We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The George Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

620 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 617: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

this hotel is not modern but the hotel is a beautiful old world building surrounded by picturesque river and very well maintained gardens. Very relaxed atmosphere Welcoming staff at reception and faultless service, the food was tasty and well presented. Our room was newly decorated and very comfortable, and was kept very clean and tidy for our four night stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jack m
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

the place is so dated, bathroom fittings out of the ark water hot enough to scald your hands corridors everywhere draughts in lounges bottle of wine £19.90 noise from kitchen extractor vegetables stewed lovely views no lift not good for infirm people

Helpful?
Thank illy66
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Illy66, Thanks for taking the time to post your review, I agree we are a "bolt hole" we offer Idyllic setting, value for money stays at competitive rates, good food choices and well-kept grounds that are a world away from the hustle and bustle of city life. a place where one can escape and hide :-) I have mentioned... More 

Travellers are raving about these Chollerford hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a 5 day coaching holiday with Shearings. The hotel is in a very scenic area, with the river and bridge giving a very photographic picture. The garden is delightful to walk around. All the staff at the hotel were very obliging and polite. The food was good and breakfast the usual help yourself service which is ideal. There... More 

Helpful?
Thank lavender20142014
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lavender20142014, Thanks for your review, we appropriate your comments. hopefully the coach journey wasn't too long :-( I will pass your comments to our team members they will be pleased. if there is one thing we stand by is the guys work hard to make the stays with us as a pleasant as possible. sorry to read that you... More 

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a four day stay at The George.I have to say that I previously read some pretty grim reviews on the hotel and I am very glad to say that they are absolute rubbish.The hotel is in an absolutely beautiful setting right on the river with a beautiful garden leading down to it(even at this time... More 

Helpful?
Thank karenandpete22
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you karenandpete22, We appreciate your kind comments, I will pass them on to our very keen and hard working team members. it was lovely having you with us and hope to see you soon. all the very best for Christmas and have a great new year. see you soon :-) More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago for our honeymoon, trekking along Hadrian's Wall. At £85 a night I was VERY disappointed. The room was small and very outdated. We could hear all other rooms through the very thin walls, conversations in detail. Every time someone used the toilet/turned on a tap the pipe work would rattle and make a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank andrewbe07
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Andrewbe07, thanks for posting your review. I am concerned that you said you contacted the hotel itself? i have spoken with my team and nothing has been see or sent to us directly at hotel level? however your complaint was received on the 1st of November via our head office and I responded to via our head office on... More 

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel staff great the hotel feels warm and friendly good gym and nice pool all clean. Would have liked towels supplied at the pool . Breakfast was good usual help yourself all hot and well cooked. Hotel manager was really helpful ,we had problems re Expedia who over charged us. The manager sorted this and brought us a bottle... More 

Helpful?
Thank CaroleCrystal
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carole, Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you with us. we don't often have problems with third party website bookings but when we do.. we like to assist where we can, with darkskys in mind we have an excellent area a few yards away from the hotel which is prime for stargazers,... More 

Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was slightly apprehensive to complete my booking after reading a number of negative reviews on here. I am a frequent traveler and was happy with the facilities at The George Hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well-equipped. My only slight issue with the room was the bathroom which was outdated and included only a shower (I was looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank LauraJayneBaker
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi LauraJayneBaker, many thanks for taking the time to post your review, i will pass on your kind words to our team members. they do work hard and thank you for your recommendation. we hope to see you again. all the best to you. More 

London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights at The George Hotel. It is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Our room was lovely and it overlooked the old bridge & the river. It was spacious and had everything you would need for a stay there. The food was excellent and the dinner service was 2nd to none. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann S
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ann S, Thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor and a marvellous review it is; we love you  we hope to see you again soon, thanks again for your review. More 

Sale
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great spot for visiting Northumberland and nearby attractions. Comfortable rooms with good value deals on half board stays with Sundays offered at low rate if going for the weekend away. Very nice pool and leisure facility. Dogs also allowed in some rooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank Plippo
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Plippo, Thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor, we appreciate your time, Northumberland is a stunning location I must say, there is lots of local attractions to see and the walking is good too. Our rates are very competitive and we always encourage guest to call the hotel directly to see what we can do.... More 

carlisle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Situated right on the Hadrians Wall Long Distance Walk. this hotel is geared for coach parties, so the rooms are clean but basic. Eavining meal was just acceptable but poor presentation. Drinks are very expensive. Breakfast was very dissapointing , more like a cafe than a hotel. Wouldn't recommend to anybody.They are missing a great opportunity with the location.

Helpful?
1 Thank marcalex201
GeorgeChollerford, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Macalex, Thanks for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor, we appreciate all views. You are correct we are part of a coach tour operator though the hotel is geared as you put it to receive anyone who wishes to visit a stunning location with an ambient atmosphere to be looked after by our passionate bunch. Sorry... More 

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chollerford
7.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,002 reviews
6.9 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,388 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
5.4 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a beautiful river front location, just five miles from the market town of Hexham, the George at Chollerford is a historic building dating back to the 1700's renowned for its fine food and hospitality. It is great to have such a history behind the hotel as we feel we are doing an excellent job of keeping the tradition going, but we have also spent a lot of money upgrading a number of facilities in the hotel including the leisure club, with its swimming pool and gym, situated west of Newcastle we are in ideal spot for walkers, history buffs and gardeners alike - you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel is a perfect retreat in a location that we consider to be one of the most relaxing in Northumbria. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Hexham, Chollerford, Hexham NE46 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Chollerford
Price Range: £68 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Chollerford
George Hotel Hexham
The George Hotel Chollerford, Northumberland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Luton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just above reception”
 of 5 bubbles illy66, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Travel a few more miles and stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles andrewbe07, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check in before collecting luggage as soom rooms are quite a way from reception!”
 of 5 bubbles Plippo, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“River view is best.( Our opinion)”
 of 5 bubbles IanBisset, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get one facing the river,it is superb”
 of 5 bubbles lollipopLosAngeles, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay