offsite
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
451Reviews0Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 228
  • 92
  • 59
  • 36
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rosie B wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom33 contributions55 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked Barnsdale Hall Hotel to stop off en route to the North of England and thought the Rutland Water area would be a good place to stay. Unfortunately we arrived in the middle of Storm Francis and the winds were bad all the time we were there.
Our room (a Deluxe Double Room) was a good size and spotlessly clean. Tea/coffee facilities with plenty of milk and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom and shower were very clean and towels pure white and fluffy.
What lets the hotel down is the dated and dreary restaurant and bar which are a few minutes walk outside and when you have a storm blowing you about it's not fun. Upon arrival at the restaurant there is a hand sanitiser station and a temperature 'machine' which tells you your temperature and if it's normal. This is good BUT there is no-one to manage it. It's up to you if you take your temperature and what would happen if it was not normal? No-one can hear it or would know! Perhaps this would be best placed by the welcome area so that the host can check if people are sanitising their hands and taking their temperature.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. My food was very good, my husband's steak was not. Good choice of wine. Breakfast was average. The music playing both in the evening and the morning was dire (think Classic FM but worse).
Generally, our stay was reasonably enjoyable and we would definitely stay there again if we wanted somewhere in the region for the night.

Tip - if you have mobility issues and have problems with stairs you should definitely tell the hotel during booking. To get to our room we had to go up steep outside stairs and then more stairs to get to the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If stairs are a problem make sure you let the hotel know before checking in
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Kabbabe, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 7 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us en route to the north of the country and for leaving comments about your experience. It seems though you were slightly unfortunate with the weather as we just had some pleasant sunshine during this weekend. It does make a difference as we have a beautiful outside Terrace seating area just besides the current Restaurant at the Edith Weston Suite. We do take our guests and our teams safety very seriously so will pass your suggestion onto the Food & Beverage Manager however you will have had your temperature checked upon your arrival using the device in the Main Hall as you enter. As well as that you will have been asked to complete a Covid Declaration at Check In if not already returned via email the day before. It's very pleasing to read that the staff you encountered were both friendly and helpful. Also great to note your remarks about the room and cleanliness, comfort & size. Our Housekeeping Team will be delighted to receive your comments as room cleanliness is very important to them and they set high standards. Our Deluxe rooms tend to be ideal for two people. In terms of accessing the bedrooms than we do have a lift in both the Oakham & Uppingham blocks. Once more thank you for again for your review and hope to see you in future back at the hotel. Best Regards, Nicholas Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer B wrote a review Jun 2022
Mansfield, United Kingdom29 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was beautiful and food amazing in the beautiful restaurant £114 for 3 courses and wine for 2 people .We stayed in a lake view room £260 b&b, the room was standard size and the ‘balcony’ on the 4th floor was a chest high brick wall so you had to stand to see the view, bathroom was small and they had forgotten to switch on the shower which we didn’t realise until after we’d had a pathetic dribble of a shower then found the socket to switch it on, the socket wasn’t labelled. We used the pool and I rang to see if we needed to take towels and money for the lockers they said towels were provided and no you didn’t need money. On arrival at a side door held open by a bit of cloth you walk straight into poolside then take your shoes off , the towels felt 10 years old and you do need money for the lockers. On going to the restaurant in the evening it was raining heavily and the guttering over the restaurant entrance was leaking heavily. Due to the Hall being renovated there were lots of signs redirecting you around the site. On arrival I gave my name , there were 3 staff on reception one of whom was booking in another guest ,the other 2 just sat there while we waited to be booked in.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Kabbabe, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for choosing to stay with us for one night and thank you for posting a 4 star review of your stop. It's great to read that your dining experience was a beautiful one; and that you were able to book a room offering a view of the wonderful Rutland Water. We are pleased to read that you were able to get a slot in the pool and we shall pass your comments onto the Leisure Manager regarding the towels. It's good to note that you were able to get around the resort easily due to the signage because we had some feedback recently from guest's who were struggling to find our temporary reception at the leisure reception whilst we are awaiting the soon to be completed Main Hall. We are sorry that you wait to wait a little while to check in but please be aware that the current reception is shared with the leisure team even though they are two separate departments. Best Regards, Nicholas Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mark w wrote a review Jul 2022
Nuneaton, United Kingdom264 contributions174 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had only one night at Rutland Hall Hotel but managed to sample dinner, breakfast, afternoon tea and the pool. The hotel is in a great location, overlooking Rutland Water and consists of hotel rooms plus a large number of 'lodges' which appear to be part of a timeshare development. They like to refer to it as a 'resort'. We were in one of the hotel rooms in the block near to the main reception. The restaurant, pool and most of the leisure facilities were behind us, just a short walk away. We booked a king sized room with a Rutland water view. They appear to have just completed a refurbishment and overall it looked good. Our room was quite large and had a large balcony which was great for relaxing in the evening. The room had a very dark colour scheme which we weren't convinced by. Why would any hotel go for such a dark colour scheme? The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was fine. It could have done with a mini-fridge and air-con though. The evening meal we had was part of a dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The dinner choice you get is three courses picked from the main menu so not a large choice. Given that main of the dishes on the 'fixed' menu were the same price as the main menu, why not simply give guests an allowance against the whole menu for more choice? Having said that, the fixed menu had some good options for us. The meal was excellent, quite refined, very tasty and presented beautifully. Breakfast was a standard buffet offering, pretty average fare. The Afternoon Tea was very good. A lot of variety, high quality and very fresh. Not the largest Afternoon Tea we've had but we were pleased they went for quality and variety over quantity. It was still very filling though. Fair value for money too. Finally, the pool. You do have to book a session, not sure if it's to do with Covid or just it being popular and has booked classes at certain times. It's a nice pool, quite big and did the job. The reason why I'd not give it 5/5 was that the rooms really need air-con and a fridge. That's about it, otherwise very good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Kabbabe, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Dear Mark, Thank you for choosing to spend a night with us at Rutland Hall and thank you very much for leaving such a detailed 5 star review. You managed to fit more in one day than some of our guests fit into several! We will pass your suggestions onto the hotel Manager. Best Regards, Nicholas Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ted D wrote a review Sept 2020
London, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My booking confirmation noted “room and breakfast” but on checking in the receptionist advised that our booking was room only AND their confirmation letters always said “room and breakfast” irrespective of the booking.
I believe the written confirmation is a contract and will take this up with the hotel manager.

Notwithstanding Covid we found the level of service in the restaurant/bar to be poor with following examples:
Ordered two glasses of wine and asked for a glass with ice. Two glasses of wine arrived.
Breakfast - ordered sausage fried egg tomato and beans. Arrived as 1 egg, 1 sausage, half a tomato and NO beans.
Bar was closed before 11.00pm and no room service.
No obvious outside places to sit.

Overall the hotel is way below the standard they imply on their website.
There were few people at the hotel and the couples whom we spoke to had similar views.

The location is beautiful and the surrounding area the same. It’s a shame this hotel lets the area down.

This is the first time in all my years of personal and business travel that I have felt the need to provide negative comment as I know nothing is perfect but the Barnsdale hotel has a very high hill to climb.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Kabbabe, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 22 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you stopping with us and for leaving us some feedback. We offer rates with or without Breakfast and accordingly when you made your reservation on Booking.com it was for Room Only. The confirmation you received from Booking.com will have stated that. The Receptionist should have asked you to produce that. If you received a separate confirmation from the hotel stating Bed and Breakfast than thank you for pointing that out as it would need to be altered. Thank you for your comments about the Bar and Restaurant; those will be shared with the Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. Please be aware that we do offer outside and having only just moved back to the normal Restaurant from the Edith Weston Suite which had the beautiful outdoor terrace area with a fabulous view of Rutland Water. Kind Regards, Nicholas Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RAT wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 night stay at Barnsdale Hall, hoping for something a bit special. A combination of poor management and sub standard customer care saw to it that we didn’t. The spa facilities were unavailable unless pre booked weeks in advance (due to COVID) but this wasn’t reflected in the price, nor was it made clear at the point we booked, which is somewhat deceitful (we wouldn’t have booked if we’d known). The hotel was fully occupied on the Saturday night but the resources made available to cope with this at breakfast the following morning were at best inadequate. We’d been allocated a 9.45 breakfast slot but we were still waiting for service at 10.15 - so we left without eating so that we could get on with our day. When we brought this to the attention of Reception we were offered sympathy but nothing more, which was surprising. Basic details like a fridge in the room, decent toiletries and ample toilet roll are the norm in most hotels but not here. The electronic key card initialised itself if it came into contact with a mobile or car key, a fact that was known at reception but that we (nor others) were warned about. If attention to detail is the hallmark of a great hotel then Barnsdale Hall falls short. I accept that COVID has a bearing on service but the management need to find a way to maintain standards or be up front about a likely drop in standards at the point of booking. The prices being charged bely the fact that this is nothing more than a perfectly adequate hotel. It’s saving grace is the setting.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Kabbabe, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 1 Nov 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stop with us for 3 nights and for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry that you were unable to get a space in the Swimming Pool during your stay. Due to Covid we have to limit the numbers going in and it can only be for a 45 minute slot. We operate on a booking system however we do have a waiting list and this enables our guests to still have some time in the Pool for the most part. We are very sorry that you had to wait so long for your Breakfast on the Sunday morning however unfortunately we had some people come later than their allocated time and this meant an increased demand. Many hotels no longer put Fridges in the rooms or Minibars however we do offer at Reception somewhere for refridgeration if required. Our toiletries are in line with what you might expect of a 3 star hotel and our Housekeeping Team provide a new bag with essentials in each day for our stayovers. With any hotel electronic key card you will find in general that they cease working if left in the same pocket as a mobile phone or in a wallet with credit or debit cards. Once more thank you for your comments which have been shared with the Senior Management Team. Kind Regards, Nicholas Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sally H wrote a review Aug 2022
Cottesmore, United Kingdom80 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Living locally and having read about the recent refurbishment and the opening of Blossoms we decided to pay the hotel a visit for lunch last week. The setting on the shores of Rutland water is beautiful so we sat outside for a drink, I went to the bar, and the lady who was behind tapping away on an iPad just looked at me, turned away without a word until another member of staff came to serve me. My husband went to order our lunch and was asked to pay which I thought was odd as I’d just opened a tab. As there were a lot of wasps around we decided to go inside to eat and sat down-at this point I’d like to stress that as far as we could see we were the only people in this huge restaurant apart from a family who were playing games at a nearby table. We sat and sat until my husband asked how long our lunch would be and after twice doing this we were told our order had not gone through to the kitchen because of a WiFi fault! At this point a lady in a suit came, apologised, and said she’d hurry things up, which she did. In the meantime my husband goes to the bar for another drink, the lady serving was talking to a colleague which she continued to do completely ignoring him! Eventually we got our lunch which I have to say was delicious - we’d been there over an hour! It was obvious to us that the place needed management presence- there were tables that hadn’t been cleared and cleaned and no one, bar one, looked remotely interested in what they were doing and I say all this after years in the hotel industry ourselves. It was such a pity because the place is beautiful but unfortunately our first impressions were not favourable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Kabbabe, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 13 Aug 2022
Dear Sally, Thank you for choosing to join us for lunch recently after having read about the refurbishment of our bar & restaurant earlier on this year. We are very sorry that your experience was a disappointing one and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments have already been shared with the Restaurant Manager and the Hotel Manager in a bid to improve our service levels. Please feel free to contact myself on nicholas.kabbabe@rutlandhall.co.uk if you want to discuss this further as one hospitality professional to another. Best Regards, Nicholas Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Acrobatic1 wrote a review Oct 2023
Cambridge, United Kingdom75 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We love Rutland and jumped at a Secret Escapes two night offer to try this hotel out. Perhaps we should have reviewed comments made on this site about the major works being undertaken ahead of time but this said, it did not detract materially from our stay here except it does limit the facilities available. We were told the spa pool had not been in operation since before CoVid, which was a little disappointing.
Our lakeside room was well positioned, spotlessly clean, a good size and incredibly comfortable; we appreciated the complimentary touches like the big glass bottle of water, not the awful plastic stuff.
All the staff we interacted with (except one particularly grumpy one who literally must have had a sense of humour bypass) were professional, efficient and helpful. We are avid rugby fans and the staff in Blossoms kindly set up the TV facility in their snug room to allow us to drink and dine in there to watch the World Cup matches .We enjoyed the food in Blossoms, the dinner menu was not large but sufficiently varied for most if not all palettes. The wine list was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast is buffet style but the chefs are happy to cook eggs to one’s liking. The system was less efficient when there was a rush of people turning up for breakfast at the same time on one morning and key breakfast items were not replenished in a timely fashion resulting in large queues. We can understand why waste should be absolutely limited but the kitchen and restaurant staff would surely have a good idea of the numbers of people expected and plan accordingly.
For us, the real highlight was the resort’s positioning and the lay out. The grounds are well cared for and later buildings sympathetically blend in with the environment; we only hope the resort doesn’t get ahead of itself and over develop which is certain to end in disaster.
Overall, we would return and we would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cameron Ellson, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Dear Acrobatic1, Thank you for sharing your feedback, as it is extremely valuable to us. The comments about the staff are lovely, and always welcomed! Please be assured that we take all constructive criticism on board, so that we can work towards a more efficient operation, which will in turn lead to a better overall guest experience. I'm glad that you managed to catch some of the rugby, whilst it was on! Please make sure to visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Cameron Ellson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SteveMoss wrote a review Apr 2023
Bromley, United Kingdom188 contributions96 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A stop over on route to the Lake District thought we'd stick with the lake view at Rutland Water. The grounds and main reception were lovely. The whole site and accommodation is neatly laid out on a slopes overlooking the Rutland Water offering beautiful views. Check in was at 3pm so we planned to arrive early booked an adult swim in the pool from 12noon followed by a massage in the spa. Reception advised us to return at 2pm. The Spa and treatment was excellent however having been provided with a map of the site no pool was indicated and no signage obvious so the pool was missed. We returned at 2.20pm to be advised that our room wasn't ready so we waited patiently in the reception. 3.20pm arrived when the room was ready. I alerted reception of the site map error which wasn't believed and then upon realising their error was met with shock and embarrassment. The room described as 'cosy Room' was small but very comfortable with an excellent bed and huge bath. The bath proved to be too big because after a lovely night's sleep a morning bath emptied the tank for my wife's shower which was cold. Breakfast was very good with helpful staff all were most welcoming. At check out we alerted Duty Manager of the cold shower and the response was unbelievable. 'I'm sorry we are aware of the fact that the hot water storage tank is too small resulting in cold shower or bath water. All of the tanks will be replaced ' I advised surely you must alert guests of this fact or just happy for guests to have cold showers!! Shocking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check to see if the water tanks have been improved if not just have quick showers or share bath...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matthew McCristal, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 17 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your recent stay with us. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations, this is certainly not the level we aspire to offer nor how we live our guests to leave feeling. I am puzzled as to the comment you refer to regarding our hot water tanks. We have individual hot water tanks for each bedroom which means there should never be a shortage. In terms of the rest of your comments, we will certainly take them on board and will discuss as a team how we can use feedback such as this to improve our services and offerings. Thank you again for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sarahsU1402YH wrote a review Aug 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently returned from a four night stay here with my two children of 15 and 12. We had a fantastic time and took advantage of all of the facilities. There is a lot to do on the site, including crazy golf, tennis, a gym, indoor pool and it is really close to Rutland water for further water activities. The only feature that let the hotel down was the restaurant on site. Some of the restaurant staff themselves were lovely - including Sue who was rushed off her feet. But the system needs reviewing. It has to be acknowledged that covid has clearly impacted which restaurants they can open and how they manage these, but I still think there is some work to be done. We ate here on the first night and waited 55 minutes just to place an order and a further half an hour to receive that order. The good was also nothing to shout home about. The service was very slow, exacerbated by the fact that only two people were designated as being able to take orders, whilst many others were just assigned to clearing tables and bringing out food. We were advised that this is due to the fact that the chef does not like to have too many orders at once but, in that case, they should either limit the number of people eating there or get more kitchen staff.

Subsequently, we ate out every other night and found some lovely restaurants in Oakham itself. I can highly recommend both San Giorgio’s and Orbis. A Taxi was only £10 each way and Berridge’s taxis were fantastic and extraordinarily prompt and courteous.

I will certainly come back though in the hope that, by that time, the restaurant will be fully functional.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Wade, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. The Covid situation has placed significant challenges on the hospitality industry, we are no exception to this. Our move to the Edith Weston Suite was to ensure social distancing can be maintained but this created another challenge in that the kitchen is smaller and could only accommodate 3 chefs - thus unfortunately meaning that the tie for food service is somewhat delayed. We understand the impact that this has on your visit. You may be pleased to hear that we plan to return to our usual restaurant on September where we hope you will visit again and enjoy our offering in familiar surroundings. Your comments around Sue has been shared, she certainly works hard to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Kind Regards Matt
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Westendman21 wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel due to its location next to Rutland Water for cycling. We booked an accessible room for £707 for 3 nights. Strictly it is not a hotel. Until a couple of years ago it was a private enclave with ‘large timber chalets’ in extensive grounds & views with access to the lake via local roads. Some rooms are located either in a large house or purpose built room accommodation. Our disabled room was located at ground floor in the accommodation block. It was very small and certainly not suited to anyone in a wheelchair. It was located behind a service road and a retaining wall so views were non existent. The grounds are extensive and hilly. We had to go to breakfast & dinner each day using the car….although lack of disabled car parking spaces was an issue and the fact that other guests didn’t think it necessary to not occupy these spaces. The grounds have no seating at all to enjoy the views of the lake. We ate in the restaurant one night where the choice was poor although the food good quality which reflected the elevated prices……£26-28 for main course and £8 -10 for starters. Unless you like large chunks of meat you will be disappointed. Service was poor. We complained and got 20% discount off food bill. We also got £100 of £700 accommodation bill but it still felt over priced by some distance. We ate out in local village pubs for other 2 nights. In reality, this is an over priced if nice ‘hotel’ with expensive restaurant.Handy for cycling but fail to see the attraction for anything else. Spa and swimming pool seemed largely used by ‘local non resident’ people from local area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicholas Kabbabe, Other at Rutland Hall Hotel And Spa
Responded 7 Oct 2022
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for 3 nights and thank you for the two star review. We are very sorry that your stop did not meet your expectations and we regret that you had a number of issues also. We appreciate you providing us with your comments and would request that you contact us on nicholas.kabbabe@rutlandhall.co.uk to discuss further. Kind Regards, Nicholas Reception Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Nicola A wrote a tip Yesterday
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The stile to cross for entry to the path to the reservoir is located in the far right hand corner ( with your back to the main building) "
Read full review
Richard wrote a tip 14 May
Oakham, United Kingdom16 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to book in advance for swimming sessions."
Read full review
Searby wrote a tip 7 May
Huddersfield, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t drive from M1, route is slow and laborious"
Read full review
Neil J wrote a tip Apr 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No easy parking if you need to check in at reception. It could be awkward if you are not very mobile."
Read full review
Heather P wrote a tip Apr 2024
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need to book swims before you arrive to get your place and avoid families and too many members."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barnsdale area.
PRICE RANGE
£95 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barnsdale hall oakham, hotel barnsdale hall
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandRutlandOakhamBarnsdale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUTLAND HALL HOTEL AND SPA - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include One Way Out Escape Rooms (3.0 miles), Oakham Castle (2.7 miles), and Aqua Park Rutland (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hitchen’s Barn, Sarpech Wine Bar & Restaurant, and 10 Dining street.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Barnsdale.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Market Overton Stocks (4.6 miles).
Does Rutland Hall Hotel and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire