We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 635: English reviews
Start your review of The George Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The George is in an idyllic setting on the river Tyne it's a good base for site seeing and There is plenty to do. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly all though the main entrance doors are unlocked all night the fire alarm went off at 6.50 the morning we were leaving obversely A false alarm but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keith h
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me, my partner and my dog have been to The George several times for drinks but thought we were restricted to the outside area because of the dog. Last week we asked at reception and were advised that dogs are indeed welcome in the bar and piano room where we could also eat. The staff couldn't have been more friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2701
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is in a lovely peaceful location, and as a result of the building having been extended over the years, is like a rabbit warren, however there are plenty of signs in corridors to find your way about. We enjoyed the lovely location away from city lights to see the stars. All staff were cheerful and helpful, food ample...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 46JuR
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient, although the 'scurrying' around the dining room gave a sense of being rushed at times. The food was good with a varied menu. Our room was standard plus grade, clean, warm and updated.. Needs a place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodley56
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked two nights at the George hotel to celebrate a family birthday with a weekend break. We arrived on the Friday evening and received a really warm welcome from the receptionist and so checked in. We had upgraded our rooms from a standard to a premier and scenic view room. The rooms were lovely and very spacious. We loved...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerry w
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

M partner and i have just returned from a 5 day break with Shearings. The hotel was a beautiful and we didnt have any complaints other than it could do with a bit of renovating. The food was always good quality and my partner is gluten free and this was not a problem at all. The barman Francisco was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beverley j
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disapointing room, although it was clean and warm the ensuite was in need of updatingm the handles on the bath were very rusty, the bath panel was starting to show signs of rot and the extractor fan failed to work. I wanted to have a bath but the water was not particularly hot. However the rest of the hot;...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gordon K
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gordon K, Thanks for taking the time to post your review, sorry to read the room wasn't up to your expectation, the unfortunate thing about tripadvisor is we don't know who you are to check the booking or know the room you were allocated. We do have a few rooms left that are elegantly faded but we have a...

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fabulous after xmas break with shearing in January,a lovely warm cosy room with tea.coffee for cuppa in bed before our great choices at breakfast,the evening meal was always to look forward to plenty to choose from and important always hot overlooked the fairy lit sparkling garden,a lovely Spanish barman always polite and cheerful and sit having a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christineanddaver
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Christineanddaver, Well what a nice review, thank you! it was a pleasure having you with us. I will pass on your comments to Fran our food and beverage manager, he is always happy to help and always gets a mention on tripadvior.. the staff work equally hard in the hotel and all deserve a mention. I hope you are...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Diners eating from the set half board menu seemed happy with the choices and the food looked nice. However, we ate from the a la carte menu. Service was excellent throughout. A chinese 'dim sum' sharing platter starter consisted of a range of little spring rolls and wonton parcels, the kind that you buy in bulk at xmas time as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Elaine C, Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I am pleased that hotel service met your expectation and this was worthy of a review, our staff work very hard and this is mentioned throughout the tripadvisor timeline. but 2 stars? I am somewhat confused as the remaining review is infact a complaint about the a la...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

i visited The George just to use the leisure facilties with my family as i heard the pool was nice and warm. On first impressions the changing rooms looked like they could have done with a good clean there was a lot of hair around the shower area. The pool was nice and warm but there seemed to be some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle3
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sazzle3, We are sorry to read that you were disappointed when you visited to the George Hotel leisure club, I need to point out that our facilities are completely unmanned during the day. Last thing at night or first thing in the morning the leisure club is cleaned top to bottom, I know I do it myself the odd...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,037 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,419 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Price Range: £79 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Luton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upgrade from a standard room”
 of 5 bubbles Rodley56, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose annexe rooms”
 of 5 bubbles kerryw744, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 210”
 of 5 bubbles gordonk554, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had lovely room overlooking spa,last year overlooking river both great”
 of 5 bubbles christineanddaver, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had 104 near the car park entrance but this means it is quite a walk from Reception and the Restaurant. Very quiet though.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaS506, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5