We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Medina Palms

Visit hotel website
Traveller (480)
Pool & Beach (80)
Room & Suite (54)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Medina Palms is perfectly situated on the powder white sand beach of the Indian Ocean in Watamu, Kenya. This ground breaking hotel offers a range of luxury suites and villas, with views over tropical gardens and pools, tree top level penthouses with inner courtyards, and magnificent beach front villas. The hotel offers fine dining at our signature Amandina Restaurant, the sophisticated Long Bar and Star Lounge, as well as our tropical coffee garden. On site facilities includes Tribe Watersports Centre, a fitness studio, the luxury Sakina Ocean Spa offering 5 treatment rooms, state of the art conference facilities and a choice of exclusive spaces for meetings and weddings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Adult pool
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Romantic
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Rate:Free room upgrade
426Reviews
524Photos
12Q+A
91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 350
  • 53
  • 13
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This place is amazing every time I visit. The staff is super friendly, the food is amazing especially the pasta's are super tasty. Last but certainly not least the rooms are too die for, further there is lots of space and its very clean. Recommend it to everyone!
Read more
The rooms are spacious and airy and generate a peaceful ambience. They are also clean and well maintained, The hotel is located on a marvellous bay with lovely white sands though unfortunately the hotel layout does not offer views of this scene from the rooms. The menu is the
Read more
No sea views to the apartments, worse still no bar/restaurant or deck where you can sit outside and enjoy the ocean. The apartments are average, though clean and the housekeeping staff were good. The food and service is below average and if you are looking for personal service
Read more
Response from Rosie L, Marketing at Medina Palms
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear AnujaNavya Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we’re sorry that you felt your stay with us was disappointing. We had a full capacity hotel over the festive period, with both international and resident guests, and we received excellent reviews from them all, so we’re sorry you felt differently. We’re not sure if you were aware of the layout of our hotel when you booked, as its very clear on our website that only our front beach villas have sea views, and we always encourage guests to book these if that is what they are looking for. Also due to the layout of the property, our Long Bar and Amandina Restaurant are situated in the main area of the hotel, with the rooftop restaurant benefitting from the sea breeze. We also have a beach bar which is very popular with our guests, as well as a coffee garden under the trees, offering lighter meals and tapas throughout the day. Our general manager did try to meet with you as requested. As you can imagine at this time of the year, with over 100% occupancy, the senior management team were very busy. After waiting half an hour for you he was told that you would speak to him another time. We apologize if for any reason you felt you were not given the due attention by management, but we do look forward to having you back when occupancy is lower and senior management can dedicate to you all the time you need. As you will see from previous reviews, our food and service has always been a highlight of our guests stay, rated excellent, so again we’re sorry you found both lacking. Our exceptional chefs are constantly praised for their innovative and delicious menus, and all our service staff have been trained to the highest standards, all of which earned us a coveted five star rating. We take all our reviews seriously, and although we’re not sure what more we could have done to improve your stay, we’re sorry we didn’t meet your expectations, but thank you for visiting us.
Read more
The hotel is very nice...elegant and clean...it a good place also where to have lunch around the garden outside during the hot weather like in december... The position of the hotel is super and the swimming pool area is great...well designed...the food is very nice...keep it
Read more
Response from Rosie L, Marketing at Medina Palms
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Alex F Thank you so much for visiting us and thank you too for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Palms. Kind regards
Read more
Amazing property! Beautiful scenery Absolutely beautiful rooms. Loved the different swimming pools available for children and grown ups! Oh and I loved the coconut ice cream! Delicious!! My family and friends enjoyed our one week stay. Thank you for your hospitality, will
Read more
Response from Rosie L, Marketing at Medina Palms
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 691cynthiag We are delighted you and your family and friends enjoyed your recent stay with us. Medina Palms welcomes guests of all ages, and the unique layout of our hotel ensures there is plenty of room for everyone to enjoy their stay. We've been getting rave reviews for our coconut ice cream, so we're so pleased you loved it too! Once again, thank you for visiting, and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Soothing Ambience
relaxing upstairs living room
Kingsized bed with good pillows and mattress
Comfy ...
Different angle of the sitting room with the kitchen and dining in the background
PreviousNext
12345611
the area is quite warm and humid.Light casual clothing will do:-)
0 votes
Show all answers
Many thanks for your e-mail, and for your interest in our Sakina Spa at Medina Palms. Please send us your e-mail address and we will forward our spa menu to you, or alternatively, please contact us at reservations @ medinapalms. com. Kind regards
0 votes
Buongiorno, i teli sono disponibili ai bordi piscina
0 votes
Buongiorno, nel periodo natalizio la spiaggia e’ bellissima. Sono quasi 4 km di spiaggia bianca fino al creek. Se non erro, ci sono delle foto della spiaggia sul nostro sito web. Comunque, essendo in un parco marino protetto, non è permessi mettere lettini direttamente in spiaggia. Ma abbiamo una zona interna con spiaggia privata a pochi metri dal mare e vicino alle piscine. Saluti, Max
0 votes
Si trova proprio di fronte all’hotel, io sono andata ad agosto e purtroppo c’erano parecchie alghe ma pare fosse un problema dovuto alla stagione...😊 comunque é una spiaggia molto bella, larga e bianchissima!
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"We had a beautiful penthouse apartment. The only complaint is that it is completely open upstairs, so lots and lots of mosquitoes."
"Based on the hotel's layout, you can't go wrong with any room."
"Villas closer to the sea have a great view+especially the duplex suites with roof access+a plunge pool are the best."
"The PentHouse suites mostly have a view of the sea and wonderful breezes"
"Sorry, we never made it to the rooms to check them out..."
PreviousNext
12345619
PRICE RANGE
US$216 - US$437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceWatamu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing