We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
A\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were just after somewhere easy to stay in Mermaid Waters, that was close to the beach and was clean, friendly, and at a decent rate. A Montego was all three. Check in was easy, friendly and informative. The room was great; tidy and uncluttered. And the beach was only a few minutes' walk away. We really feel like staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and the recognition that we offer everything needed for your stay. We hope to see you again

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This highway motel is close to attractions along the Gold Coast Highway. Midway between Surfers Paradise and Burliegh heads, they even have a cafe downstairs. The Manager was lovely, even let us leave our bikes there and kept them safe for us. The hotel isn't modern so don't look for luxury but you get what you pay for. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_caito
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your review We endeavour to provide service to all our guests and hope that we can assist with extra requests. We do have a cafe that offers all guests discounted purchases. If you are looking for basic amenities within walking distance to the beach, food and transport than we can help.

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

WE stayed here for convenience to be close to family. The motel needs an upgrade. The room was big enough but could do with a good clean of the carpets and a be spruced up generally. It is classed as a budget motel but I feel it was expensive for the price we paid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100JoM
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Depending on stay night whether it is a weekend night or during major events our tariff rates are in line with other budget properties. This motel is one block from the beautiful Mermaid Beach and is located close to restaurants and public transport so our tariffs charged based on location are justified. While the motel is old style rooms are...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

I have travelled the world and have never come across such rude staffing, ESPECIALLY THE MANAGER THERE! Sheryl I think her name was! She clearly needs a new job. Upon arrival she pretty much screamed at my partner for slipping one swear word out whilst on the phone quietly!! Told him he needs to ZIP his lips shut while staying...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ashjane111
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Firstly this motel is a friendly family environment and we do not tolerate any foul language either in the office or in any part of this motel. Our motel does not take likely the behavior that is unacceptable to our other guests or staff. We have a noise policy that ensures all our guests have a comfortable stay including being...

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We met up with some friends who were staying at this motel a few weeks back. We headed out to some other parties around the area and all came back quite late and intoxicated. Since we didn’t want to make our way back to our hotel in this state, we were able to get a room with the friendly enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JGDynamo
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we appreciate that you were nice and quiet on your arrival and entering your room. This is helpful for the comfort of other guests sleeping in the late wee hours of night and early morning.

Yamba, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The aircon/heater didn't work. Nothing was done. The WIFI didn't work. Same. Ramshackle room. Unable to close window in bathroom - design fault. Unbelievably noisy through night. No footlights in grounds. Extremely overpriced. Never again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marion M
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

The motel is budget so it is older style and rooms are not new but still offer the basic need for all guest clean and comfortable. Some rooms are old style window with shutter style glass panels and do not close. The motel is located on the main gold coast highway so traffic noise is expected, We do ask all...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Short walk to shops, and pool was clean and the staff were friendly. Other than that it was not a great experience. We had broken beds, drainage was poor, shower head sprayed everywhere and cupboards were falling apart. All in all it really needs a renovation, price was fair but would not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 850staceyc
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

The building itself is on the old side but still offers a clean bed plenty of space for luggage. It was unfortunate recently with the storms we had some water problems. Internally the rooms are basic and while cosmetically they do not look perfect they perform quite adequately. There can be some issues that we are not aware of maintenance...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Is exactly what this is. Well priced for what it was. Basic room and facilities. Well located, close to restaurants and beach. Very loud in the morning being right on the gold coast highway, but you have to take the bad with the good. Lovely Asian bakery 5 minutes walk down the road for breakfast. Only problem we had was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta F
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

WE thank you Jacinta for your review. I am pleased the basic facilities met your needs. So many food choices nearby some no car required. Unfortunate about the hot water but was sorted once we realized the problem. We hope that we see you or your family again some time.

Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Will never stay at this place again. On checking into the hotel they asked for a $50 deposit that would be refunded to me. I was told if I was checking out early to leave the room keys in a mailbox. When I finally entered the room it wasn't overly clean and it had marks all over the wall. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shilo W
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

Firstly All it clearly states that we will take a deposit against damage and smoking in the room. As long as all our hotel policies are adhered to any deposits paid will be refunded without issue. As for an argument at 4am our cleaners do not start until 9am and it could easily have been other guest so we should...

Gordon, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

This motel has both good points and bad. In the good points we have 1) Clean rooms 2) Large bed 3) Working equipment - aircon, fans etc. 4) Helpful staff In the bad points we have 1) Worn out carpets 2) Poor door locks 3) Worn out tables 4) Worn out tiles, etc. 5) Smoking near rooms 6) Loud noises...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cannotenteraname
manager1GoldCoast, Manager at A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel, responded to this review

All our rooms actually have both a dead lock and chain for safety. Rooms with glass doors have locked from both out and inside. the furniture while not new and modern does service the purpose of providing what you need for your stay on a real budget. This motel is not for the guest looking for the modern guest house....

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
142 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mermaid Beach Motor Inn
Mermaid Beach Motor Inn
#10 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Blue Motel
Ocean Blue Motel
#9 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Browns at Broadbeach
Browns at Broadbeach
#20 of 21 in Broadbeach
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel is a family owned motel in the heart of the Gold Coast region situated approx half an hour from the Gold Coast Domestic/International Airport and within a short 5 min drive to Surfers Paradise. Approx 50 metres from the Mermaid Beach with many great restaurants within walking distance and public transport is easy to catch with bus stops only metres from the entrance. Theme parks are within easy access via public transport or we can arrange shuttle pick up. Local supermarkets nearby for your shopping needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel

Address: 2395 Gold Coast Hwy, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Price Range: £46 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel Australia - Gold Coast
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a second floor room, no issues with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Remember you are on the main highway so get a room in the back corner for noise/privacy”
 of 5 bubbles wanderlust_caito, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Miss it altogether”
 of 5 bubbles MarionM121, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Bottom Floor if rainy weather.”
 of 5 bubbles Supergirl925, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“No Views, noisy, poor presentation, needs major renovation.”
 of 5 bubbles leonl171, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay