We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hydrangea Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hydrangea Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Hydrangea Cottages
 Click to rate
Biggera Waters, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What an amazing place, with breathtaking views from our cottage Nikau. Everything was absolutely perfect couldn't have wanted for more. Our hosts Karen & Neil were wonderful, so helpful and friendly. Just the most beautiful location. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RPResort
wales
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in the Miro cabin for 2 nights, had researched before we came & knew there were no cooking facilities in this particular cabin. This was not a problem what could be better than a picnic dinner with a glass of wine overlooking the amazing view of the coastline with crashing waves. We had fantastic weather so use the deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samoWales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Rimu cottage, it was basic but clean and full of charm - perfect for the two of us. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, recommending nearby sights and restaurants that we wouldn't have come across otherwise. Short walk to the pancake rocks, cavern, beach, cafe and tavern.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteJH82
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We should have stayed longer, rented the big house on the beach, it was amazing and loved the fire pit. The house had everything we needed and the kids loved it too. I wish i had of booked a few extra nights but we were on schedule. The horse riding was also excellent

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahman H
HydrangeaCottages, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and great you enjoyed our seaside takutai house. Punakaiki is a great place to explore the National park and stay on a more few days.

Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We were working or way up the west coat of NZ to PIcton, and Hydangea Cottage was our stop along the way. My only regret is we only stayed one night. Our cottage was on a bluff overlooking the ocean (some have no view). It was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and very clean. There was a soaking tub outside for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruth m
HydrangeaCottages, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this review

Great your enjoyed your stay and hopefully next time stay a few more days>

Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

The location is great and they have very clean comfy beds. The decor is dated and felt like it could do with an update. I lost a precious necklace there which wasn't found but the owner responded quickly to my query. All in all good value. For money great location for the pancake rocks and would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aideen B
HydrangeaCottages, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, and good to hear your enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 11 January 2017

We had a lovely stay at Hydrangea Cottages -- the hosts were warm, welcoming, and flexible; and the room itself was really beautifully appointed and set into the hill with palm trees and hydrangea bushes surrounding it. And a view of the ocean! Couldn't have been more conveniently located or romantic. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beckadesmidt
HydrangeaCottages, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kfar Saba, Israel
Reviewed 10 January 2017

the cottage was large, very clean and a very nice view from the cottage. a full kitchen , and a nice living room and sitting area. they have a laundry and a drier service. free parking near the cottage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aviva g
HydrangeaCottages, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this review

Great you enjoyed you stay in nikau cottage. Thanks for staying with us.

Canada
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We stopped in Punaikaki as a stopover on our way from Abel Tasman to Franz Josef. The cottages are just passed the visitor centre for the pancake rocks off the main road. Very large two bedroom unit (Nikau cottage) with beautiful views over the sea. Large deck with bbq and seating. Unfortunately it was windy and we didn't get chance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellingcdg
Summerland Key, Florida
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here two nights and it was beautiful. The cottages here are ornate with hardwood floors, very quaint and romantic. The cottage we stayed in had a fully equipped kitchenette, burners included, and also had a large outside soaking tub. Within walking distance of the blowholes and pancake rocks. Also had great working wifi. I highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
HydrangeaCottages, Owner at Hydrangea Cottages, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and great you enjoyed your stay.

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
87 reviews
24.5 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.9 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five secluded, stylish cottages, surrounded by native bush, huge limestone outcrops, wild hydrangeas with stunning sea views. Choose from studio, one or two bedroom self contained options. Each cottage has its own design and character. We are 600 m south of the Pancake Rocks. Horse trekking available from end of October to June. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hydrangea Cottages

Address: Main Rd, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Price Range: £132 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hydrangea Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea Cottages Hotel Punakaiki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hydrangea Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hydrangea Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a cottage with water views”
 of 5 bubbles RPResort, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a cottage with a view. bring your own wine, snacks, food - punatiaki is remote. save time to see Pancake Rocks”
 of 5 bubbles ruthm402, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Miro has the best sea views”
 of 5 bubbles suef632, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This is a cottage not an hotel room.”
 of 5 bubbles christinef742, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get the room with the view, it's worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles julesmad, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5