We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Lodge at Winchelsea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lodge at Winchelsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 299: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went and stayed at the lodge for the local bonfire. Staff were nice.. our room was like a little studio flat with its own entrance which was nice as we didn't have to worry what time we came back that night. Rooms were clean and comfortable a few bits like a broken lampshade would have taken this to a 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janine P
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Janine and delighted you enjoyed your stay. We check the rooms every day when they are cleaned so must have missed the lampshade. It will be replaced. All the best and hope to see you again. More 

Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a family get-together nearby so am unable to comment on eating in this hotel. The room was warm and comfortable with very pleasant views over open farmland.. We were situated at the rear of the premises so were not bothered by any traffic noise from the main road. Enjoyed an amble aroung the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived for a Saturday night stay. Filled in an A4 registration form and then asked my name??? Nearly late for dinner reservation as shower wouldn't drain, so second person in had a thirty minute wait for shower tray to drain. Meal was good, but could do with properly trained bar staff. It's not that hard to serve water with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank D4VYP
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

Sorry about the shower, there must be something wrong, we will check it out. All our staff are thoroughly trained so I am not sure what the problem was but i apologise if you were not happy. More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We've just got back from a 2 night stay here as we were down for a wedding at nearby Camber Sands. First impressions of room 17, the room was what we expected from the photos on their website, medium sized shower room as you walk in, then 2 steps up to the bedroom which had a sofa, double bed, tv,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire M
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

I very much regret that you had such a bad night and especially just before an important occasion, this is just not acceptable and i really cannot apologise enough. I hope however you recovered by having one of our delicious full english breakfasts and your day was not spoilt. If you decide to visit us again, and i hope you... More 

oxon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Stayed here for 1 night prior to going to RSPB Dungeness. Pleasant welcome ,room 5 was fine albeit with rather low output bedside lamps. restaurant was rather quiet so lacked a bit of atmosphere but my meal was fine and served efficiently . Give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

Yes, low voltage lamps are annoying but we have no choice. We will look into better options. Thank you for your review and do come again. More 

ESSEX
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a lovely motel style hotel. The room was warm and bed comfy. Leave the car for a short walk along the lane into Winchelsea which is a beautiful place with stunning views across the countryside to the sea. Yes it is on a main road but the rooms at the back are quiet. Staff very friendly and continental... More 

Helpful?
Thank LINALLEN
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes, Winchelsea is a little gem in beautiful surroundings. There are so many lovely walks and many historical sites to visit. We look forward to seeing you again and please call in advance and we will ensure you get a room with a lovely view. More 

Northampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Lodge is advertised as 4 star but, in truth, it's a 3 star motel. That said, it was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As is general for a motel, the bar and restaurant are in a separate building to the rooms and it was a bit of a shock to be locked out in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cm9cm9
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

Although your review was positive and you appear to have been happy with your stay, there were a couple of points I feel I need to make... We have a 4 star accreditation from Quality in Tourism who are a national quality assessment scheme and rate over 18,000 businesses in the UK. Our rooms are set in a horseshoe shape... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Spent the weekend at The Lodge for a special occasion with family and friends. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the food on the Friday night for almost 30 of us was terrific and the Carvery on the Saturday was Outstanding. Carla and her team were beyond brilliant all very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Highly Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your review. More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I had my wedding reception here last year. The customer service received into the run up of the wedding was brilliant Toby made us feel like we was not just another couple getting married but the only couple even though he must of done it a thousand times over. The day of the wedding I had no stress they sorted... More 

Helpful?
Thank amz202016
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

As this was advertised as 4* we were expecting more, but it seemed only like a 3* motel. Our room was a good size, but dusty. The carvery was nice and man who served us was very friendly and helpful. However, our meal on the Monday evening (burgers) wasn't nice at all - lukewarm chips, limp lettuce and dried cucumber... More 

Helpful?
Thank N R
TheLodgeAtWinchelsea, Manager at The Lodge at Winchelsea, responded to this review

I regret that you were less than satisfied with your meal and assure you that this is a rare occurrence. Our food is usually of the highest standard, which can be seen from most of our other reviews. The rooms are extensively cleaned before every letting and should not have been anything but spotless, so my apologies for that also.... More 

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchelsea
2.3 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#3 of 8 in Rye
808 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Rye
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
River Haven Hotel
2.4 mi away
The George in Rye
3.0 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lodge at Winchelsea offers its guests the perfect base to explore the beautiful 1066 countryside and historic sites. Situated between Rye and Hastings with ample free onsite parking. There are fantastic walks from our doorstep including the ‘1066 country walk’. 28 modern en-suite guest rooms, bar and restaurant, free wi-fi and free parking. Room price includes continental breakfast. The contemporary restaurant is open seven days a week serving a wide range of delicious dishes, including an excellent carvery every Sunday. Our menu changes to reflect the seasons and offers dishes for all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodge at Winchelsea

Address: Hastings Road, Winchelsea, Rye TN36 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye > Winchelsea
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Winchelsea 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Lodge at Winchelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Winchelsea Hotel Winchelsea
Winchelsea Hotel East Sussex
Winchelsea Motel East Sussex
The Lodge At Winchelsea East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodge at Winchelsea staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Worthing, United Kingdom
Greater London, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodge at Winchelsea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“quieter rooms are at the back”
 of 5 bubbles LINALLEN, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back as traffic travels at speed along the road outside. Also suggest taking a three-way adapter.”
 of 5 bubbles cm9cm9, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you like doggy smelly rooms and don't mind them taking more payment its great”
 of 5 bubbles karenh272016, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose the upstairs rooms. We stayed downstairs, no view and quite dark”
 of 5 bubbles 465CathyN, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere, anywhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 60alexandra, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay