We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highfield Park

Save
Share
Highfield Park Church Lane, Heckfield RG27 0LG England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (242)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (31)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 17/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Highfield Park
Updated 17/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This elegant main house, in the style of Queen Anne is set in 35 acres of beautiful parkland on the Hampshire border. Whether you stay at the main house or Fir Tree Court, it's the perfect place to rest your head. Highfield Park has so much to offer. With 58 bedrooms and 15 meeting rooms we are more than just a hotel. Our bar and restaurant provide menu options to suit all. And recently introducing an all new completely organic wine list that will open your eyes to excellence of English wines. Highfield Park is ideally situated between Reading and Basingstoke, easily accessible from the M3, M4 and M25 motorways with Bracknell, Guildford and Slough all within a 20 mile radius. So whether you are looking for a comfortable room to spend the night on your business travels, or a night of peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town Highfield Park is your local independent hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Game room
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
508Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 146
  • 131
  • 118
  • 73
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jansmi wrote a review Oct 2020
Sandhurst, United Kingdom26 contributions28 helpful votes
Afternoon tea for 4, with prosecco taken earlier today. The hotel is well set up for the current Coronovirus restrictions and the receptionist was very helpful. I had previously requested an alteration to the sandwiches for 1 of us, and this had been carried out exactly without prompt from us. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were all really nice and the scones of a good size. I would be very happy to return again. One slight criticism is that the staff were not very visible and it was a little difficult to attract their attention for service
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Smith, Sales at Highfield Park
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time to review your afternoon tea with us. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience. We are trying to work on a lower staff number to avoid having too many staff on site to be in line with the guidelines on capacity etc.. however, I will feed this back to the manager's to re-look at. Kindest Regards Rebecca, Sales Office Manager
Read more
michellemancktelow wrote a review Sep 2020
Fleet, United Kingdom144 contributions47 helpful votes
My friend and I booked a Prosecco afternoon tea after I raved how good it was last year. We were not disappointed and it was just as good as last time. Great views and a lovely comfortable setting. Nice music in the background and lovely staff. Sandwiches were tasty, scones very nice and a good selection of traditional cakes. My friend couldn’t eat all hers and was given a carry home cake box. This was a lovely treat and we felt very safe and well looked after. Definitely recommend as best afternoon tea I have had.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Smith, Sales at Highfield Park
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca, Sales Office Manager
Read more
Samw wrote a review Sep 2020
Sheriff Hutton, United Kingdom6 contributions
Rooms We had booked a single and a signature room. Both were ok, nothing special, the bathrooms were dated. A light buzzed and blew when we turned it on, there were only 1 set of towels and no milk in our room. My son (who is an electrician) felt quite sure there was an electrical fault there. Not a major issues, and all were resolved, but not what you would expect when paying nearly £ 120 a night. Considering we were the only guests around I would have thought our rooms would be amazing and guest services exemplary. Bar and restaurant This is where we started to feel most let down. We had booked for 8 people in the restaurant as were meeting with family. We arrived at 6.30 in the bar, eventually having to hunt down a bar tender to be told we would need to either sit outside or at our restaurant table as all seats in the bar were taken by the craft people. There were several tables set up for afternoon tea but apparently we couldn’t sit there! We were made to feel like outcasts! My elderly mum at almost 80 didn’t not want to sit outside in the rather cold evening so eventually we were ‘allowed’ to sit in a small seating area near the toilets. Our family joined us, only to be told we could not sit together for a drink, and chairs were actually moved, leaving elderly people standing, and indeed the same rule applied for the meal!! We were quickly asked to order, which was repeated twice, despite it being another 10 minutes before we were even supposed to be booked in. We were seated in 2 tables of four (national guidance for no more than 6 people meeting had not come in at this stage) and we were still only 2 households. The meal was truly dreadful. Overpriced and just awful. Ham hock was ok. Then I had a very tough piece of duck that would have required a chisel to get through accompanied by a soggy and very burnt rosti- it was actually black. Pudding was a soggy tarte tatin but as we were still hungry we were happy to eat it. The two chaps who were on duty seemed more interested in finishing their shift and were not asked our thoughts on the food, hence emailing yourself. Several times we needed to look for someone to serve us and customer care was nil. Then we were advised the bar close at 10 pm ... are you actually trying to run a hotel business here??? Our food bill was well over £400 and drinks rounds over £60 each time and I’m used to noting bar staff becoming weary about 2 am, not being told you close at 10pm. I mean really, no wonder the hotel was like a ghost town with this level of service. Breakfast The final straw..... cold food , yes the bacon was actually completely cold, you would have thought it had just come from the fridge. As we left, the answer machine was applied and staff left, this was a Saturday when I would have expected the hotel to be full ... parties, weddings etc. I’m sorry to say we were left feeling v dissatisfied , and what was once a wonderful treat was now a bitterly disappointment. We would not return to this once beautiful hotel. The previous weekend we had stayed in a nearby hotel and had a totally different experience so I do not think COVID 19 can be entirely to blame.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Smith, Sales at Highfield Park
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback of your stay, we have received your complaint via email and as we said in our reply we are looking into all of the points raised to investigate as thoroughly as we can but this is taking some time due to staff still not back in the business. I am sorry you did not give us the time to come back to you before turning to TripAdvisor. We appreciate that we have fallen short of your expectations and for this we can only apologise. The team are working very hard in unprecedented times and on this occasion we fell short of the mark for you. I would just highlight however that we would also love for the hotel to be full of parties and weddings on a Saturday and under normal circumstances it would be but currently government guidelines do not permit for this and our couples have opted to postpone their weddings for when they can celebrate properly rather than having to cut down their numbers. Again apologies if our due diligence meant that there was a lack of atmosphere but we are working to very strict guidelines. Once again, we are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations but we will continue with our investigation with all of team members so that this does not happen again in the future for any other customers. Kindest Regards Rebecca, Sales Office Manager
Read more
Cathy H wrote a review Sep 2020
Basingstoke, United Kingdom122 contributions87 helpful votes
It was lovely to be able to have Afternoon Tea at Highfield Park. On arrival we had our temperature taken and then shown to our table. There was plenty of space between the tables. All staff were wearing visors. You are unable to select your own sandwiches, it is a set menu. The service was good plenty of tea and coffee. Lovely afternoon as this was a birthday gift from the beginning of the year. We felt very safe and looked after. Would recommend it to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Smith, Sales at Highfield Park
Responded 6 Oct 2020
Dear Cathy, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your review. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kindest Regards Rebecca, Sales Office Manager
Read more
Laura Tompkins wrote a review Aug 2020
Basingstoke, United Kingdom3 contributions
Great visit to Highfield park for afternoon tea today. We were greeted at the door by a lovely lady who followed all the new safety measures and explained these clearly to us. We had a lovely table with great views of the outside. Afternoon tea was amazing and we will 100% return! The staff were all brilliant, thank you x
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Smith, Sales at Highfield Park
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your review. We really do appreciate your comment and feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Kindest Regards Rebecca Smith Sales Office Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
de vere venues highfield park hotel heckfield
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Venues Highfield Park
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireHeckfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Highfield Park
Which popular attractions are close to Highfield Park?
Nearby attractions include Leisure Matters (3.8 miles), Miller's Ark Animals (4.9 miles), and Wellington Country Park (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Highfield Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Highfield Park?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Highfield Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highfield Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Elm Tree, Mama Mia, and The Coach & Horses.
Is Highfield Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the centre of Heckfield.
Does Highfield Park offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Highfield Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stratfield Saye House (1.5 miles).
Is Highfield Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.