We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aorangi Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aorangi Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aorangi Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Fairlie is a small village and a convenient stop on our way to Queenstown from Christchurch. We had a lovely, clean,comfortable room, with a full kitchen, large comfortable bed, and separate bathroom. The friendly check-in person gave us a great dinner recommendation at the Red Stag (separate review). A great stopover away from all the busloads and crowds around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATeam2013
sussex
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Fairlie may not be the most exciting place on earth - very handy for Mount Cook though and it is lucky that the Aorangi Motel sets a high standard for the town We enjoyed our dated but very spacious two bedroom unit in a pleasant location close to Fairlie's hub. The manager was very helpful when we requested a fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank voyagerSussex
Barrie, Canada
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We agree with the good reviews- very spacious, clean, well-equipped, comfortable . The suite was huge. Beds were good. Kitchen was dated but clean. We did have some issues with hot water- it was more warm than hot; and there is no air conditioning which could be a problem in very hot weather. This is an older style Motel with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ST32013
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

Got the 2 bedrooms unit, good room, got the extra bed for the 5th person. The only downside the TV recruiting was out pretty bad. But that's nothing to do with the motel. I assume it was more of the location of Fairlie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_Houtami
Adelaide
Reviewed 29 January 2016

Four of us stayed in this accomodation, was very nice and clean, had all the amenities you want. Spacious room plenty of seating, also four seat table , has free wi-fi. Had dinner down the rod a five minute drive at kimbal The silver stream hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vtipping
queensland
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Had a 2 bedroom unit which was perfect for our family. Unit was spacious and comfortable, nicely furnished and well equipped; beds were extremely comfortable. Great place to stay overnight after a long drive from Akaroa. Loved the single rose in vase on the coffee table.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart80
Malaysia
Reviewed 30 December 2015

Had wanted to break journey on our Queenstown Christchurch drive at LakeTekapo but the few lodgings available mostly at inflated prices forced us to look further. No regrets as this motel (like many others we stayed in south NZ) located about 40 minutes pass lake Tekapo was spacious, clean and had good kitchen facilities. Most welcoming and friendly staff. Wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank humanH1N1
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 28 December 2015

At first impressions this is a funny little motel. However, inside it is extremely well decorated, modern, spacious and comfortable. I wished we could have stayed longer! Our 3 guests stayed in the two-bedroom unit, which was like a small home. They both had lovely touches like a fresh flower in a vase, or even a posy in the bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginie S
IN
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

This place was a massive disappointment. It was a 90 degree day. The rooms had no air conditioning or fans. We had to leave windows open at night. Then bugs flew in. The wifi was terrible. It constantly kicked off. The bed was uncomfortable and had awful flat pillows. The worst part was that there was no hot water. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OpinionExpert
JustinGeary, Owner at Aorangi Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Aorangi Motel but some of your comments are unfounded and not factual. We do not have air conditioning and hence never advertise this. The hot water issue you claim was outside of our control as a network fault had occurred (identified post your departure) and was fixed by a...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

Comfortable beds, great towels. It can be difficult getting a room for three, these guys do it well, a queen and two singles. There is a two element hot plate and a microwave if you would like to cook for yourself, and a four square within walking distance for supplies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kymberley B

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
114 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
308 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
637 reviews
0.7 mi away
Musterer's High Country Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aorangi Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If all rooms are as good as ours you could choose any room.”
 of 5 bubbles Rayre1, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 & 6 have laundry in between them. Room 1 is the room closest to the road. All units are identical as far as I can tell.”
 of 5 bubbles LoveubudMelbourne, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We were in room 7. There were no problems with noise, either from the road or other units.”
 of 5 bubbles Narnee, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Small motel, so all would be good”
 of 5 bubbles ATeam2013, 2 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had unt two”
 of 5 bubbles vtipping, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5