St. Margaret's Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

St. Margaret's Hotel

Reach Road, St Margaret's-At-Cliffe Kent, St Margaret's at Cliffe, Dover CT15 6AG England
Klippen von St. Margret´s
Traveller (77)
Room & Suite (9)
Parkdean Resorts St Margaret's Bay Holiday Park
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 inn in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
With the spectacular White Cliffs of Dover close by, St. Margaret's Bay Hotel makes the most peaceful seaside escape. Spacious, modern rooms feature comfy furnishings and the large indoor heated pool, with its sauna, spa pool and solarium provide a relaxing retreat. You can even have an indulgent beauty treatment too!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Game room
Entertainment staff
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Public wifi
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Personal trainer
Sauna
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Evening entertainment
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Waxing services
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
254Reviews8Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 77
  • 43
  • 18
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
stephanie t wrote a review Jul 2023
32 contributions71 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a relaxing 4 night break.Exceptionally clean park and well maintained. Caravan was clean on arrival and was very well equipped.All beds were made on arrival and the bedding was immaculate.The mattresses were spotless and so comfortable to sleep on.Perfect setting and location was why we have booked another 4 day break in September.Excellent value for money! A big thank you to Lisa for taking the time to help us choose a bungalow for our next visit and printing photos of the accommodation. Also thank you Karen for making the new booking when we arrived home. Such a genuine helpful.freindly,happy team.Last impressions are as important as first impressions.! So many places to visit and St margaret's bay beach was fantastic. Would Highly recommend the Resort accommodation and staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: St margaret's bay beach. Winghamwildlifepark.Grove ferry river trip.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parkdean Resorts, Owner at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 20 Jul 2023
Hello here, thank you for taking some time to leave us this terrific feedback. It's thrilling to hear that you had such a good trip to St Margarets Bay. We can't wait to welcome you back to one of our parks soon to create some more amazing memories. Thanks again ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joecool1973 wrote a review Oct 2020
Gillingham, United Kingdom2,050 contributions228 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here on 11th October 2020, the hotel is based at a holiday park with mobile homes and chalets with evening entertainment. The hotel is a room only, the room is of decent size, firm and comfortable bed, nice bathroom with shower over bathtub. Has shower gel available with towels but no other complimentary toiletries, could do with hand cream and face towel too. However for £39 a night it is a decent budget room overall. Staff are friendly and professional. I felt overall value for money. We didn't use the local shops or restaurants within the site but we did go to nearby Dover Town Centre which is 10 minutes drive away. I am sure it would be ideal for families to use. I would overall recommend to all to use for a short-term break.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Hi Joe Thank you for taking the time to leave this review regarding our Hotel at St Margaret’s Bay holiday Park. I am happy to read that you found it to be of good size and that the bed comfort was good as well as the facilities in the room. Thank you also for the nice comments regarding my staff. We would love to welcome you back in the future. Regards ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
moanymax wrote a review Aug 2023
71 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very excited for our adventure at St margarets bay as we have stayed at a few parkdean in previous years and always had good experiences. However its such a shame that I can't say the same thing about this place. Day 1 went for a meal at the boathouse a notice said 90mins wait we thought OK we will deal with it. However with two kids on tow after 90mims I asked someone what was happening and told the wait will be another 20 or 30mins more. This was not good enough so I asked for a refund which they were more than happy to do so. I was there for 4 nights and certain cocktails were not available all week. Day 2 in the restaurant we walked in with plates and dirty tables chips all over the floor which were still there 3 hours later. Day 3 I ordered calamari and a sharing dish which had missing items which no one told us were not available. My calamari came in tiny balls of batter no acceptable for the price of £8.49more than London prices. Was told this is how they come. The kids menus had activities on them but not replaced used ones still in the boxes. Day 2 we came back from the beach and wanted lunch which is served till 4.30 however at 2.30 there was a notice saying kitchen closed at 2.00. Such a shame as there isn't much around to get food as the shop if you can call it a shop is very basic not even a newspaper and the other parkdeans have a good supply of products. I However did speak to the general manager and was told I'm sorry but the restaurant has its own manager so not sure why these things happens she did offer me some vouchers to Spend there.

Overall not the best experience such a shame as I will not be coming back to this particular site. The restaurant needs a lot of help maybe more staff to clear tables and clean them straight away and staff to hand over knife and forks over by the handle parts.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parkdean Resorts, Owner at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Hello Max, thank you for spending some time sharing your feedback with us. Our guests’ comments are very important to us, as they help us to continually make improvements so that our offerings are the best they can be. By highlighting your experience with us on this holiday, we can certainly share your feedback with the management team and ensure that your comments are taken on board. Thanks again for taking the time to complete this review. We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to St Margarets Bay again in the near future. Regards ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Applewood1234 wrote a review Aug 2021
9 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So me and my partner booked this “hotel” for a family function that was in deal, when we arrived we was shocked to find that the “hotel” is a block of rooms based in the middle of a campsite. Check in was smooth and welcoming. It went down hill from there!! The room was very basic. The bed was comfortable, paper thin walls and doors means you here everything and everyone! We decided to eat there on the first night, the food itself was basic but edible! The service however was terrible!! No atmosphere 4 other tables in and we were told it would be a 1 hour plus wait! The drinks came quick but they were warm! Nothing from the fridge.. when the food finally arrived 1 hour and 35 minutes later for a burger and a kids meal the waitress just slammed it on the table and walked away we then we’re not checked on or cleared until we ordered our desserts through the app and they arrived again no service and the waitress rolled her eyes when we asked a question!! Terrible service.. after dinner we asked at reception for some tea bags and milk for the room they said they would bring it over well 30 hours after we checked out and still hadn’t received anything!! Both me and my partner work at a different holiday park and if this was my staff I would be seriously worried!! They need training and quick!! I understand the pressure they are under as I do the job myself but with it being so quiet it is not good enough!! I really hope something is done about this!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parkdean Resorts, General Manager at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2021
We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback, we do apologise and please be assured this will be shared with the management team. Regards ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
terrygparrott wrote a review Oct 2021
Farnborough, United Kingdom364 contributions193 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean good sized rooms. My initial room had a badly cracked window, but I was moved quickly without any fuss. Lots of parking and food and drink is available in the bar. The staff were helpful and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parkdean Resorts, General Manager at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2021
Hello, thank you for your review. We do hope you had a great stay with us overall and would consider a return to St Margarets Bay again in the future. Regards ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Boroeagle wrote a review Feb 2020
Eastbourne, United Kingdom50 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were booked on a early morning ferry so stayed here to save time in the morning. Boy what a hidden gem !!! A 10 minute drive from the Port of Dover. We arrived 7pm and it was so quiet, I guess as its mainly a holiday home park but with an added hotel. We managed to get a meal despite the kitchen due to close in 15 minutes. Staff were very welcoming and couldn't be more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, I am happy to see that we could accommodate serving you food and that my team were friendly and welcoming. They will love reading that! We as a team are always striving to deliver a great customer service and when some recognises that it makes us feel great so thank you again. I do hope your onward journey was good and would love to welcome you back to St Margaret’s Bay in the near future. Kind regards, Jody
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jez D wrote a review Oct 2020
Slough, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon our 2 night stay at hotel.

Bad Points:
Hand prints over doors and bed frames.
Cobwebs on celing,
Dusty head board,
Leaky windows when raining,
No WIFI in hotel room,

Strong damp odour in restaurant,
Slow bar service,
Minimal entertainment for kids,
Car is a must to get around.

Good Points:
Comfy bed,
Clean sheets and towels,
Ample Parking,
Lovely local sights
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Customer Service, General Manager at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave this feedback for us regarding your hotel stay. Please be assured that as a management team we review all feedback so that going forward we can endeavour to make changes to heighten our guest experience. I was a little confused regarding the “No WIFI” comment as we have Free WIFI throughout the hotel having said this I apologise if this wasn’t communicated to you upon arrival. I do apologise that you felt the service was slow and that the entertainment was minimal, we are a smaller holiday park which is advertised with a limited programme of events. I am pleased however that you found the bed comfortable, clean and fresh and that you enjoyed our local area. Thanks again for leaving your review. Regards ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gl0vebox607 wrote a review Nov 2023
10 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from St Margaret’s Bay Parkdean, we have visited a lot of caravan sites in the country over the years and this is in our top 3. Firstly was the amazing greeting, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Our caravan was a stones throw from the bar/restaurant which was just devine, we ate here a couple of times and the food was on point. This is a smaller site compared to other parks we have been to, the bar had a lovely warm local pub vibe, we didn’t see an arcade etc so not a lot for kids but this made for a fantastic break for adults. The pool and gym facilities were superb, there was a steam/sauna but this was out of action which was my one and only disappointment, we made use of the launderette which couldn’t have been any easier, just 5 mins walk to the bar there was loads to do while we waited for our washing. Our caravan was warm and cosy, we could not have asked for more from Parkdean staff, just outstanding. The location of the park made for a perfect base from which to explore a couple of gems on offer in the south east, Sandwich is a quaintly unique Tudor style village, this was well worth the half an hour drive and with Dover just a 10 minute drive boasting an excellent retail park (St James’s) with some brilliant brands on offer, a short drive to Capel Le Ferne, home to the Battle of Britain memorial and of course the famous and breathtaking white cliffs, this really is a brilliant part of the country and we can’t wait to go back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parkdean Resorts, Owner at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2023
Hello there, thank you for taking some time to leave us this terrific feedback. It's thrilling to hear that you had such a good trip to St Margarets Bay. We can't wait to welcome you back to one of our parks soon to create some more amazing memories. Regards ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cherie B wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
LWe loved our stay at St Margaret’s Bay! A little site but enough to do and entertain my 3 daughters (3,6&8) a small soft play, a little park, 2 swimming pools and a jacuzzi. Bookable activities too - my girls loved the water walkers! The lifeguards were really enthusiastic and it felt like they really enjoyed doing them too! The best thing about the holiday for my 3 daughters was Bekki and Harry from the evening entertainment ! Bekki went above and beyond to keep them entertained in the evenings, always admiring their matching clothes. We also did some day time activities with them. Bekki included them in everything and was witty and funny. I often found myself laughing out loud too! My girls are already asking to go back and see Bekki and Harry! Since we have returned home they play daily the Starland song and jump up and down shouting ‘pick me, pick me!’
We hope to come back soon! We stayed in one of the lodges in Bela Way, and it was absolutely lovely! So spacious and really well equipped and a lovely veranda with table and chairs. Parking right outside. There is lots of places to visit locally, within 30-45 mins drive. We went to Broadstairs, Botany Bay, Dreamland in Margate, Dover and the local pebble beach about 5 mins drive from site.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parkdean Resorts, Owner at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 7 Sept 2023
Hello Cherie, thank you for taking some time to leave us this terrific feedback. It's thrilling to hear that you had such a good trip to St Margarets Bay, Bekki and Harry will be smiling from ear to ear reading this review, they will also be chuckling that you have to listen to your girls shouting pick me. pick me every night :) We can't wait to welcome you back to one of our parks soon to create some more amazing memories. Regards ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim M wrote a review Sept 2023
Lagos, Portugal1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Late on a Sunday night we (and surrounding lodges) experienced a power cut.

We phoned the night team and John the Security manager came and we were sorted within about 30 mins.

The lodge next to us had an elderly group who were a bit distressed by it all and worried as one of their number was disabled. John was very good in calming them while he got us all sorted out.

Well done John
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Parkdean Resorts, Owner at St. Margaret's Hotel
Responded 21 Sept 2023
We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with John our Security Manager and we will be sure to share this review with him! Thank you again ^JB
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirstie A wrote a tip Nov 2023
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom222 contributions43 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for things if they are missing."
Read full review
david w wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hope you dont have the same bad experience"
Read full review
Lisa lou wrote a tip Sept 2023
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very small quite sight but fantastic staff on a personal level "
Read full review
Roma P wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Site is small and compact, some staff not helpful and quite rude. Cleanliness not even average "
Read full review
stephanie t wrote a tip Jul 2023
32 contributions71 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"St margaret's bay beach. Winghamwildlifepark.Grove ferry river trip."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St Margaret's at Cliffe area.
PRICE RANGE
£48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st margaret`s bay hotel - park st margaret`s at cliffe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandKentDoverSt Margaret's at Cliffe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST. MARGARET'S HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about St. Margaret's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to St. Margaret's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Escape Goat (3.2 miles), Fan Bay Deep Shelter (1.1 miles), and Dover Transport Museum (3.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at St. Margaret's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at St. Margaret's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to St. Margaret's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chef De Mumbai, Goose On The Green Cafe, and The Corner Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at St. Margaret's Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is St. Margaret's Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of St Margaret's at Cliffe.
Are there any historical sites close to St. Margaret's Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fan Bay Deep Shelter (1.1 miles), Dover Castle (2.4 miles), and Roman Painted House (2.9 miles).
Is St. Margaret's Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St Margaret's at Cliffe HotelsSt Margaret's at Cliffe Hotel DealsHotels near St. Margaret's Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire