We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hitchin Priory

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hitchin Priory
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 359: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a fantastic venue for a wedding. We had our wedding here on 26 November 2016 and it was perfect. We had so many compliments on the venue – it is beautiful and classic just what we were looking for a winter wedding. Charlotte the wedding coordinator is fantastic – nothing is too much trouble for her. In the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here as a wedding guest. The venue it self is lovely. The rooms where just the right size and was away from the venue which is nice if you wanted to go to bed early and not be kept up. Breakfast the next morning was tasty. I was offered gluten free toast to go with my breakfast which... More 

Helpful?
Thank staceycjoy
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear staceycjoy Many thanks for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your kind comments regarding our breakfast offering onto all involved. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed just one night and the first room was to small a bit claustrophobic so asked for a different room and got a free upgrade staff were so helpful lovely place so near town without the late night noise great sleep the only thing was the shower was very small and had a large step in to it it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brett E
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Brett E Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear, in the main, you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have an extensive breakfast menu and can cook your eggs how ever you would like them. I have asked the restaurant manager to investigate why these were not displayed on the... More 

Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very old building with "modern" additions which functions mainly as a conference venue; its NOT in any respect a Hotel. Its bedrooms are at best tired and at worst awful. Whilst my stay served a function; hell would have to freeze over, to get me back there. All that said the price was VERY reasonable. its the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Murray G
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Murray G Thank you for your review. We are in the process of refurbishing our bedrooms and public areas at The Priory and I agree, some areas are in need. However we do try to price accordingly. More 

Travellers are raving about these Hitchin hotels

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was perfectly located for our requirements, being so close to the town centre. However we had a room in Priory Court which is a long way from the customer parking. The room was a family room which was larger than we required but it was OK, a bit jaded and needing refurbishment, which was all explained in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glynis B
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Glynis B Thank you so much for writing such a lovely, fair and unbiased review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Whatever you do, do NOT book a bedroom if they are hosting a wedding party. The deafening noise in the nearby rooms continues after midnight - no matter what receptionist tells you when you ring to ask when you are likely to get some sleep. That's when you realise that the thousands of pounds they get from the party booking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John G
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear John G Sorry to hear you had a disturbed night. I have spoken to our reception team and usually we can tell if a guest is attending a wedding or not and we able to locate other guests away from any noise that may disturb them. In this case the event that disturbed you was a party with very... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held a party here and to be honest the staff were excellent from the bar staff, waiters, kitchen staff, management and the night porter. The food quality and quantity was exceptional along with the organisation of the party including a firework display they were so helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable great venue.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelarnold
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Hazelarnold Thank you so much for your kind review of Hitchin Priory. We are all delighted to hear your party was a success. Please do bear us in mind for any future events you or your family/friends may be wanting to organise. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Single night stay, no complaints about room, staff or breakfast. I only paid for a single "basic" room but it in fact turned out to be a double, was quiet, well equipped and very comfortable. I would go as far as to say that I have not slept as well for a long time. Good WiFi - no need for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clive P
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Clive P Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything satisfactory. We look forward to welcoming you back again shortly More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
169 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Room 54 Paid 75 quid without breakfast and very disappointed. As a contractor who is working locally and stayed at various places nearby I won't be rushing back. Room very dated, does apologise for this and promises gradual refurbished but why not charge less for the older rooms? Told by reception girl gym is out of order - no mention... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bradstour
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Bradstour Thank you for taking the time write a review. Pretty much all of our bookings come via our own website and Booking,com where the information is accurate and correct, however I am aware that some ancillary sites may be displaying incorrect information i.e. a Gym and we are working to update these. Please accept my apologise for the... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

A very pleasant B&B . Listed buildings so have to forgive the fact the window didn't open. My room and bathroom was clean and bright! Breakfast was great with lots of choice. A tea stand was not really what I wanted so I asked for a pot of tea, it was no trouble said the lady in charge and soon... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Trudiekt
Justine I, Director of Sales at Hitchin Priory, responded to this review

Dear Trudiekt Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hitchin Priory very soon. More 

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hitchin hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
2.0 mi away
Needham House Hotel
Needham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Wymondley
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 8 in Hitchin
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Redcoats Farmhouse Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Firs Hotel
Firs Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hitchin
160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Offley Place Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hitchin Priory

Address: Tilehouse Street, Hitchin SG5 2DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hitchin
Price Range: £59 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hitchin Priory 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hitchin Priory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitchin Priory Hotel Hitchin
Priory Hotel Hitchin
Hitchin Priory Hertfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hitchin Priory staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hitchin Priory staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 71murrayg, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“First floor, lower numbered rooms seem quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles CliveP175, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lots of lovely views so most rooms would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles Trudiekt, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a ground floor room, at least until the refurbishments are done, or ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles jaybeesquared, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be in the main hotel as Coach House room are small with no wifi (well the first in the row didn't.”
 of 5 bubbles Elby1, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay