We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$82*
View Deal
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$82*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,529 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,528: English reviews
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Generally friendly & competent staff, hotel good location & standard. Exec Double room good, dinner was excellent, breakfast was terrible. Sent eggs benedict back twice & gave up for toast & marmalade in the end. Love the MacDonald chain, but unlikely to go back to Tickled Trout. Very unhappy that I'd booked & confirmed a suite direct which wasn't available...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MnMworldwide
Worcester
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Comfortable lounge and dining area. Pleasant furnishing and décor. Was particularly pleased with the service and the quality of the evening meal. Great value for money and conveniently located to the motorway and Preston city centre

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V1877YCdavids
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Once again we had a most enjoyable stay. Our room was comfortable and spacious and we enjoyed a very leisurely dinner in the restaurant on Saturday evening. Both our meals were perfectly cooked and the menu has a varied choice. Service was very attentive and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The new breakfast concept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colint_stuartd
Pontefract
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Lovely hotel, clean bedroom and nice big bed. Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was really nice and good quality food. Staff were very helpful and friendly and check in was nice and quick and easy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
norwich
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We arrived on Friday afternoon and had to wait quite awhile for check in only one person was on the desk in no hurry and could have just apologised for keeping us waiting. Both our rooms are lovely very spacious only complaint on this is the size of the bed very small double but otherwise great with a super view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jojoNorwich
gm_tickledtrout, General Manager at Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jojoNorwich, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to me following your recent stay and for your compliments on your room and the lovely view over the river Ribble. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening meal however I am pleased to see that my Restaurant Manager handled the situation professionally. I am glad...

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed here for a night on our way to Aintree. The hotel is showing signs of wear and could do with some tlc, but the staff are all great and can't do enough for you. We had a late evening meal and breakfast the next morning. All the food was great, well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra W
Manningtree
Reviewed 9 April 2016

nice hotel and staff let down by the inability of the cleaners to carry out a very basic task such as leaving: -dirty coffee cups -dried urine on the seat upon arrival at the room -floor hadn't been hoovered on arrival or throughout our stay - only one shower gel and shampoo despite booking for 2 persons, besides the cleaners...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K3376ULanthonym
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016

The first time I stayed here I was (unknown to me)in an executive room. I booked again thinking that all the rooms were of that standard ...unfortunately the room wasn't. Evening meal was poor quality

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markandrew12000
livingston
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night on my way to Alton Towers with my Wife and Daughter from Livingston. Very convenient just off the M6. A really good deal Db&b on the Macdonald website.Staff very friendly and the food was great. Pat the bartender very nice. 5 stars from us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livibhoy
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2016

I visited The Tickled Trout to see whether I wanted to set up a series of business lunches there. The venue is fantastic for business meetings with a great selection of rooms and options for catering / packages. After doing "business" the team gave us lunch and the food was exceptional which cemented my decision to hold the meetings at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S

118 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (4)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samlesbury
1.6 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
4.2 mi away
Preston Marriott Hotel
Preston Marriott Hotel
#6 of 15 in Preston
915 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barton Grange Hotel
Barton Grange Hotel
#5 of 15 in Preston
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Preston East Hotel
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Preston Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With stunning views over the beautiful River Ribble, yet conveniently close to Preston town centre and the M6, Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel has an ideal location. Following a £0.5 million refurbishment, the hotel has just introduced a beautiful new Riverside Bar and Lounge where you can relax and enjoy a beverage from our new Costa Coffee. Join us at the new Scottish Steak Club where imaginatively reworked Scottish favourites are passionately prepared by our world class chefs, using only the finest and freshest produce.In addition a number of our bedrooms are being re-decorated from top to bottom including beautiful new bathrooms and soft furnishings. The hotel has also retained many traditional features, such as wood beams in our restaurant and an open plan lounge, creating a warm and welcoming ambience.Macdonald Tickled Trout is always a popular meetings venue due to our convenient location, well-equipped conference suites and extensive onsite parking. Alternatively, our riverside terrace is the ideal place to enjoy a morning coffee with friends or relax with a pre dinner drink as you take in the views. Guests can enjoy our delicious food and drink and then relax in contemporary en suite accommodation, whilst our versitile function rooms are perfect for weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel

Address: Preston New Road, Samlesbury PR5 0UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Samlesbury
Price Range: £62 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Tickled Trout
Macdonald Tickled Trout Bamber Bridge
Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel Preston/Samlesbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the old part - bathrooms very small. But room did have a nice view”
heleng420, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“As far away from the motorway noise and not next door to anyone with dogs.”
  • Green mould on shower seal and grubby
  • Tissue was lodged in between the window
  • bath panel was rotting and disgusting
suzannes982, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are probably of the same standard”
PollyFrance, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Always satisfied with our rooms on second floor and nice view of river.”
GaryH396, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ours looked over the River Ribble this time!”
londonlass06, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$82* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates