We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Halford

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Halford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 212: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were looking for a night away for our anniversary in the cotswolds, this was the only hotel available and we had been passed a few times so we booked. The outside of the property is lovely, which does not match the inside. The bar was small and lacked any kind of character, when shown to the room the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank terry102
Essex
Level Contributor
246 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The new owner persuaded us to stay for lunch and we enjoyed the fish and chips and Halford burger.I felt we should be told there was no credit card facility at the time but we were told we could go through another hotel to use our card,as there was a problem with wifi. This has great potential but lack of... More 

Helpful?
Thank snellbydate
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Staff very friendly and helpful. Very lovely room. Breakfast plentyful. Evening meal fantastic. Not mush more I can say. Our room was at the top of the hotel overlooking the front of the hotel. Very lage and wellmaintanned room. Will definately come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkesc1964
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We had booked two rooms for two nights at The Halford on 10th and 11th March through Booking.com and when we arrived the hotel was closed and we were informed the are no rooms. The previous owner has run off and the new owner has only just arrived and is trying to sort out the mess. The building looks very... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank 08Stewart
oxford
Level Contributor
269 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We were a large party booked for lunch the Saturday before Christmas. It was maybe an off day because the food was quite disappointing although nothing specifically wrong. I had a salad with white fish- i think the fish was poached. It was what I ordered and there was no basis to complain, but it was rather odd. We have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Glinys W
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I purchased a night and dinner at the Halford as a gift for my partner. Big mistake! The biggest issue at the Halford is that the owner is the receptionist, barman and waiter which obviously results in a poor service. The photos look nice enough, but the place is tired and soul less. Not only that the owner is really... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank lottie2016
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Convenient location to meet up as from all over UK. Recently taken over and has new staff. Could not fault the service and was value for money. Agreed to be able to use the function room for our team meeting. Could have been warmer but made up for it with free hot drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Expatkiwi71
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay - we enjoyed having you and look forward to your next visit after our refurbishment in the new year. More 

High Wycomeb
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2015

As a business traveller I stay in a lot of places, so when I travel with my family I strive for comfort and quality. This place didn't disappoint, we had a lovely meal complimented with a great wine (from an comprehensive list) in front of a homely fire. Rooms were lovely and clean. Would definitely go back.

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

It waslovely having you and hope to see you again in the new year after the refurbishment. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We booked to stay in a suite, on the website of booking.com it said a suite has a double bed and sofa bed, we were looking forward to sitting on a sofa and relaxing, when shown to our room we had no sofa, we asked if this room was a suite to which the staff member said no, and that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jamesabi
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

I am again sorry that your room was not as expected, it was the first floor suite referred to on booking.com and much sought after for being peaceful at the rear of the building with views over the courtyard at the best views of the Cotswold hills beyond. I sincerely hope to do take up the discounted offer of your... More 

Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

We booked this hotel in March . And booked half board through booking.com. Unfortunately when we arrived one of our party was ill and bed bound. I asked if we could have the evening meal in the room. I was told yes. So when I went to go get the menu things went downhill. Clearly they were not expecting ,e... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Goldie G
John G, Owner at The Halford, responded to this review

I am genuinely sorry that we did not meet your expectations, yours was the only full board reservation I have inherited since taking over on 8th September so admittedly it did catch me out a bit but I still feel for what you paid good value was had and my offer of extra teas and coffees for your room since... More 

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halford
1.9 mi away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
1,300 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
83 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Falcon Inn
The Falcon Inn
#4 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
43 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston-on-Stour
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An Elizabethan Cotswold Stone Coaching Inn Dating from 1567 offering refined food and wines in a timeless style of great hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Halford

Address: Fosse Way, Halford, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour > Halford
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Halford 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Halford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Halford Bridge Hotel Halford
The Halford Warwickshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Halford staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Halford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loving the courtyard room for soace.”
 of 5 bubbles Expatkiwi71, 14 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Rooms at back away from road are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles DaveS811, 19 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All rooms quaint, but need to be fit to reach the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 885lyndaf, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Not very easy for people with difficulties walking - stairs, no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahB739, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Suites are excellent value”
 of 5 bubbles michaelsH5823AU, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay