We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

1,650 reviews
Save
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (24)
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good34%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“river view”(28 reviews)
“business trip”(31 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,650)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveller rating
568
559
303
135
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
568
559
303
135
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenient locationriver viewbusiness triplovely hotelevening mealone night staycooked breakfastwould stay againlovely roomcomfy bedbar areafamily roommotorwayribbleprestonstopoverblackpool
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We stayed at the Tickled Trout again as we enjoyed our stay last year when we were en route to Scotland. The room we had was excellent with a nice comfy bed and a great TV. The restaurant and bar are both smart and relaxing....More

Thank Trevor C
Response from Mark K, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout HotelResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Trevor, Great review. Lovely to read and see you enjoyed your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Kind regards, Mark King General Manager

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

i booked a wedding here and unfortunately have had to cancel due to my mother in law be in diagnosed with a terminal illness. As expected due to the contract i would lose the 500 pounds deposit but be refunded 1500. This was confirmed by...More

Thank pinkmalibu2
Response from Mark K, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout HotelResponded 8 December 2017

Dear pinkmalibu, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to learn of your decision to cancel your wedding due to the illness of your mother in law. I would like to confirm that all monies owed have been returned and dealt with in a...More

Reviewed 30 November 2017

Firstly:-What fantastic staff--My wife and I have travelled all over the World --and the staff at this hotel are some of the most sincere and best we have met--Wonderful staff so I hope they are being paid well !! and the room was quite comfortable...More

1  Thank Christine D
Response from Mark K, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout HotelResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Christine D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate your honest feedback and I will certainly review with the team. I would like to note that all the continental items are fresh and prepared daily and replenished to ensure...More

Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel promises lots. Delivers little. It’s a hotel outside a town on a round about, sharing space with a Petrol station. Handy for night time snacks! Hotel reception looks great; lovely Refurb etc but once you cross threshold into room corridor, you realise the...More

Thank jonnyboyb79
Response from Mark K, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout HotelResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Jonnyboy, Thank you for your review and feedback. The screen you refer to is showing our group of hotels within the brand. I am sorry if this was a disappointment. We can certainly arrange a great spa day at one of sister hotels or...More

Reviewed 22 November 2017

The hotel is well located near to Junction 31 on the M6. Although a bit dated, it was a very comfortable overnight stay and very affordable. Our room overlooked the river, and although the hotel is close to the motorway, it was very quiet.More

Thank Jim G
Response from Mark K, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout HotelResponded 5 December 2017

Dear Jim, Thanks for the review. We have a great location just off the motorway. Easy access and great to read you had a comfortable stay. Some great views over the river. hopefully you had an opportunity to have a drink on the decking area...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
134567330
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (24)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Beryl H
22 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from PollyFrance | Reviewed this property |
Hi why not try Michelin route finder will give exact distance
0
Votes
missholidaygirl
10 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lisa A | Reviewed this property |
I didn't see any dogs at all sorry
0
Votes
bkw2k1
16 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dean C | Reviewed this property |
I stayed here as a guest a few weeks ago. The hotel love dogs, we had a very clean ground floor room for two of us plus Labrador (and crate). You pay an extra £15 for the dog but it's worth it for the extra waning that must... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Ask for a room overlooking the loch. Quiet and beautiful view."
Read review
"Best rooms are at the back overlooking the river"
Read review
"River view side would be nicest"
Read review
"all floors are reasonably quiet though we have not been in a room facing the motorway"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing