We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mbwangungu Hamutenya street Tutungeni, Erf 1123, Rundu 9000 Namibia
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Agoda.com
Lol.travel
Super.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (90)
Room & Suite (58)
Dining (23)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 9 lodges in Rundu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tambuti Lodge has 8 clean whitewashed en-suite chalets perched above the Okavango River 50m from the floodplain and a traditional African restaurant. Never flooded and easy access, conveniently located on a small road leading down to the river from the center of Rundu town. The ideal stop before heading to the deeper Kavango and Caprivi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Public wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, German and 2 more
243Reviews2Q+A18Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 118
  • 33
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
bandriessens wrote a review Nov 2023
Brussels, Belgium23 contributions23 helpful votes
We stayed one night in Tambuti Lodge. Our room wa huge with a bath in the middle. Beds are good and have mosquito net. Small tropical garden with a pleasant swimming pool. Dinner can be taken on the terrace but choice is limiited (pre-order necesarry).Price/quality for lodge was very goodr We would certainly return to this lodge.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good afternoon, thank you for speaking from your heart. With love, Lizza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ingridh173 wrote a review Sept 2023
Nelson, New Zealand143 contributions52 helpful votes
We would highly recommend a stay at Tambuti Lodge if travelling through the area. Don't expect Clubmed standards, that is not Africa. The staff here are amongst the friendliest we have come across and they try hard to please. The accommodation has all the necessities and are kept to a good standard of cleanliness. The breakfast and evening meals are excellent, and contain a good proportion of local touches and foods, so that you know you are in Africa, not in the USA or Germany. There is a track along the river for the bird watchers or fitness lovers, and a pool for those that just want to laze the day away. We will stay again one day when we find our way back to Namibia. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: River cruise is good.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 20 Sept 2023
Ingrid, thank you for speaking from your heart we deeply appreciate your visit. God bless you always. With love, Lizza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hellao70 wrote a review Sept 2023
Ongwediva, Namibia1 contribution
The only issues we did not like was mosquitoes. We however understand that the lodge is closer to the river. So, maybe you should keep mosquitoes repellent in the rooms. However, my wife and I can't wait to be back during December 2023.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Good morning, thank you for visiting us, deeply appreciated. With love, Lizza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kiwiana wrote a review Jun 2023
New Plymouth, New Zealand205 contributions119 helpful votes
We stayed one night in a double chalet at Rundu. The lodge has fabulous tropical gardens and is a real green oasis in the middle of the dry area. The owners take pride in the garden and it is immaculate and a very pleasant space to spend time. Very pleasant breakfast area overlooks the river. The lodge is right beside the Kavango river and is a 2 minute walk to the small ‘beach’. Fair amount of rubbish lying around unfortunately once you’re out of the immaculate Tambuti gardens. Request a room down the front overlooking the braai area – they keep hens up the back, and the rooster woke us up at 4am! Our chalet was at the rear of the property and had a deck with seating, a double bed and single bed, and huge ensuite bathroom with a bath and shower. Small fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Free wifi that was fast and worked in the room. If you want to self-cater, there is a braai available near the chalets with a view of the river. We enjoyed a meal in the restaurant and this was very reasonable priced and service very good.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a chalet overlooking the river. Follow the lodge signs - not Google maps, as this leads...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 4 Jun 2023
Good morning, thank you very much for speaking deeply from your heart, we are very honoured for choosing tambuti lodge. With love, lizza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
aparke855208 wrote a review May 2023
Katima Mulilo, Namibia1 contribution
Our stay was cozy and we enjoyed it to the fullest..We had a bit of an issue getting to the lodge as GPS send us on the back road of the Lodge, was a bit scary..but once there we were welcomed by friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 4 Jun 2023
Good morning, we apologize of the GPS issues, thank you for choosing tambuti lodge, we appreciate your visit. With gratitude, Lizza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Road01309322161 wrote a review May 2023
1 contribution
Very good lodge, with excellent service and very kind staff. They did all our wishes we had. Everything works good. The kichten is excellent, really good food. Next time we did the sam e lodge when we are in this area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 4 Jun 2023
God bless you for visiting us. With love, Lizza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
wcloet398816 wrote a review May 2023
Montagu, South Africa1 contribution
Lovely place. Lovely views. Lovely chalets. Food was excellent. That hibiscus welcome drink is to die for 👌. Place well situated near the river with good views. Would be on our list when we return. Last but not least, the friendly staff 😘
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 24 May 2023
Good afternoon, thank you very much for visiting us, we deeply appreciate it. See you soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Samuel-Moyo wrote a review May 2023
Windhoek, Namibia1 contribution
Great facilities, the service on the other hand was terrible. Reception staff were very stubborn and rude. When we called looking for directions to the place (Google Maps pin took another route), they bluntly told us we are leaving you will find your key with security. We arrived shortly after 21:00 we were not notified about the kitchen closing time. We were leaving early the next morning they failed to arrange breakfast for us. We could tell the manager/owner wasn't there by the way the ladies were behaving.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 4 Jun 2023
Good morning Samuel, we apologize for the inconvenience you went through, will investigate your claims. Thank you for informing us. With gratitude, Lizza
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tonneke J wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
We returnedto the restaurant for the crocodile salad we had here few years ago then it was excellent Now it was terrible we returned it immediately it was no crocodile, whole the staff came visit our table even the cook they had a new fridge, we refused to pay for it and asked for the manager, we have left our telephone nr for them, still waiting for a call
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 30 Mar 2023
Good afternoon, thank you for your visit. We do not sale fake crocodile please mind your language, we have explain it very clear to you and we do not know the kind of taste you were expecting the crocodile meat must taste!! we have been serving the same crocodile meat to other clients and they do not have any complains as you claim. Unfortunately the manager cant change the taste of crocodile meat as you are expecting it to taste.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thorsten wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is a nice place but the service was unacceptable. There was a Festival nearby and the sound in the room was like your bed is on the middle of the festival. Very loud - not possible to sleep or even watch TV - far too loud. They didn’t offer any other room or alternative. Festival was till 2am in the night. Impossible to sleep or relax. I’ll recommend Kaisosi River Lodge which is a quite and cosy place nearby (we escaped there due to awful). The staff in duty and the manager are not offered any solution or flexibility. DONT GO HERE!!! It’s a rip-off.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t come here. Find a different spot!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elizabeth Hilger, Owner at Tambuti Lodge
Responded 28 Dec 2022
Good morning Thorsten, we are very shocked to your claims here!!! Firstly the event you are talking about is not part of tambuti lodge, this is an event organize by the local authority during December festivals, the loud music came from the festival NOT FROM TAMBUTI LODGE, please don't confuse the public here. Secondly when you decided to check out due to the noise, you were informed that the manager was not around on the 26 December but will be in office on 27 December 2022 to be able to assist you. You were assisted after the manager was back in office and you were fully refunded the amount you paid for accommodation. Thirdly your un appreciation of getting your money back is very disappointing, you fail to thank the lodge for paying you back your money for something the lodge did not do at all, but you decide to write a very bad note for us. Next time you point a finger at us, consider the kind we have done to you and family. lastly the event ends on the 7 January 2023, so its not something permanent. Point of correction the staff and manager did offer a solution of refund you, your money back, now who is a liar here? Mind your language we don't rip-off people!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaKavango RegionRundu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TAMBUTI LODGE - Updated 2023 Reviews (Rundu, Namibia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Tambuti Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Tambuti Lodge?
Nearby attractions include FAWENA Kavango Basket Shop (1.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Tambuti Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tambuti Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tambuti Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Tambuti Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tambuti Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Micke's Steakhouse, Kfc Rundu, and Hungry Lion Rundu Mall.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tambuti Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tambuti Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Tambuti Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Tambuti Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Rundu.
Are pets allowed at Tambuti Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tambuti Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Afrikaans.