We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Boundary Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Boundary Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Start your review of The Boundary Hotel
 Click to rate
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

cost was £80 for b and b which is fine if its a nice place but unfortunately the room was very very dated and in a poor condition, also its more of a motel than a hotel with the rooms in a separate block from the bar and eating area. several of us had the food which was pretty dire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I will definitely recommened this hotel to anyone. The hotel is situated very close to the M1, so it is perfect if you are travelling and need to stop. We had a double room with a bath, a flat-screen TV, tea, coffee, biscuits and bottled water in the room. It was very practical to get some dinner and drinks in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnadiah
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We booked this place on the Thursday, for a Friday night stay, somewhere to stop while visiting family. We were not disappointed, the room was huge and spacious, clean, we comfortable really could not fault it, for £45.00 for two with breakfast for one night it was more than a lovely stay. The breakfast was very nice, hot, tasty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicki R
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for you great review. sorry the room was too hot for you. Just to let you know for your next stay, the radiators do have regulators on them that can be turned down, making the room temperature more comfortable. We hope to see you again very soon.

Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Came to the Boundary with 2 other couples. We all had a double room, paid the same price. Soon discovered that we all had very different rooms. We had a room with a small double bed & small bath. Another couple had a jacuzzi style bath and a bigger bed and the final couple had a kingsize bed, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn G
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry you were not completly satisfied with your room. the room prices are set centrally so I will pass your review on. please, if you stay again let us know about anything you are unhappy with and we will do our best to accommodate you

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Very strange set up. Hotel has no lobby so you have to go into pub. Guest rooms are located in a strange separate building next to a parade of shops, that doesn't feel safe. Rooms are very tired and need total renovation. Carpets filthy & we had what looked like a sick stain on floor by the bed. Cobwebs everywhere...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of all our rooms, and the value for money we offer for two people in a room including a full English breakfast. I am sorry you found it noisy, but the notice (should there be an event in the function room) about the Function room...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

This hotel is just a couple of miles off the M1 and we used it to break a long journey over the Christmas period. The hotel is a separate building from the pub where you check in. The rooms are large and well kept and the breakfast is filling, all at a very low price. There is noise from a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your nice review. we hope you stay with us again. just to let you know There is an onsite overnight Marshall in the hotel. the Marshall is located next to room 5 on the second floor.

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a table of 8 for Christmas eve and it was changed to a table of 10 a few days before by phone. We arrived to find a table of 6. I spoke to a lady behind the bar who said she would find out and she never came back. A young man with glasses who seemed to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellis B
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry we did not make your visit enjoyable for you. due to a change over in management your booking had been misplaced. This is no valid excuse just an explanation. We do hope to see you again very soon. Please make yourselves know to us and we will ensure you have the best personal service

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Admittedly the price was very reasonable but that was the only positive thing about the evening. The "buffet" consisted of 20 odd, heavy cobs a few samosas and chicken wings. The cobs were served on a cheap plastic tray and literally plonked down in the table. Deserts were extremely disappointing and, again, service was appalling. No serviettes. The food did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali_shep1
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

sorry you did not enjoy your visit. please call us and we will get our functions manager to speak to you

Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in 2 rooms as we were visiting family nearby. Very odd booking in procedure, had to check in at the bar (but only one part of the bar). Staff were concentrating on serving drinkers and we waited a long time for service. When it came it was good but we then had to find the entrance...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve J
Boundary_Alfreton, General Manager at The Boundary Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your nice review. I will pass all you comments on to our central team. We now have two new chefs and the restaurant is very busy. we hope to see you again very soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived initially to be told about a 10 pound early check in fee , which is ridiculous for half an hour, especially as a percentage of the room rate. We did not pay. When returning to our rooms from our event we found music played so loud it kept us up until around midnight. Breakfast with the DIY coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herbie_and_Elaine

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Normanton
0.8 mi away
The Derbyshire Derby
The Derbyshire Derby
#2 of 2 in South Normanton
1,385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
Premier Inn Mansfield Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Normanton
541 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
317 reviews
3.8 mi away
Santo's Higham Farm Hotel
9.0 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please be aware when booking that at the weekends we are a live entertainment venue and this WILL affect the noise levels in the rooms. All entertainment stops at midnight. We can have entertainment Thursday through to Sunday depending on the time of year. Please ask when booking about whats on when you intend to stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boundary Hotel

Address: Lea Vale | Broadmeadows, South Normanton DE55 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > South Normanton
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Boundary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boundary Hotel Derbyshire/South Normanton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boundary Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Boundary Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles C773UMsimonm, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are events nearby on the weekends so you can hear some noise coming from there”
 of 5 bubbles jnadiah, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 has jacuzzi bath but room 14 nicer !”
 of 5 bubbles dilysShropshire, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back rooms are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 860sl860, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ours was a spacious corner room, nice views”
 of 5 bubbles PollyM_11, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5